We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting informative museum on kimchi, worth visiting while in Coex mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pulmuone Kimchi Museum

Pulmuone Kimchi Museum
159 Samseong-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-090, South Korea
02-6002-6456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 550 attractions in Seoul
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: How can you go to Korea and not see this quirky museum dedicated to that quintessential Korea dish, kimchi. Learn about the history of this staple and the many ways it can be made. This museum is guaranteed to make your mouth water.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
2,850 reviews 2,850 reviews
1,738 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
7,044 helpful votes 7,044 helpful votes
“Interesting informative museum on kimchi, worth visiting while in Coex mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had no expectations of the Pulmuone Kimchi Museum, but while there, found the visit rather pleasant and enjoyable. The entrance fee is KRW 3000 (USD2.70) and takes less than an hour for a proper viewing. There were not many visitors, and the exhibits were viewed at own pace and leisure. Staff also allow guests to take photos.

The history, production and the types of kimchi are presented, with a good balance of kimchi artifacts and written displays. Some posters are text-y but they are interesting enough to read and one will definitely come away remembering some kimchi trivia after visiting. Enjoyed seeing the different mock-kimchi for different seasons, that there's kimchi for royalty and the elderly. Kimchi is also compared with fermented food items from other countries. At the end of the museum there is a kimchi tasting room, the samples are limited but it was fun trying the kimchi available here.

The best way to learn about kimchi is probably to eat as much of it as possible, but personally, visiting the museum gave a broader perspective and enhanced appreciation for this ubiquitous South Korean food item. While there are other attractions in Seoul that are more worthy of touristic attention, the Pulmuone Kimchi Museum is worth seeking out if in the Coex Mall. Likely, kimchi is also featured in the National Folk Museum, however was not able to visit this other museum to compare.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Fla
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Kimchi Going Big Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Kangnam Style is sweeping the world. Kangnam is an area in Seoul where the beautiful people live and work. It has a convenient subway station of that name and, from there, you can walk to the Kimchi Museum in the Coex Mall (a sight to visit in itself), The museum is small but well done, telling the history and preparation of many varieties of kimchi. There are displays of the instruments used in preparation, huge kimchi jars, and even a mock up of a Korean room with a mannequin you can be photographed with....as she feeds you kimchi. The health benefits of the fiery panjon, the small dishes accompanying rice, is outlined in several panels. One of the last rooms has a selection of several varieties of kimchi that you can taste. It is well worth the visit and, after wards, you can do a little Kangnam Style shopping in the mall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots of Kimchi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was wondering around the mall (b/c its not far from my friends place) and I stumbled upon it. I was entertaining... it wasn't expensive to see it. They showed you the many types of Kimchi Korea makes along with how to make them. they tell you the health benefits of kimchi. Im not a huge fan of Kimchi and so towards the end there is a sample station. The lady attendant who was there was super nice and had me try a whole bunch of different types . I didn't want to be rude so I ate every sample. If you like kimchi you will like this little place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All about kimchi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

It was very suprised for me when I found out that there are many many different kind of kimchi on different season and how korean people made kimchi. Museum was informatif, not that big museum but quite interesting. Museum was located in mall, so after museum tour you can also walk around the mall and hangout. And also you can tasted kimchi in this museum, they provide sample though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Dedicated to kimchi fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

I stumbled upon signage to this small place while strolling around Coex Mall. There are very informative exhibits on kimchi making, though the friendly multitasking guy (ticketing and cashier for kimchi purchases) at the museum entrance volunteered to be our tour guide and photographer when we visited on a quiet weekday afternoon. Worth visiting if you're in Coex but too small to justify a detour from your sightseeing itinerary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulmuone Kimchi Museum also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Pulmuone Kimchi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulmuone Kimchi Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pulmuone Kimchi Museum to your Saves list