We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining place for all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coex Aquarium

Coex Aquarium
159 Samgsung-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-091, South Korea (Samseongdong / COEX)
02-6002-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Coex Aquarium like an insider
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Gangnam District Tour in Seoul Including COEX...
Ranked #40 of 613 things to do in Seoul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This large aquarium houses more than 600 different species of aquatic life and more than 40,000 fish. There are also exhibits on the Amazon, the seven seas, and even a marine touch zone.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Entertaining place for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Visited during peak season and although busy did not feel crowded and all features were easy to see! It's set out in geographical areas and whilst not massive the displays were plentiful varied and interesting! My son loved the penguins and sharks and I watched the turtles and manatees for ages! Seals Beavers and otters were delightful! A fun family day out and the imaginative displays were great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    103
    39
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So-So only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Visited Coex mall about 2 years back and was excited to return again. However, Coex was under some major reconstruction so most shops were sealed. The aquarium was okay. Explanations were mostly in Korean, even the penguin show commentary was in Korean with no English explanations. You'd see more river fishes, squirrels and small fishes and sharks. I have seen better aquariums elsewhere therefore, don't expect too much about the aquarium.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was fun for my 6 year old son. There was a surprising variety of sea creatures. This is a must if you have kids and visiting Seoul. Well worth the entrance fee. The mall is also cool too. There is a Buddhist temple close by and tombs that are interesting to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went during Summer and korea is really HOT and humid during summer. Also they don't on air conditions indoors or even if they do, it's at its minimal so it is really stuffy indoors. we were sweating like pigs. Anyway, Coex was under some major reconstruction or something when we were there so most shops were sealed. The aquarium was okay. You'd see more river fishes, squirrels and small fishes and sharks. I'd say go during the cooler seasons and don't expect too much about the aquarium.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had no idea the COEX Aquarium would be so vast since it doesn't seem that large.

It also had a lot of sea life we hadn't seen anywhere else.

We thought the ~ 20,000 won admission price to be reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coex Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Coex Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coex Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.