We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things DO come in small packages!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doulos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Doulos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Doulos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 391 hotels in Seoul
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good things DO come in small packages!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here merely on the merits of location and TripAdvisor rating, and we weren't disappointed. Other reviewers warned of the especially small rooms, so we were prepared before we arrived - they were not exaggerating at all. If you are packing a lot of luggage, this may not be the spot for you. We weren't, so it was perfect for us. Exceptionally clean, comfortable beds, nice and quiet (even despite construction going on next door right now). Even the complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise, with enough variety to please both locals and tourists alike. The TV and cable box combo was either malfunctioning in our room, or is simply the most confusing I have ever confronted - either way, it was only a momentary and minor inconvenience. The only other minor inconvenience was the slow internet connection, but considering the fact that free Wifi is a little hard to come by in Seoul (which came as a surprise to us), we were happy to have it since we pretty much plan our trips on the fly. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is a little hard to find at first, but if you have the address in Korean, once you emerge from the metro the locals are usually more than happy to point you in the right direction. After that, it's a breeze. Would definitely stay here again if I find myself back in Seoul.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    183
    35
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
120
97
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is close to 3 train lines, which makes things convenient when travelling to different places. The breakfast was great, hotel staff service was excellent. The cons to this hotel were that the room was a little small, and you need to walk though small roads to get there (then again Korea is quite safe). Overall, really pleased with this hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94022
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

You can't beat the location of the hotel. Just steps from the hotel are many restaurants and the subway. Breakfast is excellent also. English speaking front-desk staff is friendly.

Not much down side, except that room is small. But not too small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had two nights here recently, the hotel is very central and near airport bus 6002 stop/ drop off point (look at photos posted of the ally way to reach the hotel entrance). It is very much a budget hotel, very clean functional rooms, basic service - no bar etc, but plenty of places to eat and drink near. I did notice stains on the carpets and wallpaper in my room (508) coming off the wall. You get what you pay for - basic and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is in a central location.. walkable distance to the subway (Jongno 3 ga).
Rooms are clean, staff are friendly.
One thing to note - the taxi driver might not be able to find it - be sure to print out the hotel address in Korean

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is located in a nondescript lane, though very close to Jongno gu (3) metro station (orange line). Given our luggage, we hired a taxi to get there and having the address written in Korean helped. The earlier reviews about the difficulty in locating the place otherwise holds good.

The rooms are small, but cosy and comfortable for solo travellers, with city view on all sides. It came with a writing table, luggage rack and few hangers, but no cupboard. My bathroom had a tub. The rooms were clean, non-smoking and the temperature maintained at comfortable levels. The internet connection in the room was poor.

The breakfast was included in the room tariff and the place has a decent spread for breakfast, including fruits, fruit juice, cereals, bread & eggs, sausages and croissants in addition to Korean fare. However, when I asked for some warm milk, I was told that it was not possible apparently because they did no have a microwave. But in a short while, she was willing to warm our coffee!! That is the first hotel that has refused me warm milk at breakfast. It appears that their microwave warm is lactose-intolerant!

The basement had a laundry room, which can be operated with Won 1500 each for washing and drying. The reception would give the change, if needed. I appreciated the laundry facility in the hotel given that I was travelling with too many soiled clothes and getting it dry cleaned was not feasible within the limited time we had on hand. The laundry room also had ironing facility.

The hotel is within walking distance from Insadong (7 minutes), Changdeokgung Palace (15minutes) and Bukchon Hanok village (25 minutes). It also has several branded shops, a park and a police station on the main street nearby. In the evenings, the street to the hotel is lined with food carts, selling cooked food. While we did not taste any, they did look appetising. The Airport Express has a stop outside Mc Donald's on Jongna gu main street. It plies every 15 minutes or so and takes 15000 Won and nearly an hour (in off-peak traffic) to get to Incheon International airport.

The staff at the hotel reception were by and large helpful. They understood English and tried to help us with our daily tourist plans in their broken English. However, they were very rigid regarding their check out policy. We had late evening flights out of the city, and one of us had over 20 hours of flight travel ahead of us. We would have liked to shower after a day out in the city and before boarding our flights. We requested a 2 hour extension of one room, between two of us, which was refused flatly.

In brief, I found the place convenient particularly for tourists- solo travellers and friends, not families. The services, except the internet connection, were good for its modest price of around USD 90. But the rigidity of policies, particularly with regard to check-out time, left a bad taste in our mouths in the last minutes of our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at the Deluxe Double Room.
The Location
It is located behind the main arterial roads of Dongdaemun, and is not easy to find. My advice is to have the address written in Korean for the taxi driver. All taxis have GPS navigational aid. We caught the taxi from Seoul Station taxi queue, after arriving by train from the airport. It was very convenient, and only took less than ten minutes to get to the hotel. The cost was less than KRW10,000.
The Vicinity
The hotel is located behind some small lanes, and very near to Seoul Cinema. Within proximity of the hotel, you'll find food, shopping, street-food, and the Metro stations are all within five minutes walk, and it’s easy. You can’t get better than this! I enjoy walking along these little lanes. It was safe, even at 12 midnight.
The Room
It was a bit cramped, leaving not much room for the luggage. We were originally offered another similarly sized room that smelt of cigarette smoke, but we insisted on changing. The room was clean and cosy. All the usual amenities were provided.
The Air-conditioning.
The ducted air-conditioning was the nosiest of any hotel I have ever stayed at, and it didn’t seem to be adjustable. It was either ON for a sleepless night, or OFF for a warm and stuffy room.
The Breakfast.
Simple but delicious and sumptuous. Toast, fruits, cereals, bacon (or sausages), eggs (alternating between fried or scrambled on different days), fruit juices, some European pastries, salads (her favourite). The single female attendant was attentive, polite and always welcomes you with a bow if she sees you.
The Staff
The staffs at the reception were very courteous. They provided directions, helping with taxis, written instructions in Korean, etc. Spoken English is not a problem.
Conclusion
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel tremendously, although the air-conditioning system has room for improvement. Smoking should also be prohibited. All in all, this is a good hotel and worth the money.

Room Tip: State clearly that you want a NON-SMOKING room. This hotel has full occupancy most of the time, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doulos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doulos Hotel

Also Known As:
Doulos Hotel Seoul
Address: 112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#41 Business Hotel in Seoul
#49 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doulos Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doulos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doulos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.