We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the heart of Seoul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doulos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doulos Hotel to your Saves list
Doulos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 405 Hotels in Seoul
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the heart of Seoul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Doulos Hotel is a small hotel located near the Cheonggyecheon Stream. It's near the Jongno 3-ga subway station exit 15 which makes it a great location to get to the major sites and areas in Seoul. I stayed here for 4 nights in late October. It reminds me of the business small business hotels that you find all over Japan (Dormy Inn, Hotel B, etc) which provides excellent value for the money especially when staying in a major city such as Seoul.
The rooms are small but works for a solo traveler like me. The room was very clean stylish, compact, but efficient. The bed is very comfortable and the linens are very nice. Free internet, bottled water in your room and breakfast in the morning was nice to have. The staff is very courteous and professional. The location in the midst of these small alleys may put off some travelers but they are very safe even for me being a solo female traveler. But, then again I am used small streets and neighborhoods like these having traveled through many Asian cities. It's just a normal working neighborhood with small mom and pop shops, restaurants and yes there are some love motels around which the Doulos is not by the way. I felt very safe walking back at night.
Now, finding your way to the hotel may be a little confusing but you figure it out pretty quickly. I arrived by taxi the first night. I have uploaded some photos on how to get to the hotel from the Jongno 3-ga station exit 15. Look for the 약 (Pharmacy) sign as soon as you get out from the station. Then keep going down the alley, it may look narrow but keep going there are some grilled eel/fish restaurants to your right that you will pass. Keep walking past the little side alleys on each side until you hit a big Y in the road (big enough for a car to drive down), take a right and the Doulos Hotel will be on the left.
The only peeve, I have is that they did call my room on the last day to remind me that check out was at 11 am. It was 10:15 am but they do hold your luggage for you if you have a later flight that day. Overall, it's a good business hotel for the location and value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    208
    38
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
132
108
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days, firstly , service was wonderful, front desk personnel , Ms. Beon, Mr. Lee,Mr. Kim were very polite and helpful , you can practically ask for anything from directions to tour suggestions , you dont have to worry about communicating bec. the front desk can speak english., that's a plus . secondly ,the hotel is located right in the middle of some of the nicest place to visit in seoul, just walking distance to Insadong, Myeongdong Cathedral, / shopping street, Lotte Departmentstore , cheongyechoen stream, and gyeongbokgung palace. Thirdly, the breakfast ( continental) was great. enought to fuel you up till afternoon.
highly recommendable and its very much worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pros:
Used to be on the of the best deals in Seoul. Now tripadvisor effect has kicked in.
Great location. Right near Jongro 3 station and airport shuttle too.
Very courteous staff.
Free wifi.

Cons:
No flexibility on late checkout. 11am or you get charged.
Breakfast is decent, but a little industrial.
Housekeeping is very very loud (was on third floor) in morning.
Rooms get hot in winter.
Rooms pretty small.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Doulos from Seoul Station by taxi for 5 dollars...hotel is reasonably priced, clean and contemprary design. Front dest- speaks good English and very courteous...Rooms are small but good enough for 2 people, free wifi and bottled water daily. Good breakfast everyday- consisting of bagels,toast,coffee,tea, hot soup, eggs, sausages, glass noodles, rice-what more can you ask for..Even a laundry room that charges 1500 each for washer and dryer. Detergent is free...
Close to subway station, that can get you in to a lot of tourist attractions. Even by taxi-it will cost you only $4 dollars to go to the main palace. Very quiet area. However, if you are going to Korea just for shopping only, might be better to stay near the shopping areas..need to take a taxi or subway for shopping...if you want to go to Myeongdong,Dondaenum or Nandaenum

Room Tip: good resataurant reasonably priced where locals go near the alley of the hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

From the reviews I read I was a little concerned I wouldn't be able to find the hotel, especially since I would be arriving at Incheon Airport at around 9.30pm. Anyway, since it was late and dark I decided to get to the hotel via AREX and subway using the T-Money card. I used AREX to get to Seoul, then transferred to Line 1 straight to Jongno sam ga. The following guide may help you get to the hotel from the station exit;

After getting out at Exit 15, turn and walk straight down, (shops are on your left).
You will eventually see a beauty store, 'Missha' at the corner...turn left here. Walk straight down until you see a small shop 'ISSUE', turn left here and walk straight down and you will see Doulos Hotel on your right. In total, I would say it takes about 3-5 mins to walk to the hotel from the station exit.

Hotel staff were very friendly and could speak English. Front desk actually walked with me to the lift and bowed as I got in...wasn't used to that but was very nice. I stayed on the 9th floor with a great view of Seoul. The room was a bit small but enough. I found a bottle of water and chocolates in the fridge:) Actually, a bottle of water was provided every day but not chocolates:(
The room was very clean. And I can't fault the service. The only downside was that you could hear other guests whenever they returned to their rooms. But no problems sleeping.
The location is excellent. The major palaces are within walking distance, and you have the lovely Cheonggyecheon stream behind the hotel. The place felt very safe at night, especially as a solo female traveller.
On my last night, I found some cakes in my hotel room, a very nice gesture.
I plan to travel to Seoul again and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having read all the good reviews about the hotel, I decided to book it and regretted the very first day.

Location:
Reviews said=that it is near all major locations and within walking distance. It's all crap.

i say= if one means that one can walk from Singapore to Thailand, then ya, Myeongdong and Dongdaemun will be "extremely" near. The walk to DDM was like 30mins and there was no way back to hotel at the end of the shopping spree after 11pm when the subway stopped operating. We were forced to hop on the expensive cabs because we were tired from the shopping and had a few bags. We just opened the door and car-jacked a cab because we were fighting with the locals as well. No chance of walks to MD.

One has to walk through some small alleys to get to the hotel and its definitely not safe especially when there are some bars in the alleys

Not many taxi drivers know how to get to this hotel.

Near subway station:
I say= the one just outside the hotel is Jong-no Sam ga station (orange line 3). This is the same line if you are going to Apujeong. Otherwise, all other attractions are along green line, Euljiro sam ga, which is 15 mins walk away and the hotel staff did not know of the existence of this station and kept telling us to take the Jong-no subway. The Euljiro station is not even in their direction card.

Friendly staff:
I say=Koreans are generally very hospitable so it is not that the service is great. It's the culture of the country.

Overall:
If you have a little more to spend, please choose ibis hotel at MYeongdong b'cos it's just next to myeongdong shopping street so you can shop tell the shops closes. At Doulos, it's going to bed early everyday because you will be put off by the traveling.

Room Tip: Only ask for the premium deluxe room on the 9th floor. We asked to change 1 of the bookin to another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good location (although a little tricky to find), hotel staff were nice but their English wasn't great but we got by. The bedrooms are small but not a big deal, I wouldn't want to stay longer than a week though as would get a bit claustrophobic after a while, and it doesn't help that my husband is a giant and takes up a lot of room :)

Airport bus right nearby and lots of buzz in the surrounding neighbourhood, previous reviewer was spot on about Bladerunner, it really is like that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doulos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doulos Hotel

Address: 112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#40 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doulos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doulos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doulos Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doulos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.