We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Palace Seoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Somerset Palace Seoul to your Saves list
Somerset Palace Seoul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yulgok-Ro 2 Gil, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-885, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
Gimhae, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We decided to give this hotel another chance after the slightly disappointing experience last month and they made up for it. The room was squeaky clean, spacious and comfortable as usual, and we even found a present for our little girl who turned one a few days ago. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Adntar,

Thanks for providing us with a ‘second chance’ and even better to note, that your stay rated: ‘perfect’ this time around. Appreciate your commitment and patience extended to us and wish you all a great 2013 ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
42
17
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife, 1 year old son, and I stayed here in the early part of January 2013 as part of a quick trip to Seoul from Busan. It was easily reached both by taxi and the subway from Seoul Station. We ended up taking the subway and the hotel was only about a five minute walk from the Anguk Subway Station (Orange Line).

The overall condition of the hotel was quite good. It was clean, looked fairly up-to-date, and had a good feeling about it. Our room (1 Bedroom Executive) was comfortable and fairly spacious for a hotel room in central Seoul. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen adequately equipped, and the bathroom was nice and clean. (I will make a note here that if you have small children, this might be the place for you. The hotel provided a baby crib and we could easily prepare our son's baby food in the kitchen.)

There was a fitness center, pool table, children's play room, and breakfast room/lounge on the 2nd Floor. Breakfast was pretty good and comparable to other hotels in the area (ready-made omelettes, cereal, juice, coffee, toast, fruit, salads, etc.)

In regards to eating, there are several options in and around the hotel. On the 1st Floor there is a nice sandwich shop, and Italian restaurant (we didn't eat here), a small convenience store, etc. If you are willing to walk 3-5 minutes, there is a Subway Sandwich restaurant located right down the road (towards Anguk Subway Station) and a Starbucks close to the Japanese Embassy.

The general location of the hotel is good. A five minute walk to the American Embassy and probably less than that to the Japanese Embassy. Insadong is right down the street as well as several other cultural attractions.

Overall, I was more than impressed with Somerset Palace Seoul and felt that it was a great value for the money. You would be hard pressed to find a better option in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Malinjr,

whilst you are impressed with our service and product extension, as stated here above: so are we, in return, with your detailed write up.

It is our pleasure to have been of valuable service to you and hope that you will be having to opportunity to re-visit us, next time around, your travels guide you back from Busan to Seoul.

Meanwhile, best wishes to the Year 2013 ahead to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When researching for hotels in Seoul for my family of four, realized that almost all hotels can only accomodate a maximum of three occupants to a room which would require two rooms for my family. Found this apartment hotel and booked a two-room apartment at a very good rate for four. Stayed twice in December with a stay at a ski resort in between.
Apartment was large and clean with comfortable settings including two bathrooms, living room, dining room and washing machine. The queen sized beds in the two bed rooms were more than adequate for my family. Service at the reception and housekeeping were prompt and good. Even though one of the days was a national holiday due to the presidential election, we had our room cleaned and got new towels. Breakfast was adequate.
Convenience of its location goes without saying. It is a short five min walk to the subway station which provides access to almost everywhere in central Seoul. It is also very near the Insadong area and the two major palaces in Seoul. There are more than enough cafes in the area as well. Really enjoyed the pastry and cakes at a very nice dessert cafe near the Anguk subway station.
Overall, a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear AlbusD

Thank you very much for outlining your impressions and assessment towards our property, in your review drafted, here.

It is good to note the overview and your positive feedback to our offerings and services. Meanwhile look forward to welcome you back home in this New Year 2013 ahead, for which I like to wishes you all the best ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at Somerset Palace Seoul for 6 nights recently. The location is excellent; near to Insadong and the palaces. 3 train stations (for 3 different lines) are also within walking distance. The staff at the reception speaks good decent English and were helpful and friendly.
The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was reasonable and adequate.
And there was free Wi-Fi internet in the room! This was recently offered with effect from 08 Oct 2012.
Overall, I am very satisfied and I will definitely stay at Somerset Palace Seoul again when I next visit Seoul.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear YT,

Appreciate you taking time out to write your review in our favor here at Tripadvisor. It is highly appreciated by the team and myself. Certainly welcome your commitment to return back ‘home’ to us, at your next travel. Look forward to have the chance to be of service to you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is well-positioned and offers a large number of services. Rooms are large and comfortable; the top floors offer excellent views over Seoul. By the standards of other similar hotels, the breakfast could be a little better for choice - but perfectly adequate as it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Paul C,

Great to receive your short but supportive review here at Tripadvisor. A good and crisp review is always welcomed by all involved. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property, the apartment, the view and breakfast soon, yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimhae, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent a night here with my husband and 10-month-old baby. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment and found the rooms and service impeccable. Location is also great, a few steps away from Kyeongbukgung Palace and various other attractions. The only minus would be breakfast - it was chaotic and the choice not as plentiful as with other hotels, but again these are serviced apartments, so this is probably to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear ‘adntar’,

Happy to have received your review: in favor of our property and services, much obliged. Indeed we had a few: ‘hectic mornings’ last week, hence you may have been caught at one of those. My apologies if that has let to any inconvenience to you. Take it that ‘next time’ you come to visit; it will certainly be more: smoother. Good to note all others were to your expectations (and above).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a 1-bedroom executive & was traveling with 8-month old. The only problem we had was with airport transport, as 6011 bus stops about 10 mins walk away (we had 2 large suitcases & a pram) - on the return we just took a regular taxi which cost us ₩62000 including toll fees.

GS25 next door but with minimum items. Staff are fantastic, breakfast has the regular stuffs but the coffee machine makes good coffee & they hv high chairs with utensils for kids.

There is also an Italian restaurant in the same building, with limited take out menu (pizza /salad... Pasta are only for dine in).

Taxis easily available & Insadong offers good choice of restaurants. We walked to Gwanghamun, City Hall, Samcheongdong and hiked up Seoul Fortress via Malbawi Information Centre.

Rooms are of good size. The rooftop has a great view with pool/jacuzzi/BBQ pit & have plenty of seats to just read & relax.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Chanplc,

Am much obliged to you for posting such a nice review of our property. It is always a privilege, for the team and myself, to receive such positive input to our service and operational extensions provided.

Hope that your ongoing travels have been equally favorable and look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back home to our location, soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Palace Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Palace Seoul

Address: 7 Yulgok-Ro 2 Gil, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-885, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#27 Family Hotel in Seoul
#28 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Palace Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Seoul beside Gyeongbok Palace, Somerset Palace is in the heart of city's business and financial districts. Somerset Palace offers a tranquil environment, beautiful gardens, a rooftop swimming pool and great city views. Several embassies and offices of multinational companies are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Palace Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Palace Seoul Hotel Seoul
Somerset Palace Hotel Seoul
Seoul Somerset Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Palace Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.