We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, efficient, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Palace Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Palace Seoul to your Saves list
Somerset Palace Seoul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yulgok-Ro 2 Gil, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-885, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 290 Reviews
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Modern, efficient, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is well-positioned and offers a large number of services. Rooms are large and comfortable; the top floors offer excellent views over Seoul. By the standards of other similar hotels, the breakfast could be a little better for choice - but perfectly adequate as it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Paul C,

Great to receive your short but supportive review here at Tripadvisor. A good and crisp review is always welcomed by all involved. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property, the apartment, the view and breakfast soon, yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    139
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
45
18
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gimhae, South Korea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent a night here with my husband and 10-month-old baby. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment and found the rooms and service impeccable. Location is also great, a few steps away from Kyeongbukgung Palace and various other attractions. The only minus would be breakfast - it was chaotic and the choice not as plentiful as with other hotels, but again these are serviced apartments, so this is probably to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear ‘adntar’,

Happy to have received your review: in favor of our property and services, much obliged. Indeed we had a few: ‘hectic mornings’ last week, hence you may have been caught at one of those. My apologies if that has let to any inconvenience to you. Take it that ‘next time’ you come to visit; it will certainly be more: smoother. Good to note all others were to your expectations (and above).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a 1-bedroom executive & was traveling with 8-month old. The only problem we had was with airport transport, as 6011 bus stops about 10 mins walk away (we had 2 large suitcases & a pram) - on the return we just took a regular taxi which cost us ₩62000 including toll fees.

GS25 next door but with minimum items. Staff are fantastic, breakfast has the regular stuffs but the coffee machine makes good coffee & they hv high chairs with utensils for kids.

There is also an Italian restaurant in the same building, with limited take out menu (pizza /salad... Pasta are only for dine in).

Taxis easily available & Insadong offers good choice of restaurants. We walked to Gwanghamun, City Hall, Samcheongdong and hiked up Seoul Fortress via Malbawi Information Centre.

Rooms are of good size. The rooftop has a great view with pool/jacuzzi/BBQ pit & have plenty of seats to just read & relax.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Chanplc,

Am much obliged to you for posting such a nice review of our property. It is always a privilege, for the team and myself, to receive such positive input to our service and operational extensions provided.

Hope that your ongoing travels have been equally favorable and look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back home to our location, soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the studio apartment. The room was fully equipped, good for long stay. There were kettle, rice cooker, cutleries, washing machine and dryer, stove with cooking utensils, toaster and iron. So well equipped.

The hotel is centrally located. Very near to the tourist market at the old town area. So close to the palace and there are rows of restaurants and small art galleries.

But the room was a bit outdated. The bathtub was yellowish. Most of the equipment looked old and well used. The aircond was a bit noisy but I was not disturbed by that.

For muslims, there's kiblat sign in the drawer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Zalss

Great to have you add your review towards our property, here, at the Tripadvisor site. Happy to note all have been well perceived by you and equally good to note the ‘pro’s & con’s’ as stated. When back in town, hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Large rooms with kitchen and decent, moderate breakfast. Centrally located in Seoul. Just a tiny little pool. The hotel was working on wifi in the rooms, the lobby has wifi. Good restaurants downstairs

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear DasHans,

Appreciate you providing your feedback towards our property here. Indeed, the wifi for the apartments is ‘under construction’ and targeted for launch towards the middle of October. Hope you will be back to test it out with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Big building served as a service apartment. Large room with full facility and a good fusion bar and restaurant. Not Far to walk to sightseeing attraction place like historical monument, art galleries and shopping street. Very convenience place to stay !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Stepscreator

Very kind of you to recognize our property as your: ‘Best spot to rest’. Indeed, whilst being located in the Central Business District, it is over and about a ’quiet area’ to live and relax. Pleased to note that other objectives have been equally met and I look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you: ‘Home’ soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Mediocre hotel. Hot public spaces due to saving costs and energy. The service in one of the restaurants was below all expectations (Italian). You could not get a smile even if you paid for it at the restaurant. Rooms a bit outdated (i.e. one of the TV sets was the old kind). Bathrooms seals had mold.

I had toothpicks in my bathroom from the previous guest...Poor cleaning.

If any poisitives, the for me they would have been the bed and the breakfast, whic naturally are important things in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Larry1968

good to have your stay experienced shared here with us and all. Thanks for taking time and effort to do so. Have noted your assorted comments, which I will use to our benefit in return. Just for greater general understanding to those who may not be familiar here with the reasons behind the: 'hot public spaces'. this is due to prevailing governmental regulations (as posted in respective public areas, for all to note), which lead to hefty financial fines for those not in compliance.

The feedback to the Italian restaurant, I will share actively with our lease-partners for their benefit and improvement. The TV-sets are in the final stages of turn-around into new flat-screen formats, whereby you, unfortunately have been allocated an apartment unit which had one of the few remaining older units to be turned around. My apologies for the cleaning related inconveniences states, I will also use these matters to our improvement.

Hopefully, we will be able to cross paths on your next journey to Seoul again and hope that,by then, your writing home will be in our greater favor. At the time feel free to call in with me, if I can be of any additional service to you with the above or any other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Palace Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Palace Seoul

Address: 7 Yulgok-Ro 2 Gil, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-885, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#30 Business Hotel in Seoul
#31 Family Hotel in Seoul
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Palace Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Seoul beside Gyeongbok Palace, Somerset Palace is in the heart of city's business and financial districts. Somerset Palace offers a tranquil environment, beautiful gardens, a rooftop swimming pool and great city views. Several embassies and offices of multinational companies are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Palace Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Palace Seoul Hotel Seoul
Somerset Palace Hotel Seoul
Seoul Somerset Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Palace Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.