We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Seoul to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-502, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Awaken at the Park
Ranked #20 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed at the Park Hyatt 23 - 27 December 2010 in a Park King Deluxe room booked through expedia:
23/12: AU$291.28 per night
24/12 - 25/12: AU$418.71 per night
26/12: AU$291.28 per night
plus taxes (where applicable): AU$35.50 per night , total AU$1,562 incl tax

As I frst time visitor to Seoul I can't compare this hotel with any other similarly rated Seoul hotels but suffice to say, from our room on the 17th floor we did not experience any of the problems earlier reviewers reported such as traffic noise or issues with the blinds. It's true the lifts can be a bit confusing at first (but they are clearly explained in the room's hotel guide) and a few rooms may have been in a position to overlook ours but as we couldn't see into them it seemed they could not see into ours, and we did not feel any threat to our privacy.

I chose this hotel as a relaxing way to kick off a 6+ week trip to Korea and Japan for what looked from the web site to be understated but thoughtful interior design (I loathe the cookie cutter marble-bathroom-and-designer-carpet-and-fancy light-fittings decor of many similar rated hotels) and it certainly delivered, with an abundance of blonde wood, thoughtful lighting and clever joinery (the wardrobe, which divides the bed-living area from the dressing area, folds away to allow line-of-sight and access to your luggage from both sides; the kettle is concealed behind a popout panel; the ice bucket, refilled by housekeeping at precisely 7 pm every night, tucks away into its own drawer). The bathroom was a highlight, constructed of natural granite and glass and with a superb freestanding large bath. All with floor to ceiling views, encouraging a morning ritual of raising the blinds to greet the sunrise, bookended with bathing with the lights low to a misty backdrop of city illumination each evening. The bed was extremely comfortable with high thread count white linen. Aesop toiletries and other small touches (fresh fruit every day, and a Christmas gift of individually wrapped, Christmas tree shaped shortbreads in a nice wooden box) added to the feeling of luxury.

We'd considered booking at the W at Walkerhill but once we arrived at the Park Hyatt we were glad the W had been booked out for Christmas Eve. It was breathtakingly cold -15 deg C the morning after we arrived and we appreciated the Park Hyatt's proximity to the subway and (huge, underground, heated) COEX mall where we lurked for a couple of days while we acclimatised. We found the subway very easy to use, we speak no Korean but all the signs are at least bilingual and the stops are clearly announced. The Seoul downtown loop bus is a very convenient way of getting to the major sights and shopping areas and you can catch the subway directly to it.

We didn't use the pool or gym or eat breakfast at the hotel or visit any of its other restaurants or bars but despite a somewhat awkward location adjacent to Reception, we had a really nice lunch at the Lounge restaurant on level 24, arriving chilled and hungry one afternoon after a venture outdoors. Although the hotel's web site mentions only drinks and light meals The Lounge actually has a reasonably extensive menu encompassing both Korean and Western-style food. Our lunch selection featured Jeju Island pork belly and a French wine recommended by the restaurant manager, with whom (as it was a slow afternoon) we were able to enjoy an edifying discussion about the Korean experience of Australian wines (her wine kowledge is very good) and even tour recommendations.

The Lounge was also the venue for our Christmas dinner as we'd known months earlier that their Cornerstone restaurant was booked out - apparently its Yuletide menu is a favourite with the local expat community. This was a set menu (with a choice of 3 mains and wine) featuring elements like wagyu, pheasant, and black truffle, memorably washed down with an Elderton shiraz. No complaints at all :-). We also had room service a couple of times and it was invariably excellent, unobtrusive and fast.

As well as the interior design, staffing is where we felt this this hotel excelled. The reception, room service and concierge staff were professional, friendly, helpful and efficient, you are continually greeted by name, and all spoke excellent English. We discovered that at least one of the reception staff and the manager of the Lounge restaurant had both spent some years in Australia and they both came to farewell us. From their accents it seems that other staff have also lived in the US and other English-speaking places.

The only slight negative for us is the internet access charge which is an irritant considering this is free at many lower-priced hotels. However, we would stay there again without hesitation. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    208
    36
    23
    10
See reviews for
80
175
103
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We found the bed very comfy, the room spacious (we were upgraded to a deluxe king because we were staying for our anniversary), and I liked the window coverings (auto wind-down "curtain" with an additional "black out option") on the floor to ceiling windows.

The Concierge service was always very helpful, and this hotel had fantastic English assistance.

This is the best hotel I have stayed in in Korea. I do think, however, that, like less expensive 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed in, wireless internet should be included at this price. I also consider the price for breakfast and brunch (which we did not try, at 70,000 won per person) is much too expensive to be worth it. My husband enjoyed his dinner at Cornerstone very much.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I've stayed at the Park Hyatt twice so far. It's a nice hotel with a stunning view of Seoul from the 40th floor which also happens to be the check-in floor.

The rooms are quite stylistic and you almost get a 180 degree view of the city once the curtains are lifted. Also, the staff responsible for fetching cabs or car service are very efficient, friendly.

However, this place needs some improvements. The breakfast falls short of the ones I normally have in other Hyatts and Westins. Perhaps they have a larger selection, but it's hard to make out what is out there. The layout of the restaurant doesn't make things easier in terms of helping yourself for the buffet. The staff was helpful but didn't seem to be really into what they were doing. Perhaps I have raised expectations as each time I visit Seoul I normally do it as an extension of a Tokyo visit. May be I'm judging things against the Tokyo standards.

Also, Park Hyatt proudly mentions of the stunning view and entertainment offered its 40th floor. When I stopped there this past Monday for a drink, I was politely informed that there was no room left for me as all tables had already been booked on account of the Valentines Day. Evidently it's hot spot for the City's well-off residents for meeting and entertaining their dates.

You would expect that the hotel would set aside some tables for their guests!

Finally, the downside of a full frontal view of the city was that I could hear the noise of the cars whizzing by from room. I had a hard time falling asleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Overall this hotel is the best in Seoul. Location is convenient for Taxi and Subway transportation..... Rooms are fresh, open and very comfortable. Beds are confortable but as with other hotels in Asia have firm mattresses- but the Park Hyatt Beds are definitely more comfortable than their sister hotel in Seoul (Grand Hyatt Seoul). Service in restaurant is good- only fault is that it took 3 requests to get my coffee with breakfast (minor irritation). Everyone knows your name and you are greeted at every turn. As a Diamond member breakfast is free and it is definitely a complete breakfast that fills you up for the day. Definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

An extremely pleasant, beautiful and exceptional hotel. The lay-out is a bit unusual with the reception on the top (24th) floor, but it works well. The design of the hotel is modern, with lots of natural materials (wood, rock, marble). The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms also unsual with rocky and glass walls, but very functional and comfortable. Beds are excellent, views from the high floors spectacular. The service is superb, and Katie (concierge) deserves special mention since she went out of her way to find me the room I liked (on the back of the hotel and on a high floor). Breakfast buffet is very varied, service again excellent. Fitness (with pool) excellent, with great view (23rd floor) and very modern equipment. All in all a very special hotel served by special people. I would go back there any time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is hands down the nicest hotel in Seoul. I've stayed at the W, which is beautiful but far, the JW Marriott, which is not very nice, and the Ritz Carlton, which is somewhat of a disappointment. Of these, the Park Hyatt was the only hotel that truly felt like a 5* hotel. The rooms are the best part--I was in a standard room, which was very spacious and had an amazing panoramic, floor-to-ceiling view of the city, and a beautiful bathroom with a standalone bathtub. I also appreciated the small touches, like the fresh fruit every day, and the amazing gym and complimentary spa on the 23rd floor. The hotel is also just a block away from the Coex shopping mall, so it's close to lots of food & shopping.

If you stay somewhere else, you're missing out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Very modern, chic rooms overlooking the city. Close to the Coex mall and entrance to the subway is right out front.

The hotel is a bit quirky though. The lobby is on the top floor, which really throws me off. If I am meeting people, do I meet them at the lobby or the 1st floor? There was definitely some confusion there. The elevators are also complicated. Only one of 4 takes you from the rooms to the 2nd fl restaurant or the 1st fl exit. Which makes for a long wait. It definitely makes the hotel more secure and gives you that feeling of exclusivity.

I like how when you arrive they take you straight to your room and check you in right in you room. Nice touch. I didn't check out their fitness facility but their pool is really swanky. The pool room is surrounded all sides in floor to ceiling glass so you get a nice view of the city. But one of the wall looks into the lobby! You'll have to see it for yourself.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Seoul

Address: 606 Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-502, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#17 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.