We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunbee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunbee to your Saves list
Hotel Sunbee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26, Insadong 7-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (Insadong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Swizerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and it was clean and the price was also reasonable. Except the quality of tissues & toilet paper is not good, there is nothing we can complain. It not easy to find this hotel, but with the tips written by Lisach at TripAdvisor (very helpful!!), it's not a problem. The location is actually super and it's very convenient to go everywhere in the city centre. The bed was a bit hard though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    124
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
106
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

The hotel Sunbee is located in what we believe to be the best part of Seoul. Insadong is full of fantastic Korean and Japanese restaurants and plenty of galleries and shops. 
As other reviewers have stated it's a little hard to find but don't let that put you off. When you exit Anguk station (exit 6) walk west against the traffic, you'll pass the police station and 1-2 minutes later see the tourist information office ( it's located at the very northern end of Insadong-gil). Walk south down Insadong-gil, the streets are then numbered evens on the left odds on the right. Each side street is also called Insadong-gil but the difference is they are numbered. Continue down Insadong-gil until you reach Insadong-gil 7. Once you have turned it's 100 meters along the road on the right. 
It should also be noted that Jonggak and Jongo 3-ga stations are also in walking distance of the hotel. When we departed we walked to Jongo 3-ga as we were flying from Gimpo, no change of line required.
The reception staff speak little English. When we arrived he stated our name, punched the price into the calculator and we paid, we were then give the key to our room. If you are the sort of traveler that need help from reception regularly and you don't speak Korean this is not the hotel for you.
The rooms are fantastic for the price. We payed 88,000 Won per night, this included a very basic breakfast of pastries, yoghurt and orange juice, its delivered to your room at either 7,8 or 9 am. 
The rooms are large and have everything you will need. 50 inch plasma, Computer with free Internet, Fridge, Hot & cold water dispenser, Spa bath, Separate shower and they even supply hair gel, after shave, hair spray and more. As the hotel is surrounded by buildings the view from  your room is average, but who goes to Seoul to sit in your room and stare out the window anyway!
The beds are quite firm, most are in Korea. The room is clean and they also supply bottled water for no charge.
We highly recommend the Sunbee, its everything we needed during our stay. 

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

i stayed at the hotel sunbee for one night in freezing cold january. it is tricky to find UNLESS you have great directions. i used the directions from another trip advisor user and it was VERY simple. just to reiterate:
--use bus 6011 from the airport (comes every 20 min or so, 10000 won each way)
--have driver let you off at anguk station
--once on the sidewalk, turn and walk in the opposite direction as traffic (therefore back-tracking a bit)
--you will pass a sign saying "exit 6" for anguk station
--after a minute or two, you'll see a tourist info booth on the left side. turn left and start walking down insadong-gil which is a lovely lane lined with shops on both sides
--walk down insadong-gil. after about 5 min, there will be a lane to the right labeled insadong-gil 7. (signs are a bit hard to find but this one is labeled). turn right
--walk to the end and look to the right - the hotel is right there
--when you go back to the airport, go back to where you were initially dropped off but ACROSS the street - there is a labeled stand there for the airport bus 6011. again, 10000 won and you can pay cash to the driver. takes about an hour to get to the airport.

this hotel was clean and comfortable. i didn't have any problems. i am ranking it 4 stars because the breakfast was pretty spartan (remember to ask for it - they will deliver it to your room at whatever time you specify. it's a croissant, bread roll, orange juice, and yogurt). there are no real common areas to sit in. my room was big but the computer didn't work and there was no wi-fi. staff members were a bit cold (and fyi, do not speak english very well). after staying in such lovely hotels in vietnam and laos during my southeast asia trip, this hotel felt a bit cold. having said that though, unless i was able to find a great boutique hotel for <$100, i would definitely stay at hotel sunbee again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had a very comfortable stay at Sunbee Hotel for 7 nights in early Dec. We booked 2 twin rooms (queen & single bed) at 60,000 won/rm/nite through Innostel, 10,000 won extra for 3rd person which was still ok!

Be prepared for at least 10-15 min walk from Anguk Bus Station (if you take bus 6011). It took us much longer to find it the 1st time even though we were fully aware of its obscure location warned by earlier reviewers. It is especially challenging the 1st time when you have just arrived - in the cold, confused and armed with bulky luggages. As maps are prohibited on this forum, here is a quick guide to get to SunBee – after alighting at Anguk Bus Station, walk pass Anguk Exit 6, walk for about 3 mins, at the tourist info office, turn left into Insadong. There are several souvenir shops, continue walking for about 10 minutes and on your right, look for a small lane “Insadong GIL 7” and there is also a small sign with Sunbee Hotel above it. Turn into Insadong Gil 7, walk for another 3 minutes and you should see SunBee Hotel partially hidden on the right!

The rooms are roomy and comfortable enough for 2-3 persons. The bathrooms are really spacious with toilets & vanity area separated, which is great! It seems that the toilet flush cannot accomodate toilet paper so beware of chokage!

Sunbee had a full range of amenities in the room that you would not expect at this price. The PC is definitely a plus advantage! There is a cold/hot water dispenser which is really convenient when you are in need of an instant hot drink in the cold weather. They also provide bottled mineral water so you can bring it out, which is really thoughtful! Their breakfast of croissant, bun and yogurt is satisfactory but may appear boring after few days. There are many TV channels including CNN news. A full range of toiletries including face cream, facial cotton pads, hair spray, hair band are being provided for! The odd item left out was the toothbrush, but they provide toothpaste though.

On the whole, Sunbee is in a great location in Insadong, which is full of charm and rich heritage and we could not ask for more! We will be back!! :-)

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

The hotels location is so good that the downtown attrations are very near but he hotel is not noisey. I took a room with twin beds but they take additional money for the third person. Remember to bring yout toothbrush as they dont provide that but all other amenities they provide.The rooms are clean and have internet also.They provide breakfast as room service (a bread +butter+jam +juice). But if you are going to go out early, they wont provide because the timing is 8 am( i feel its late).The attitude of the people is satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Great place, right in Insadong. PC in room. Be warned, it is hard to find and it seems like no taxis can figure out where it is. Here's how you get there: take exit 6 at Anguk station and go right towards insadong and then left onto insadong. On the right side of the street about 1/3rd mile down is a "cultural store" (Souvenier shop). The street before this one, make a right turn and go down , you will run into it on the right. The staff at the cultural store knows where it is.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I booked the hotel throught the Innostel website as recommended by others guest review.
It was very cheap which only cost USD60/night/room.
The location is fantastic which is in Insadong. The room is very spacious.
I highly recommended this hotel to everyone who want to visit Seoul.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunbee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunbee

Address: 26, Insadong 7-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Insadong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#32 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#45 Family Hotel in Seoul
#50 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunbee 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sunbee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbee Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunbee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.