We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunbee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunbee to your Saves list
Hotel Sunbee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26, Insadong 7-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (Insadong)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 418 Hotels in Seoul
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sunbee for 4 nights in October for our first visit to Seoul. We took airport bus 6011 that dropped us off at Anguk Stn. The location is right in the middle of most everything we wanted to do - the palaces, Folk Museum, Bukchon Village, Insadong, and Cheonggyecheon Stream. The hotel is very clean and the room was comfortable. It was handy to have the safe, wifi, and hot/cold water dispenser. The breakfasts were fine. A highlight of the trip was our tour with the excellent USO/Koridoor to the DMZ, which takes you to the Joint Security Area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    129
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
117
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in October. The location is top notch and Insadong has so many great little shops, restaurants it is a fabulous area. The hotel is tucked down a back alley away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is modern with free wifi in rooms and computers in lobby. We booked a DMZ tour through the hotel which was good (do the USO organised dmz tour if you can. it was sold out when we tried to book). I liked everything about this hotel except for the breakfast set up which was slightly chaotic. Problem is they don't have enough space for all the guests and you have to fight for a table no matter what time you get there. You end up having to share a table which for me first thing in the morning is an unbearable thought.I found the breakfast routine stressful and for that reason I would not stay again. However if you are more easygoing than me and want a great, clean and friendly hotel in an excellent location then I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent 5 nights there in a spacious double room. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed. Quiet location as not on the main street but right in the middle of a lively tourist area and great for metro links to the rest of the city. Just amazing value. Would stay again and recommend to anyone visiting Seoul.

Room Tip: Twin rooms may have one double and one single so check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

OK, so I said location. But that's because I enjoyed being near the buzz of Insa-dong, and the palaces nearby. If that's not for you, read no further. I stayed at two types of accommodation in Seoul. A few nights in a hanok guesthouse and a couple of nights here. It is right in the hub of the Insa-dong action. A few minutes walk from Janggok station, 10 minutes, at the most, from Jongno 3 and about the same to Anguk stations. Airport bus drop-off at Anguk station. So that's transport taken care of. There are endless food options on your doorstep. Two palaces, Gyeongbokgung and Changdeokgung within 15 minutes walk, as well as the National Museum of Art. The many restaurants and cafes of Samcheong-dong - about 20 minutes, as well as the traditional hanok houses nearby. Keep going on Samcheong-dong past the restaurant strip and you can continue to climb to the top of Mt Bukhansan for a view over Seoul. I didn't try the breakfast included in the room rate so I can't comment. But I can say, after looking at hotel and guesthouse rates in Seoul, this is great value and includes free wi-fi and two complimentary bottles of water each day in your room. Both the room and bathroom were very spacious, in fact, the bathroom was the biggest I had had in a hotel room in ages, and the window was double-glazed. I will be coming back for sure. Yes, the bed is hard but that's Asia. I had no trouble sleeping.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived tired and late from Busan one evening. We would be staying two nights. The staff were friendly and welcoming. I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Seoul since staying in Hotel Sunbee but nothing compares to it. It's safe to say that Hotel Sunbee is my favorite hotel in all of Seoul.

It checks all the categories in my book.

-It's location is glorious. It's a few minutes walk from Jonggak subway station. It's a stone's throw away from the popular shopping area in Insadong, too.

-Our room was spacious, clean and was modernly furnished. The shower and bathroom were also new and very clean.

-Moreover, one gets value for money. I have paid more for hotels in Seoul and gotten considerably less in terms of service and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Pros:

Spacious Room
42" LCD TV
Big Bath Tub
Big Bed
Hot and Cold Water Dispenser
Safe box
In room router/wifi
Hair dryer, hairspray, gels an perfumes are available
In room couch
Replenishes Toiletries everyday

5-10minute walk from Jonggak Station
Restaurants and convinience stores near the hotel
Adequate breakfast.

Cons:
Stiff bed
Aircon is quite noisy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotel Sunbee is a great value in Insadong, if not for Seoul in general. Usually below 100/night, it is centrally located, just a short walk from the Jonggak station and basically located at one end of Insadong (a famous street for shopping antiques, souvenirs, and galleries). Rooms are well maintained, mine with hardwood floors, a spacious bathroom, all amenities, HD television, hot/cold water dispenser, room safe, and air-conditioner. Learning how to use the two remote control sets was the only hassle, but it is no big deal. Do bring (or buy) your own electricity converter as the hotel staff was unable to assist me with this.

There are two computer stations in the lobby, which one may access 24 hours at no cost. Breakfast buffet is limited, but there is a very good coffee shop right there in the lobby for a stronger brew. The hotel staff's English is very limited and at times non-existent, but they will try to help you as much as they can. You do need some patience if you do not know Korean. From your hotel, you can walk to Insadong, Gyeongbokgung Palace, Topol Park area, and Jongno 3-san area. Limitless supply of restaurants, coffee shops, and entertainment in all of them. All of these areas were very safe, even when walking back to the hotel at night.

I strongly recommend this hotel. I do know that in the past its value has decreased for other travelers, but I found it ideal and for its price an excellent choice for Seoul.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#22 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#29 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Doulos Hotel
Doulos Hotel
#56 of 418 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
ShinShin Hotel
ShinShin Hotel
#7 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Insadong
Aventree Hotel Jongno
Aventree Hotel Jongno
#71 of 418 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunbee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunbee

Address: 26, Insadong 7-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Insadong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#24 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#31 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunbee 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sunbee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbee Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunbee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.