We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Hotel with Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Boolim Tourist Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Boolim Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Boolim Tourist Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-5, Dapsimni-ro 1-gil, Dongdaemun-gu, Seoul 130-020, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 390 hotels in Seoul
Malaysia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Very Basic Hotel with Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is hardly 5 mins walk from the subway station, next to Lotte Departmental store. It has a few hawker spots during the night which makes it very convenient.

As to the hotel itself - it does look like a 2 star hotel, old and not well maintained. Check in was ok, rooms are ok. we had the triple room - it has 1 double bed and 2 single bed. Room itself was decent but could be much better. Bathroom was huge but our jacuzzi didnt work. Overall, if you would have spent most of your time out of the hotel, then this could be a perfect hotel for you.

This hotel is also a good base for those who are visiting Nami Island - as the metro connection to namiseon is just out of the hotel.

***Just beware that the hotel is located in the red light district are, and there are some elderly woman who will approached you if you are back in the middle of the night/early morning***

However, since the hotel is only located on the edge of the red light district, we feel it is ok, safe and very convenient. Would recommend this hotel for those going to Nami Island via the metro connection.

Room Tip: Please get higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    31
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
14
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

From airport, take Bus #6002 to Cheongnyangni Station, about a one and a half hour ride. You will see this hotel on a small side street beside Lotte Plaza. Simple lobby with two computers with internet (but in Korean, so you have to figure out how to make it English). Staff is friendly, helpful and good enough in English.

We got a triple room, just a small room with one double bed and two singles. Does not look like the pictures on the net at all, but we eventually liked it though after a few nights. TV had only one station with English movies called OCN, the rest are Korean channels. Those with young kids have to watch out for Playboy Spice Channel 19 which is on the whole day. A Family Mart is right across street. Nearby Lotte Mart has supermarket and food court.

As far as the "aunties" on the street mentioned in a previous review, I only encountered them once on our first night when I was looking for the hotel. You simply need to pay them no heed.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

we had a pleasant 1 week stay in this hotel. Like most of the review mentioned in this forum, it is indeed best chosen for budget travellers and affordable enough to pay for some privacy. It's confortable if you are expecting just the basic necessity. the money we have saved here instead of staying at higher class hotel allowed us to splurge on food and other outdoor activities. The transport which is so convenient also helped to save some cash for us to take a trip out of Seoul. The Airport Limo stops just across the hotel and the subway is just round the corner. a few family restaurants can be found beside the hotel and the food is pretty good too. A 24h family mart is just directly opposite the hotel...infact just 10 steps away. Seoul Plaza is also nearby which we can shop till you drop at their supermarket. Thou it is near the red light district but we have not encountered anything unpleasant. we often returned to the hotel in the wee hour around 2 am with our kids and very often we saw police car patrolling the area. maybe it was winter so no "aunties" willing to bare it out.
i will definitely go for it again for my 3rd trip to south korea next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

we had a very nice stay at boolim hotel. location is very strategic, very close to the subway and the receptionists are extremely helpful. Recommended for budget tourists

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Boolim Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Boolim Tourist Hotel

Address: 39-5, Dapsimni-ro 1-gil, Dongdaemun-gu, Seoul 130-020, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 390 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Boolim Tourist Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your New Boolim Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Boolim Tourist Seoul
Hotel New Boolim Tourist

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Boolim Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.