We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Rex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23, Toegye-ro 10-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-051, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 111 Reviews
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient, 10 min walk to myeongdong, hoeyeon subway ext 1 is only 2 min walk, only problem is the limo airport bus stop(6015) is quite far to walk to the hotel. The nearest stop is outside Korean bank and can easily get lost coz there are some many cross over roads.
Our room is decent size and seem clean, but their hot water was terrible, when taking a shower the water turns very hot then cold continually, hot, cold, hot cold! Overall the price is worth it for its location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    52
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
13
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location, I give it a 5 star. The hotel is about a 3 minute walk from the Line 4 (Blue), Hoehyeon Station, exit 1. Namdaemun is across the street. Myeongdong is just 10 minutes by foot. Seoul Tower is within walking distance. There are hundreds of restaurants, convenience stores and coffee shops nearby.

The twin room is large compared to most hotels in this price range. ($68 to $80).

So far, it does not sound bad..but, the carpet is old and worn; the bed's comforter smelled of cigarettes; this non-smoking room had an ashtray; the wall sockets did not have plates around them; wires (and I mean at least 30 wires) were sticking out of the wall behind the bed lamp; the bed lamp did not work; neither did the air-conditioning unit; they do not have floor mats in the bathroom; they do not supply shampoo; they do supply body lotion (which was half-filled); the mini bar's list had about 6 items on it of which we had two- they charge for the things on the list so I made sure to let the front desk know that we did not have the items to begin with; the door jammed every day.

This is my experience with room 806. The other rooms may be fine in which case, the location is fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good value and good location....
3 minutes walk to heoyong metro station, 5 minutes walk to namdaemun market and shingate shopping center.
The Hotell staff doenst speak english well but very helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hotel is not what we expected for a 4 star hotel, rooms were dimly lit, there was a certain musky smell when we went inside the room. Temperature for AC/heater was hard to adjust.

Bed was ok, but pillows were flat. No complimentary tea / coffee. Wifi internet access was good though.

Location was good, near Myeongdong Shopping (10-15 mins walk) Namdaemun (5-10 mins walk). there are also plenty of restaurants and coffee shops around the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas/USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Rex earlier this month.....and had a positive experience...some of the reviews had us a bit worried after we booked, so we were very pleased to fi d that when we DID have a problem with a stopped up drain the first night, there was a maintenance men at our door in under five minutes! The staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked directions..and we can reaffirm what others have said: the location is great. The Rex is perfectly positioned for shopping, catching a bus to Incheon airport...and wandering around...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in June, and didn't have a good experience at all.
This trip was not planned, it's one of those "why don't we just hop on the plan and go" kind of a thing, so didn't spend any time to research at all.

Anyhow, all lights in a were not working, AC was broken, a room was dirty.
I was looking for an outlet for my laptop, and moved a desk.
I found TONS of garbage behind the desk, YUCK!

We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located just across Namdaemun Market & Shinsege Departmental Store. Hoehyeon Station of Seoul Subway Line 4 is just 2 mins walking distance and getting a taxi is also very easy. Shopping in Myeongdong is only 10 mins walk. Dongdaemon (Doota, Migliore, Helloapm, Maxstyle) is also a very short drive by taxi and it doesn't cost much for 3 or 4 people.
As for sightseeing, Namsan park is just right behind and the hotel is not too far away from Namsangal Korean Village (free entrance).
As for the hotel, there is nothing really great about it except for the location. We were given a room on the 8th floor, there room is filled with strong cigarette smell. It's high time the hotel management replace the beds, it sinks! The bath towels are also old & worn. There is a small kettle provided but no complimentary coffee or tea bags. What I didn't like is wifi is only available in the lobby.
There is also a convenient store just across the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the hotel main entrance can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 23, Toegye-ro 10-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-051, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.