We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room, staff, transportation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-042, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 232 Reviews
Shoreview, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, room, staff, transportation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family of 3 spent 5 days in a triple room in mid-June. This was our first visit to Seoul. After reading a lot of reviews, I have to say that we did not experience anything negative at the hotel. The staff spoke English and were very eager to help. The room on 3rd floor was spacious and updated. The double beds were comfortable. The bathroom was pretty large with separate shower (with floor to ceiling glass) and tub areas. There's a handheld shower in the tub also. BTW, there's a narrow floor-to-ceiling glass from the shower to the room that's covered by mini-blinds. Free wifi worked perfectly and there's a good-sized safe for cameras and laptops. The refrigerator is stocked full of drinks for a fee. Thermostat worked accurately and room lights can all be controlled bedside. LCD TV was sharp.

Getting there was fairly easy. We chose to take the all-stop 53-minute AREX train to Seoul station using T-money card, then take a short taxi ride to the hotel. There was a reviewer that stated that people should not take the Airport bus to Sejong Hotel across the street if they have a lot of luggage. The reason given was because crossing the street using the subway underground crossing requires going up and down a lot stairs. This turned out not to be true. Sejong Hotel, where the Airport bus stops, is maybe 100 yards NE of Pacific and there's a traffic light controlled crosswalk for you to cross the street. The crosswalk allows about 60 seconds for the crossing, which is plenty. Airport bus costs 10,000 Won per person.

The hotel is walking distance to the busy MyeongDong shopping area and restaurants and to the Nam San cable car stop. Restaurants are literally all around. Remember to look up as many are on higher floors. Blue line subway entrance is less than a block away

All in all, I have to say that Pacific Hotel exceeded my pre-trip expectations. I would rate it 4-stars. Would definitely stay there again if we decide to visit Seoul a second time in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if in doubt, but I heard that all rooms have been updated, but not entirely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    132
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
62
42
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and it was my first time in Seoul and I was really impressed. Great location, walking distance from many tourist attractions and especially the Myeongdong shopping district. Nice restaurants around the hotel. The service was excellent and the rooms were very spacious. I was upgraded to a suite on arrival which I was so happy about and really added to my great experience at this hotel. The Zenku bar downstairs is also great for a nightcap after a good day of shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Ecija Province, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in a double standard room and upon check in request for a newly renovated room that is on the lower floors. Our room is on the 3rd floor, and it is obviously newly renovated. The room size is really just for 2 persons and it can only fit 2 medium size luggages. There are no cabinets for clothes only hangers. There is also a working table/make-up table. Their oversized king bed is so fluffy and comfortable. Toilet is modern, has auto flush, dryer, heated toilet cover. I'm very satisfied everything in the room, except for the aircon that is quite warm at night. Location is ideal for those who don't want to take taxis. Myeongdong subway is just infront of the hotel. The airport limousine bus stop is just across the road and a little walk to Sejong hotel where the bus stop is. So to and from the airport is very convenient. Shopping in Myeongdong is also just across the road. That's it! Everything is just a walk away. Namsan tower is located behind the hotel around 400m walk. Our room package does not include breakfast but no worries cause there are lots of breakfast cafe around like twosome cafe, paris baguette, tous les jours and hollys cafe in the lobby. Staff are helpful, since our room is located at the end, there is no wifi signal that can be detected, we informed the problem at the receptionist, and to our surprised they install a router inside our room! Wow! Thank you Pacific Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel is located at the tip of the shopping & eating district of Seoul -- Myeongdong. This might be located at the tip of Myeongdong, but don't be fooled by the map you got. The hotel is very accessible to subway, convenience stores, pubs, restaurants, grocery, boutique shops & more.

Wifi is available in the hotel but there might be some problems on their wifi ports in other floors. So, call the receptionist & they will fix the problem. But if you need to use the wifi immediately, & wifi is down. Go to the lobby, Holly's Cafe (located at the ground floor) has a free wifi & the speed is quite fast.

Not all toiletries are available in the room but the housekeeping staff is quite fast & efficient in bringing you what you want to borrow from them (like an flat iron). No complimentary bottled water in the room but a water dispenser is available on every floor by the elevator. So you can refill your empty bottles all you want. Bed I slept in was very comfortable.

A mini garden/smoking area is located at the 6th floor for those looking for a nice & quite place to smoke or read, you can go there.

Breakfast buffet at the hotel is quite good. A mix of continental & Korean dishes are served with a few selection of drinks (coffee, tea, juice, milk). But most of the dishes are the same everyday with a few tweaks on their selection.

The hotel staff is quite good in English & helpful, so it's not a problem to communicate with them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is just 2 mins from the Myeongdong station, and the main shopping area is just right across the street. The hotel has been renovated so the room is very clean and tidy, it will be more suitable for couple to come as the design of the toilet is transparent. The room size is relatively big compare to other hotel in Seoul, especially like the bed size too, It's larger than a king size bed!

Staff on reception are quite helpful, but not very friendly, but staff at concierge are very helpful and friendly. if you are taking the airport bus from airport to the hotel, you have to stop at Sejong Hotel, which is about 10-15 mins walk away from hotel, so it might not be convenience for people who carry many luggages. The wifi connection is quite strong in this hotel, if I come to Seoul again I would still stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to request upper floor as there is many restaurants near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days at this hotel. Took airport bus 6015 and it is last station. Walk 200ft and you will see exit 3 of metro. Cross the road and walk another 200 ft. Do not cross via metro / underground if you have big bags.
Hotel is near by the Market and Metro. Lots of eating and shopping nearby. Hotel desk people were friendly but not fluent in English.
Room is somewhat smaller but clean and well planned. Bathroom has automatic toilet. They threw in free breakfast for us. Breakfast is worth $17 otherwise. I thought the value of the hotel charge is worth it. There is free wifi. Would use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Checking in is strictly at 2pm. Comfortable lobby with Holly Café just at the corner. English speaking staffs and quite helpful.

Room was comfortable. I was situated at level 2 and with window opened it was quite noisy from the street. Aircond was not cold at all and forced to open the window for cold air. Street was crowded so noise from 7am to 1am is expected.

Location wise is impressive. Central to everywhere including Myeongdong metro, Myeondong shoppoing street, Seoul Tower and others.

Wifi connection was alright at the lobby but not in the room.

Room Tip: Request as high as possible to avoid noise from the street if you want to keep the window opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Address: 2, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-042, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#35 Business Hotel in Seoul
#39 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.