We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central in Seoul but heater in room disappoint...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Kukje Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Kukje Hotel to your Saves list
New Kukje Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, Sejong-daero 22-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-101, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Central in Seoul but heater in room disappoint...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Plus point is definitely its proximity to the metro, shopping and eateries, even though we did not explore the surrounding much (although we were in Seoul for 2 nites) we were on a 7-8 days packaged tour in Korea. Hence if you need a place to sleep here and spend most of the time outside (which should be) then this hotel should fit you.

I don't agree this is a budget hotel, although the rooms are a little small, but given the price offered in some sites like Agoda (around Usd 70-100), everything works ok for us except for the heater/aircond in the room - there seems to be no floor heater (unlike some hotels here) and the aircon set to the highest temp, did not warm the room enough for us (we stayed in 8-10 Dec'12 , the onset of cold winter).
Unable to bring up the temp to a warm comfort level, our sleep was compromised, otherwise, everything else seems to work fine. We did call the technician to take a look but it seems they could not do much...

Room Tip: Make sure the room heater works if you are there during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    52
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
9
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Amazing customer service. I've been to almost all the hotels in Korea, and this one seems to be the most reasonably priced, convenient, and the cleanest budget hotel. The Buffet is awesome and awesomely priced as well. I like their family suites, definitely sheek and nicely renovated.

I will definitely be back

Room Tip: Family suite is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent Hotel, Very Clean and located in the middle of Myeong-Dong. I Heard this hotel just finished the renovation. I think the other review was outdated so it is not fair for the other to put a bad review of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Price is reasonable good. Location is marvelous since it is merely 2 mins walk to city centre and metro station. Nice city view at level 15 where you could have a nice breakfast. Wifi is only available at lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

old room and smells bad! no AC you need to open the window .staff is worst not helpful at all they cant find my key and they said we cant see your key ! i will not go back in this hotel !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The hotel is under major remodelling. The entire outside is covered with panels. All you see out your window is darkness, construction material, dust and loose nails. The place felt like a prison.

Although my travel agent at H.I.S. - Japan apologized, I had hoped to hear from the higher ups. But nothing. And all the hotel staff did was shrug. I felt deceived and ripped off. Here is a picture of what the place really looks like.

I suggest avoiding this hotel, unless a view or sunlight isn't important to you.

Room Tip: None. Judging from the outside, all rooms have no windows. In my opinion that makes any selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for just one night and it was enough.
When I arrived (late) the room was still being cleaned.
The room was big and clean, the location was the best of the hotel, but the building is very, very old.
Don't use the bathroom near the reception, not so clean and I found a roach there.
Good to stay for just one night and if you don't want to waste time.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Kukje Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kukje Hotel

Address: 12, Sejong-daero 22-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-101, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kukje Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your New Kukje Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kukje Seoul
Hotel New Kukje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Kukje Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.