We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137, Cheonggyecheon-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-430, South Korea (Gwanghwamun / Jongno)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Would come back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited with friend and chose the hotel by location (very near the metro stop) and cheap price. Toiletries were supplied as well as free water and kettle (no coffee though). We didn't have window which saved us a few wons per night. The room was clean and air conditioning functioning. We had tv with English channels.

Breakfast was basic - coffee, tea, omelet, juice, cereals and toasts.

Tip: Potala restaurant is great nearby if you, like us, cannot stand Korean food any more..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I think they have recently renovated, perhaps, as it is not that bad, old & dirty as some of the comments/reviews. So after all we kind of enjoyed our stay there ... anyway, we don't expect much from a 3stars hotel. The room is clean and with basic essentials supplied, we find it rather comfy, even though it is a small room. A pillar at the center of our triple room did make move around the room inconvenient and limited space/area to put away luggage. We find the location is good as the nearest station has 3 subway lines, travel around Seoul is hassle-free even from Incheon Airport, we took the A'REX. Nearby has many eateries, also GS25 & 7eleven, and the Gwangjang Market is just about a 10min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Possible choose only bed/room without breakfast. The breakfast served was basically bread, cereal wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I stayed for 6 days and 5 nights with this hotel. Newly renovated hotel room (with bath tub). Its clean.

All front desk staff are super nice! Also, they allowed us to check-in early for free!!!
Although the location of the hotel is near hardware stores but no biggie since it is near the subway (only 5 minutes walk)

I highly recommend this hotel for those who are also in a budget and wants good location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were on a stop over with a connecting overnight at Seoul airport. The hotel was dingy, the rooms basic and the hotel had the feel of a place that couples would come to share entertainment rather as a proper hotel. Definitely to be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just been there. It's very well located, less that 5 minute walk to metro stations 1, 3, 5; 10 minutes walk to city Hall and Gwanghwamun. Nice staff but, sadly, It's a very poor 2-star hotel. No wifi in bedrooms. Just available at hall. Business centre is a wrecked store room with a pc. It might have had 3 stars some time ago but it lost them on the way. . I will not repeat there.

Room Tip: Don't use picture to guide you. Deceptive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

was here with other tourist couples , small group about 12 of us , was taken here by the local tourist company . good location , nearby to the shopping area of ITAEWON , recommend for other MUSLIM travellers , as the National Mosque is nearby and halal food is available.Stayed for 2 nights , can't comment much about the Hotel other services as we were out exploring Seoul for most of the days.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

It is situated very nearby to Jongno-Sam(3)-Ga Station. Just take exit 13, turn left and walk straight down to one end of the road just before the stream and you'll see Central Hotel.

The double bed is very small, the lift has a bad smell, especially at end of day and even the room towel has a bad smell. The window are old and the air-con works on and off. Good thing they 2 air-conditioners in the room but maybe it's there to cater to this problem.

The hotel is very very old and poorly maintained in my opinion and I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 137, Cheonggyecheon-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-430, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel provides elegant and comfortable accommodation just a 3-minute walk from Euljiro 3-ga Subway Stations (line No 2,3, Exit # 5) and Jongno 3-ga Subway Stations (line no.1,3,5, Exit # 13). It provides easy access to Seoul’s popular sights and offers free Wi-Fi in the hotel rooms and public areas. Hotel Central is located right opposite Cheonggyecheon (The Cheonggye Stream) providing beautiful views. Myeongdong, Insa-dong and Namdaemun are a 10-minute walk away. Incheon International Airport is an hour’s drive from the hotel. The beautiful, air-conditioned rooms are fitted with fine beddings and furnishings. They feature an en suite bathroom, a fridge and a flat-screen TV. They all have comfortable seating areas. Free toiletries are provided.For meals, guests can choose from a range of dining options located around the hotel. There are local, European and Asian restaurants. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk, a business center and ATM machines. It provides laundry, luggage storage and currency exchange services for guests’ convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.