We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fab Location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
Metro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 100-845, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 752 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Fab Location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at Metro Hotel in Oct 2012, this hotel is super popular (rightfully so) hence when we booked in Aug we had to switch rooms twice for the 4 nights. However staff were very good at moving our things to the new room.

Clean & modern style rooms, friendly staff and you can't beat the location, shops and restaurants on your doorsteps, all for more than half the price you would have paid for the 5* hotels. The breakfast is also very good.

If we go back to Seoul we will certainly stay at metro Hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    338
    37
    9
    0
See reviews for
224
164
150
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Straight forward boutique hotel right at shopping and dining area in the middle of Myeong-dong district. Eays access to city center around city hall. Quick and efficient checkin/checkout. Room was relatively large with a hard & comfortable bed. Bathroom large enough. Quick free wifi. Great breakfast. Reception helpful with printing & faxing. Had a great stay at this friendly and personal place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The reviews of Metro Hotel here in Trip Advisor and in every other traveler forum were all fantastic, so I decided to book here for our trip to Seoul.

I initially booked a Deluxe Room for 4 nights. The booking through the website was fast, easy and efficient. Prices are even discounted when you book through the website. A few minutes after I booked, I received an email confirming my reservation and giving me information about my booking.

Then we decided to extend our vacation to 6 nights. I emailed Metro Hotel if I could extend my reservation, and to change the room type from Deluxe to a Standard room. Again, they replied to my email after just a few minutes to confirm that they could extend my reservation to six nights, and that I could change the room type. It was very efficient and hassle-free.

A few days before we arrived in Seoul, I received a call from Metro Hotel confirming my reservation and the details of the room. They even asked if we had any special requests. This is the first time I experienced this from any hotel, and I must say that this kind of customer service puts Metro Hotel at the very top of my best hotel service list.
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who spoke English really well. I was feeling under the weather when we arrived in Seoul at 6:30am, and I asked if we could get a Business room until we could check in to our actual room (check in time was 3:00pm). They readily accommodated my request and within a few minutes we checked in to the Business room, and by the time we checked out of the room at 12nn, the Standard room that we reserved was ready for check in. Because of their accommodation, I was able to rest and I felt better after a few hours of good sleep.

The Standard room was small, but good enough for two and all our luggage (we had four!). The room provided the essentials I look for in all hotel rooms: cable tv, slippers, toiletries, robes, complimentary water, coffee and tea making facility, fridge, hairdryer, safe. It also had free WIFI, and a high-tech toilet seat to boot.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is literally just two minutes away from the airport shuttle bus stop, and also from the subway station (Euljiro-il ga station) which makes going around Seoul a breeze. It is also right smack in the middle of the Myeongdong shopping area. You can take your pick from the variety of restaurants in the area, and shop until you drop! It is right across the Lotte Department Store and Lotte Young Plaza, and a few steps away from the underground Myeongdong Shopping area too. It is likewise five minutes away from the Nanta Myeongdong Theater, where you can watch the famous Nanta Cooking show.

The hotel provides free breakfast buffet when you book through the website. Breakfast was satisfying. I loved their homemade yoghurt, dumplings and porridge. I also loved that the ambient music was classical music, so we ate breakfast with Handel and Bach in the background. It was a fantastic way to start the day.

The staff readily gave me information (and one even researched for me how to best book a Hanggang River Cruise, and which subway station to go to) about tourist destinations in Seoul. They were always smiling, always ready to help, and spoke English really really well (no language barriers here!).

Perhaps the only small negative thing I can say about the hotel is the housekeeping. I don’t think the housekeeping lady did more than change the sheets and towels, and sweep the bathroom floor. On two occasions she threw the tissue (from the trash bin) and the sweepings into the toilet bowl, and forgot to flush it. It was rather gross. It was a good thing the toilet didn’t get clogged with all the tissue and hair and dust haha. But I have to say though, that overall the hotel and the room were really clean.

All in all I loved Metro Hotel. I will definitely recommend this to all my friends and family who are going to Seoul, and will surely stay in this hotel every time I visit Seoul. Five stars, two thumbs up! Kamsahamnida Metro Hotel for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkySong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms Jaymee0511

Hello from Metro hotel, Seoul!
Thank you so much for your time to share your review about your recent stay at Metro hotel.
It is very nice to learn that our reservation and front desk team were able to assist you properly concerning your reservation and sight seeing information. Thanks for mentioning our official website which you could get discounted room rates and free breakfast from.
We were so disappointed to hear that our housekeeping didn't follow the standard and procedure when she was cleaning your bathroom. We have pointed this out during our housekeeping meeting and will all be paying special attention to it.

Thank you again for staying with us and your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again at Metro hotel.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Here's our reviews:

PROS:
- Very good location. At the heart of Myeongdong. Shopping district for clothes, shoes, street food and makeup makeup makeup!
- Very good customer service. They overlooked my emails that we are a party of 3 and they booked us a room for 2. We had to pay an extra person charge but they gave us extra 4 breakfast buffet coupons (since we're staying for 4 nights) to rectify the situation. We are happy with this.
- Basic but more than adequate breakfast buffet spread. The croissants are divine.
- 5 minute walk to Lotte Mall and many other malls that I don't know how to spell.
- You can definitely feel the security of the place.
- Even if it's located in the middle of everything, the surroundings are safe. You can walk in the wee hours pf the morn without fear. We always go back to the hotel at around 2am and never felt that we had to walk fast.
- Fast internet. Separate wireless router for each room.
- Had to mention this - cool electric toilets :-)

CONS:
- When we requested for a socket adaptor, these aren't free. They rent it out and that was the first that I've heard of it. Good thing there is an AVR (inside the closet) that are for guests who need to plug to 100 volts sockets. We just used this to avoid renting the adapter.
- Most but not all receptionists can speak good English. Took me a difficult time to request for pillows to be replaced. Used the words "replace", "change", or "need new pillows", none worked and I ultimately just gave up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

First timer to Seoul and this hotel is in a great location and a phenomenal value. I'm glad I read the reviews because it is a real gem.

Pros -
Location...you can't beat the location, especially for shopping...and a good location for exploring the city.
Value...great price compared to other lodging options
Room...free Wifi, decent sized room. Free breakfast, although I didn't think the offerings where that spectacular, but to each his own.

Cons -
Difficult finding the property when arriving by the airport bus...even if you can decipher the map on their website. Be sure to do your homework on locating...I asked several people when I was dropped off and still took forever to find it. It's buried in side streets and one of those locations where you are literally standing in front of it before you see it. Look for Smoothie King and/or Outback Steakhouse and then look up.

No early check in...I get it, why should I get something I don't pay for...but they also don't have any Hotel restrooms in the lobby...so, when arriving early after a overnight flight, it's nice to be able to change...and I was directed to use Outback Steakhouse's bathroom to change, which I did. It was a bit odd and uncomfortable...and not the best first impression.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We only had 24 hours for a stopover in Seoul and chose Metro hotel for the comments on Tripadvisor. We found it very easy to get to the hotel from the airport and were greated with some handwarmers and a map of the neighborhood. Our luggage was taken care of and after 5 minutes we were on our way to the city bus tour.
We returned in the late afternoon and checked in our room which was small but clean, nicely furnished and with a heated toilette seat what might not be important to mention but after a day with snow and -8 degrees it was a detail which we really enjoyed.
The hotel fullfilled not only our expactations but made our short stay very enjoyable with nice staff, a good breafkast buffet with cerals, bread and croissants and home-made yogurt next to Asian warm dishes. Also, the location is ideal as the steakhouse next doors makes a perfect dinner without waking out of the building and shops and other restaurants in the neighborhood. We would definitly chose Metro Hotel again for a future stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided to stay at Metro Hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were so glad that we took the advice of those before us. The hotel was great. Knowing it was a smaller hotel we didn't expect much in the way of facilities but they definitely made up for this by the exceptional service that they provided. The staff at the front reception were always friendly and helpful which made the stay very enjoyable. We stayed in a standard B room on the 7th floor facing the busy Myeong Dong street which we thought would be noisy at night but we could hardly hear what was going on down there. The moment we stepped out of the hotel we were in the throng of it which pretty much made my day because I could send the husband back to the hotel with my shopping if we ran out of hands. The laundromat set up on our floor meant I could do some washing so I didn't have to take home a suitcase full of dirty clothes. The breakfast included in the hotel price was described as basic but substantial so after reading the reviews we thought we would just try it on the first day and have breakfast elsewhere if it wasn't our "thing". Instead we found ourselves going back every morning and we were excited to see that the breakfast spread changed every day so make sure you try a little bit of everything because you might not see it again during your stay. Overall, we were very happy we chose to stay at Metro Hotel and we will definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 100-845, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1960, Metro Hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korea registered by the government. Its trailblazing founding became the cornerstone of tourism in Korea. Metro Hotel is conveniently situated in the heart of Seoul, with quick access to business, shopping, dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.