We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good hotel with great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seoul Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Seoul Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seoul Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160, Sapyeong-daero, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-804, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Ahus, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good hotel with great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel has perfect service, is very clean and has good rooms with comfortable beds and relaxing environment. The breakfast was really good. The restaurants said to close at 10 pm, at 9.30 we wanted to have dinner and then we were told the kitchen was closed, but when we said we were very hungry they arranged for us anyway. It is a bit like that, you have to discuss a bit and then things can be fixed.... The drinks are expensive (even the coffe or a glass of wine) but roomprices good value for money. Health club was bad, only a few older machines in two ordinary rooms. No strap on the runners belt, and of course I fell! Got sanded :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    93
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
20
18
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for more 2 nights recently. Again, not having a toothbrush and razor included in the room price is very inconvenient for guests. Perhaps even more annoying is the exorbitant price to use the Internet (otherwise it's free in the lobby) but it's another cynical way for the hotel to increase its bottom line. I had a word with the general manager and he was of no help whatsoever. I'd rather the hotel increase the price of the room, rather than have it added extra stealthily. Disgraceful way to run a business in the service industry.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Location is good. 5mins away from the Express Bus Terminal subway station. It is a 10min walk to the Express Bus terminal where you can take buses to Jeonju & other parts of Korea. The airport limousine bus 6703 drops you right at the doorstep. It takes around 80mins from Incheon airport.

We booked the Executive room. Though small, the room is nicely renovated with a working desk, ipod 4 dock. The toilet baffles me. Part of the glass window to the toilet has no blinds. It is pretty inconvenient when you are not traveling with your other half. The shower partition is also only half covered & water just flows down to the bathroom floor. Maybe installing a shower curtain will do the trick? This will also solve the "privacy" issue with those glass windows looking through to the toilet.

No free wifi here. We rented a mobile wifi device but it does not work in our room because there's no mobile reception. Dang....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This could be a good business hotel. The bathtub design ruins the hotel. It's those ones you say "how on earth would anyone designs the bathtub like this". The bathtub does not have shower curtain, it has a glass panel shielding half length of the bathtub. The other half of the tub simply is open! Each time I finished a shower, there was a soaking wet foot towel on the wet floor waiting for my feet. It was awful. The hotel was lucky that I did not slipped and fall. Otherwise, I would sue the hell out of them.

Besides the bathtub, everything was fine. It was 10 minutes walking to the metro. The airport shuttle stops right in front of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was ok. Room was quite small.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Being a korean living in Australia, I was sceptical about the Seoul Palace when I booked online through a good deal. Fortunately, I'm glad to say that I was suitably impressed!
We booked 2 business twin rooms, and the twins were actually 1 x Double, 1 x single. Very spacious, modern, clean rooms. Great white bathrooms, clean sheets and bedding.
The aircon is also very quiet and fuss-free which is a huge plus for me being a sensitive sleeper and I had a great 2 nights stay at the Seoul Palace! will definately be back next time.
For breakfast, if you don't want to spend up big at the restuarant, simply walk around the block to 'seo rae village' for cute cafes, bakeries and restaurants- so charming and great shopping!
Cons are that there is no wi-fi in rooms (without payment) and business centre is also charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a Non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was my 2nd stay at the property. This time it was on the executive floor. One would have expected better service here but it was not to be. We arrived early in the morning (9+) and was told no rooms was ready until 2pm. And yes, they can't try as all the rooms were full. We opted to go for breakfast to kill some time. But less than an hour later, decided to head back to the hotel to pay for the early check-in as the wait was simply too long and some work could be done instead.

When we told the front office (at the lobby) of our intention to pay for the extra charge, they helped us call the executive floor staff to check. Immediately, we were told to go up. Now this was interesting, just an hour ago, we were told that all rooms were full till 2pm and now all of a sudden, when we told them we would be paying, rooms were immediately available. If it was so, that we had to pay for the extra charge we would have been okayed to do so, but such an option was not made to us till we asked when we first approached the staff at the executive floor.

The breakfast at the executive floor was monotonous. It was the same offerings throughout the several days we stayed there. The chef might want to consider changing some of the items to add variety, though the taste was pleasant.

Interestingly, we felt that the concierge and the common front reception offered better service than the staff at the executive floor recep. One wonders why when the executive floor charged more and yet lacked the service level. The hotel management might want to review this area to up their service. This makes us wonder should we be back at the hotel the next time, we ought to stay at the normal floors instead. In fact, the breakfast at the cafe offered greater variety. It was also surprising to learn that one can't dine at the cafe for breakfast but if like to, would need to pay a difference.

But I must compliment the service rendered at the concierge. Not only do they speak rather good English, they are also friendlier, always with a smile. That makes me wonder why a difference in service standard despite being the same hotel but in different department. One could tell that the concierge is always busy, with so many requests from all the guests and yet they have never failed to delight us, whatever our requests.

And yes about the room. The chambermaids are wonderful, despite their lack of English, they never fail to smile and accede to our requests. But the layout of the bathroom is much to be desired. Water simply flows to the floor no matter how careful you bathe. Hence, it has made bathing not a very pleasant experience and I pity he chambermaids who have to continuously clean up the water. Not an easy task with so many rooms in the hotel. I wonder if the management can look into this area and do something about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Rooms were clean but not spacious; just enough space to walk around the bed right beside the lavatory. May ask for larger and more brighter rooms though.
Small free lobby; may use other more spacious lobbies only if order beverages!!!
The dark brown color of the hotel lobby is too boring and heavy.

Might be good for business trips but definitely not suited to families on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a large and bright room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seoul Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seoul Palace Hotel

Address: 160, Sapyeong-daero, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-804, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seoul Palace Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seoul Palace Hotel is a 5-minute walk from Exit No.5 .subway line 3, 7, 9 Express Bus Terminal Station. It features a fitness club, sauna and 6 dining options.Central City Shopping Mall is a 5-minute walk from Seoul Palace Hotel while a 5-minute journey on foot brings guests to Seorae Village. Recreation options at Banpo section of Han River Park are just a 3-minute car journey away.Rooms come with both air-conditioning and heating facilities. Each room has internet access, LCD cable TV, a minibar, a Safety box, a Bathtub and a Bidet . Bathrobe and slippers are provided.Seoul Palace has a business centre for guests to work in. Parking is available on site. The hotel also provides laundry and dry cleaning services.The Stone Plate serves Korean and international cuisine. Chinese menu can be found at Suh Goong Restaurant, Japanese dishes are available at Ta bong Restaurant and drinks are served at Bar Gusto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Seoul Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seoul Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.