We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Hotel Seoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
The Palace Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160, Sapyeong-daero, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-804, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 418 Hotels in Seoul
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Being a korean living in Australia, I was sceptical about the Seoul Palace when I booked online through a good deal. Fortunately, I'm glad to say that I was suitably impressed!
We booked 2 business twin rooms, and the twins were actually 1 x Double, 1 x single. Very spacious, modern, clean rooms. Great white bathrooms, clean sheets and bedding.
The aircon is also very quiet and fuss-free which is a huge plus for me being a sensitive sleeper and I had a great 2 nights stay at the Seoul Palace! will definately be back next time.
For breakfast, if you don't want to spend up big at the restuarant, simply walk around the block to 'seo rae village' for cute cafes, bakeries and restaurants- so charming and great shopping!
Cons are that there is no wi-fi in rooms (without payment) and business centre is also charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a Non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
24
23
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was my 2nd stay at the property. This time it was on the executive floor. One would have expected better service here but it was not to be. We arrived early in the morning (9+) and was told no rooms was ready until 2pm. And yes, they can't try as all the rooms were full. We opted to go for breakfast to kill some time. But less than an hour later, decided to head back to the hotel to pay for the early check-in as the wait was simply too long and some work could be done instead.

When we told the front office (at the lobby) of our intention to pay for the extra charge, they helped us call the executive floor staff to check. Immediately, we were told to go up. Now this was interesting, just an hour ago, we were told that all rooms were full till 2pm and now all of a sudden, when we told them we would be paying, rooms were immediately available. If it was so, that we had to pay for the extra charge we would have been okayed to do so, but such an option was not made to us till we asked when we first approached the staff at the executive floor.

The breakfast at the executive floor was monotonous. It was the same offerings throughout the several days we stayed there. The chef might want to consider changing some of the items to add variety, though the taste was pleasant.

Interestingly, we felt that the concierge and the common front reception offered better service than the staff at the executive floor recep. One wonders why when the executive floor charged more and yet lacked the service level. The hotel management might want to review this area to up their service. This makes us wonder should we be back at the hotel the next time, we ought to stay at the normal floors instead. In fact, the breakfast at the cafe offered greater variety. It was also surprising to learn that one can't dine at the cafe for breakfast but if like to, would need to pay a difference.

But I must compliment the service rendered at the concierge. Not only do they speak rather good English, they are also friendlier, always with a smile. That makes me wonder why a difference in service standard despite being the same hotel but in different department. One could tell that the concierge is always busy, with so many requests from all the guests and yet they have never failed to delight us, whatever our requests.

And yes about the room. The chambermaids are wonderful, despite their lack of English, they never fail to smile and accede to our requests. But the layout of the bathroom is much to be desired. Water simply flows to the floor no matter how careful you bathe. Hence, it has made bathing not a very pleasant experience and I pity he chambermaids who have to continuously clean up the water. Not an easy task with so many rooms in the hotel. I wonder if the management can look into this area and do something about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Rooms were clean but not spacious; just enough space to walk around the bed right beside the lavatory. May ask for larger and more brighter rooms though.
Small free lobby; may use other more spacious lobbies only if order beverages!!!
The dark brown color of the hotel lobby is too boring and heavy.

Might be good for business trips but definitely not suited to families on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a large and bright room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really like the modern decorated room with slack finishing. The small room which was clean and comfortable but with adequate space for two person. However, this is not a room for family trip. I was staying with my brother and the moment i stepped into the room, I was very disappointed to see that the bathroom was all cladded with glass walls. There was a blind to cover the windows but a portion of it was still left opened. This has caused much inconvenience between my brother and I as we had to take turns to chill out at the lobby just so the other party can bathe. The room was also dimly lit. Having said that, this is still a very nicely designed boutique hotel for couples.

Room Tip: They might have family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed 2 days at the hotel. Room is small but is enough for a small family stay. I suppose all rooms are with a double & single bed if you request for twin bed room. Breakfast buffet selection can be improve. Overall a pleasant stay. Location is not accessible to subway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in seoul palace, is quite impressive, although, using a very dense schedule trip. The rooms are very clean, and modern design. Only a few tiles in the bathroom there is a crack. And overall everything is ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Seoul Palace Hotel is a modern, well-equipped hotel in a convenient part of Seoul. The immediate neighborhood has some nice local restaurants and shops and there's a great city park just up the hill that connects to miles of walking trails. The facility itself is very clean and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The executive floors have some nice additional amenities, like breakfast, afternoon snacks, a meeting room, etc. but they are overly strict about the RULES and hours of operation. The room was adequate, with a decent desk and comfortable bed. The bathroom had all you could hope for and was very clean. One needs a GPS or guide dog to find the gym, but once you there, it is fairly well equipped with treadmills, weights and a few other machines. The room was a little on the expensive side, but otherwise it was a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Hotel
Imperial Palace Hotel
#66 of 418 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Gangnam Artnouveau City II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
BEST WESTERN Premier Gangnam
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
#18 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Seoul

Address: 160, Sapyeong-daero, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-804, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 418 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Seoul is a 5-minute walk from Exit No.5 .subway line 3, 7, 9 Express Bus Terminal Station. It features a fitness club, sauna and 4 dining options.Central City Shopping Mall is a 5-minute walk from The Palace Seoul while a 5-minute journey on foot brings guests to Seorae Village. Recreation options at Banpo section of Han River Park are just a 3-minute car journey away. Rooms come with both air-conditioning and heating facilities. Each room has internet access, LCD cable TV, a minibar, a Safety box, a Bathtub and a Bidet. Bathrobe and slippers are provided. The Palace Seoul has a business centre for guests to work in. Parking is available on site. The hotel also provides laundry and dry cleaning services.The Stone Plate serves Korean and international cuisine. Chinese menu can be found at Suh Goong Restaurant, Japanese dishes are available at Ta bong Restaurant and drinks are served at Two Tone Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Palace Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.