We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIRD CLASS CATEGORY HOTEL IN NEW TOWN SEOUL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeongdong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yeongdong Hotel to your Saves list
Yeongdong Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144, Dosan-Daero, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-010, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 47 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“THIRD CLASS CATEGORY HOTEL IN NEW TOWN SEOUL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel is well located on the main street of Nonhyun-Dong. Near restaurants, cafes and acros the street there are nice boutiques and cafes.
The hotel itself is basic, good for business people, tourists and shoppers.
Room is quiet big for 2 people.

Room Tip: Upper floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
1
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My family recently stayed at the Young Dong Hotel in Shinsa-dong for one night. The location was the main draw, as we were attending a wedding in the area.

We had 3 rooms for our party (2 Western style rooms and 1 Korean style) and overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. It was clean, well located (close to the subway) and very reasonably priced.

This hotel is by no means a 5-star, but for the price we paid, it was well worth the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The room is tiny by asian standard. More like the one you find in Europe. Breakfast is very limited in choice. Staff is not very helpful and lousy in English. Can't even communicate efficiently. Wired internet is complimentary but the wifi is intermittent.

Only plus point is location which is very close to metro station and with lots of eateries around.

Will not recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Höhenkirchen-Siegertsbrunn, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I arrived late, no help with the luggage. Check-in efficient.

The room I had on the 11th floor was clean and relatively large and clean. Beds are to my taste too hard. Breakfast is nothing exciting, but you will find something to eat. Coffee is not good, too watery.

Pros
Location, with subway and lots of bars and restaurants close by
High speed internet for free

Negative
Lobby bar, very expensive
Noise from the main street

If you only sleep there, then it is OK. If you want more then go somewhere else

Room Tip: Try not to get one facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

OK, if you like staying in the Hilton in Sydney, Australia - maybe this isn't the place for you. I was on business and the hotel is fine! Great rates, food to be expected in Asia. I love Korean food, I don't know why the restaurant serves bad Italian instead??

The rooms are like any standard hotel in Asia, similar to Japan. Small, a little cosy, with funny wallpaper. I like it though, it's easy and cheap.

Location is perfect for me, the office is just across the road. Great shopping in Apguijong, and amazing food. My faviourite place is down the street that is across the road. It is called "Grande' - amazing food, amazing wine, amazing staff. The street I am talking about is called 'carosu' - it has really great food all over it.

I like Young Dong, the staff are very friendly and the hotel serves its purpose. Free internet is always a +, which it has. Subway stop at the end of the street.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

A weird and gloomy place. For $130 per night you get settings of a dormitory, a tiny room, poor breakfast, and shockingly unfriedly staff! The good points are location - 3 min walk to Sinsa metro station, free cable internet in the rooms and a street full of restaraunts of all cuisins of the world nearby

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Never will I ever go near this hell hole again. There was nothing good about anything and the breakfast was scary looking.

The room was extremely small and since other traveller's skin remains were stuck in my throat I was up all night.

Never go there.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeongdong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeongdong Hotel

Address: 144, Dosan-Daero, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-010, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeongdong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yeongdong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Young Dong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeongdong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.