We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before booking..........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Seoul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Seoul Hotel to your Saves list
Ramada Seoul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-090, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 284 Reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Think twice before booking..........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently stayed for 3 nights on a Priceline deal. I am more trhan happy that I got a good rate as I would have been very unhappy to pay the normal rate based on my experience there.

I arrived at the hotel at around 3.30pm and was asked to wait a bit longer to ensure that i had a "quiet room" as I had requested. The "quiet room" faced directly to the main road and a very loud construction site! I was moved to another floor facing the back of the hotel facing a park which was great, nice and quite. However, next morning, at around 8am i coudl heasr loud drilling coming from a floor above INSIDE the hotel. I called reception who informed me that there was indeed some work going on in the rooms 4 floors above me! So i coudl only imagine how noisy the rooms above must have been. I was then asked if i would like to move room again. Unbelieveably they wanted me to move to a room facing the construction site again! (Outside the hotel they are building a new metro line). Eventually i got a new room that was quiet.

Although rteh room was quiet, it was very hot and teh air con woudl not go below 24.5 c, which for me is too warm to be comfortable. When i enquired, I was told that it was no longer the hot season in Korea, and that the air con did not drop below a certain temperature now! I asked for a fan, and they sent me a small one and informed me that i was lucky as it was the only one in the whole hotel! Thsi did make teh room comfortable though, so i was pleased.

The room itself was adequate , although the carpets, furniture etc looked quite tired and worn. They do need updating. The towels in the bathroom also seemed cheap and thin. Room service prices were just rediculous, but there is a mini mart just opposite the main entrance.

There is a metro station about 10 minutes walk away. They do provide a shuttle i think, but upon enquiring about timetables, I was told that it was being used only for a wedding party that day.

The staff were on the whole were very friendly, although some were professional but not so approachable. The doormen were all very pleasant. There is a bus stop for the airport just outside the hotel, which is very convenient.

Based on my own personal experience, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you wish to avoid construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chan K, Front Office Manager at Ramada Seoul Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Honored guests, thank you live in our hotel, we are very sorry to hear that our service cannot make you feel satisfied, we have been committed to the employee training plan, to provide better service to the guests. We sincerely hope you during your stay relax, coruscate vitality. Sincerely look forward to in you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    106
    98
    30
    23
See reviews for
35
23
34
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel twice and still admired to be their guest again and again.
Located in centrally location of CBD for both business and leisure. Within a few minute walk to the nearest station of green line which connect to other line for exploring Seoul. A few station to Lotte World where you can see your childhood dream. Shopping paradise in Myeongdong and Dongdaemun are reachable within a few connected. Staff were gorgeous and professional in their Ramada way. Do not miss the Men's spa where you release a long pressure day within a minute.

Room Tip: Executive floor and breakfast must be in your checklist
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was my second time for staying in this hotel. First time in 2009, I was there with a tour group and did not experience much for their facilities provided due to limited time from the tight itinerary. Recently in May 2012, I made my personal trip again and booked with this hotel. Hotel location is a walking distance to the nearest subway station 'Seolleung 220'. This green line was very useful for my trip around Seoul. Local foods are available next to the hotel along the way to and from subway station. COEX was walking distance for the sunny day during spring.
Hotel facilities were comfort for a solo or couple traveler's need. Men Spa and Sauna was awesome for a good relaxation after a long walk and long day. Staffs were nice, friendly and helpful with their hospitality and service mind.

Room Tip: For WiFi, it was only available at the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 8-12 January 2012 (winter). The breakfast is adequate even-though not too much varieties.

Many food outlets nearby by walk.

Subway station in 10 min walk.

KAL airport bus is available.

Most of the staff were quite nice.

Room Tip: Choose high floor and facing a big public park/garden behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I tried this hotel out because it it is located very close to where I do business in Seoul (convenient location near Seolleung Station), and because the room rates were quite reasonable for a business class hotel. Overall, the experience was fine. The rooms are about what you would expect from a Westernized hotel in Asia - rooms slightly on the small side but not too cramped. I booked a room on the executive floor which, interestingly enough included a desktop PC. I'm not exactly sure what a business traveler would use it for since the vast majority of us travel with laptops these days, but still it's the first hotel I ever recall staying in that actually had a PC in the room. If you book an executive floor room you get access to the lounge. It's nothing spectacular, but it is a nice place to relax and maybe get some work done in the evening hours while enjoying some complimentary snacks and beverages.

This hotel has fairly limited amenities compared to some of the bigger Seoul hotels. There is a restaurant on the main floor that serves primarily Korean food. I had dinner there on my first night in town and lunch there another day and it was quite reasonable, and the food was pretty good. There is a Korean style sauna on premises which is a nice amenity (and complementary if you book an executive room). You won't find shopping or multiple restaurant choices here like you will in some of the bigger hotels.

There were a couple of negatives during my stay which hopefully were just anomalies. First of all, when I entered my room for the first time there were a couple of HUGE cockroaches hanging out in the bathroom, which of course is not something you want to see when you just got off a long overseas flight. I don't hold that against the hotel unless it's a frequent occurrence - it can happen to the best of hotels anywhere in the world. Second, I came back to the hotel after dinner one evening and there was a police raid of some sort going on in the hotel, with numerous Korean being lead out of the lobby in handcuffs. I have no idea what that was all about and had no desire to find out. Again, probably nothing you can fault the hotel for - just one of those things that can happen anywhere.

Overall, the Ramada Seoul is a fine place to stay and I would recommend it. I normally stay at another hotel when I visit Seoul on business, but it is considerably more expensive than the Ramada. I recommend this place particularly for anybody on a tighter budget.

Room Tip: Get the executive room. It's worth the small additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had a 3 day stay in Ramada Hotel Seoul from May 19 to 22. nice hotel with cozy buffet breakfast though not much variety on their food selection. Staff are very helpful. It's 15-20 mins taxi ride going to & from Doota Mall which opens from 7pm til 5am; taxi fare is aroung 10,000 won only.

There's no nearby market; location quiet which is very good after a very tiring place.

Bring your own toothbrush, toothpaste, Shampoo & soap.

Room Tip: 6th floor have the most spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is easy to get to using the KAL bus from Incheon. Once there, the underground station is about a 10 minute walk from the location. OK in spring/summer but may not be fun in the rain or extreme cold. Hotel facilities are pretty good and especially the gym is huge by comparison with most hotels. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and most speak good English. They have a bar and restaurant on the ground floor. Going for a beer we were not allowed to sit at the bar (we werre the only 2 people in the place) but had to go and sit in the restaurant/lounge instead. Not a big deal at all - but strange! We did not try the restaurant as there are so many good restaurants in Seoul!

Room Tip: They have roadworks out front for a new subway line, so on this occasion a room at the back would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Seoul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Seoul Hotel

Address: 410, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-090, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#65 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Seoul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Samseong-dong, in the middle of Gangnam's lively business and entertainment area, Ramada Seoul Hotel has what it takes to make an enjoyable stay.This is a perfect stay for the business traveler because it is in very close proximity to the Korea World Trade Center and the COEX Convention Center(1 mile, approx. 3~5mins driving), which are both a frequent destination necessity for business travelers in the town.Also, It is 18 miles from Gimpo Airport(approx. 40mins driving depends on the traffic) and 40 miles from Incheon Airport(approx. 60mins driving depends on the traffic).There are two subway stations around the hotel: Seonjeongneung Bundang-line(Yellow) station at 1 minute walking distance and Seolleung line-2(Green) station at 10mins walking distance. Also, airport shuttle bus stop is located at right in front of the hotel.Free-wifi is available through all the rooms and lobby. The rooms feature modern interiors and furnishings, and include both heating and air-conditioning facilities. Each room comes with a minibar, tea/coffee-making facilities and a flat-screen TV with cable channels.The hotel’s facilities include a 24-hour men-only spa, indoor golf range and a well-equipped fitness center, and free parking.Cafe Stasio serves Korean and Western dishes including a breakfast buffet. A variety of beverages can be enjoyed at the lobby’s lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Seoul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Seoul
Seoul Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Seoul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.