We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Clean rooms. Could be much better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul to your Saves list
Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Sejong-daero , Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea (Myeongdong / Namdaemun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location. Clean rooms. Could be much better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile


Spent almost a week in Seoul staying at this hotel. The location, as many people have mentioned it, is top notch. Airport limousine bus stops right in front, making it super convenient for hotel guests.

I stayed alone, the room was clean and big enough for me - no complaints at all. However I would definitely get a larger room if I was traveling with another person.

Hotel food wise, I didn't try, so I can't make any comment. But there was plenty of choices within the Namdaemun area.

One thing I wish the hotel could improve and look into having self-service laundry facilities. It'd make it so much convenient for hotel guests. Other same "star rated" like Fraser Place Central Seoul has self-service laundry facilities, as well as Mercure Ambassador Gangnam and Ibis Myeongdong. I am heading to Seoul again for 11 days later this year, I hope the guest laundry facilities will be set up, this would give me another good reason to stay at Fraser Place Namdaemun again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    117
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
62
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located in downtown seoul. Cab rides to most places we want to go for sightseeing and shopping are less than KRW 6k . The metro station are nearby as well. Rooms are spacious and clean with modern amenities. The premier room sleeps comfortably for 4 pax. The space and kitchen are useful for family. Service is excellent and prompt. The sauna is a great place to unwind after a long day. Dont agree about the negative comments posted about the breakfast. I thought it was satisfactory. Always carry a hotel card to show the cab drivers. Its impossible to communicate in english at times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights during a break in Seoul between two weeks business. Nicely located hotel close to Namdaemun market and Seoul mainline station - plenty of restaurants and bars about too.
The rooms in the hotel were really clean, well appointed and very comfortable with great views over the city especially at night. The gym and the rooftop bar were good. Food in the hotel was really good albeit the usual high cost so not great value for money.
The service was a little disappointing - certainly very polite staff but for a hotel where a good half of the guests spoke English as there first language, there grasp of English was poor. I had a mix-up of my bill due to this and mis-understandings when trying to order food or drinks. Whilst all was sorted in-the-end a little poor and from speaking with other guests, not an isolated problem. Despite that, overall a nice stay and would be happy to go back!

Room Tip: Try and get one of the top floor rooms - great views out over Seoul
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently stayed there for 9 nights. Location is good and layout is spacious as we stayed in a Premier Room. The shower cubicle has a design defect where the water flow out each time you shower. We had to ask for extra floor mat everyday to keep the bathroom floor dry. We also encounter air-cond problems for 3 consecutive night. Engineering came and fix the problem temporarily. It was until the third night where I made a major complain that they came and change the entire console. It was 4 am in the morning !! There were no recovery done at all.

The housekeeping services was poor there were 3 of us ( we paid for the additional person) but we only got 2 sets towels on the first few days. Finally, after several reminders they got it right. Sheets were only changed once for the whole 9 nights. The wooden flooring were not wiped and vacuum properly. It was a little sticky and dusty. When we complain to the maid, she gave us bedroom slippers instead.

Breakfast was average, the same food almost everyday. There were some days the we did not bother going down at all.

The reception staff and bellman was great ! We receive a lot of recommendation and assistance from them.

Overall, the stay was decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
프레이저스, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your visit to the Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul.

We truly appreciate your time to review your experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are afraid to read that you could not meet your satisfaction with our Housekeeping Departments and Engineering Departments. I will share your comments with our all concerned Departments and we will train all staff and it will not happen again neither you nor anyone in the residence guest. Our associates at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul continually strive to improve our services and your warm words are the best motivation to do so in the future as well.

I extend our best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Fraser Place Namdaemun within the near future.


Best Regards,

Jimmy Choi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel in downtown Seoul. The room is small but it is new, clean and comfortable. Sauna is great. The airport limousine bus stops in front of the hotel. Breakfast is poor and they would charge extra for a decent coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location, excellent room (although a little small), clean, neat, helpful English speaking staff and general good feeling when staying there.

You can find deals offering also breakfast and dinner for a small additional fee. You should know that the breakfast is nothing special - a normal continental breakfast with some Korean elements, and dinner is one of two options - eastern or western. That's the only problem we had there. We asked for the western, that is a steak dinner, and appearantly its one steak for two people, something we were not aware of and the restaurant staff wasn't willing to serve another steak without additional fee. Was disappointing, but didn't really ruin the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked the most basic room with a deal that included breakfast and dinner for around 15 dollars more per day ( for two people). The rooms were very modern ( to our liking), clean and spacious with a living room area, nice yo relax with a coffee after walking all day around Seoul. Access to and from Airport is excellent using bus limousine and stoping at Nandaemun market stop. Location is perfect to visit not only the commercial area but also the main historical sites in Seoul.

Breakfast is the only thing that is pretty average, but it was complimentary. Dinner package included in the deal was surprisingly good.

Although not all staff was fluent in English, in general we had no issues with directions and they provided a free and very helpful Seoul guide booklet that we used during our 3 days visit to the city.

I would go back to this hotel if I was visiting Seoul again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul

Address: 58 Sejong-daero , Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.