We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe Double Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul to your Saves list
Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Sejong-daero , Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Deluxe Double Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We took the train to Seoul Station as directed by the airport information counter instead of City Hall. Took the long walk to Fraser Place Central instead. As no one on the streets know Fraser Place Namdaemun. Luckily the Hotel staffs at Central make some special arrangement to sent us to Fraser Place Namdaemun on the 14th Nov 2013. We would like to thank the staffs for the hospitality & service.

Booked on Deluxe Double room was a right choice instead of Superior room. A living room to house my guests & we have plenty of space to open two luggage. Next time I will upgrade to a bigger room when my next visit.

Room Tip: Within your budget & extra living room space & a good view, choose deluxe double room. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear. Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable.
We will continue to strive to provide our guest with excellent service.

If travel brings you back to Seoul, we hope that you will select our hotel once again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    88
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
42
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

1. Location: Pretty central. About 10 minutes' walk to Myeongdong shopping area, and to City Hall metro station. Getting there after taking the direct train from the airport to Seoul Station was relatively easy too, about 15 - 20 minutes. The place is next to an area bustling with eateries (some 24 hours) and convenience stores.

2. Room: Roomy, with comforting aircon and heater (depending on the season). Spacious toilets, with bidets and warm toilet seats (appreciated as I was there in early winter). Cable TV with good many international channels. Bed was a bit too soft for my liking; but comfortable nonetheless. Awesome views from rooms!

3. Amenities: Basic with 16th-floor gym, and sauna. Lots of information on touring Seoul in the form of printouts and printed material in room, and electronic guides in lobby. Free wifi ... But pretty poor reception in the room I had.

4. Staff: Nice, no complaints here at all. Heard them helping out other guests / tourists who needed help on where to go. So, it seems like they do definitely try their best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear. Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We will continually strive to give our guest enjoyable experience.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by my friend. I stayed for 3 nights. Very near namdaemun shopping area in Seoul and within walking distance to City Hall station exit 6. The hotel is very new, so taxi driver had a hard time finding the hotel. As it was a Sunday and most of the pharmacies were closed and so happen that we needed medication badly. The front desk service staff were very helpful that they offered to check for the nearby drug store. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear. Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the taxi. We will continue to strive to provide our guest with excellent service.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

First, I am a fan of Fraser group as I liked its modern deco and "service apartment cum hotel" set up. For FP Namdaemun, the first thing I realised was that there is no self-service washing machine available. I was expecting this and was hugely disappointed.
The good:
- location, with walking distance to almost everywhere...if you are up to it.
- there are small cafes, bakery, convenience shops just around the corner
- the Premium room size was good for the family with 2 TV set as the rooms can be separated
- only the Premium room comes with cooking facilities, big fridge and freezer, rice cooker etc.
- The bed was the most comfortable in the 3 hotels we stayed in Korea
- Floor uses laminated wood which is heated...so it feels clean
- The AC/heater can be controlled and this is a plus, it will be good if there is translation (or the system may be spoilt with guest having to press and check out every button and function)
- great team of frontline staff who speaks good English. Especially Ted, who impressed us as being really helpful, personable and always smilling.

The bad:
- No washing machine
- Horrible smelling shampoo (says lavender but smells like old haircream)...they have to do something about this.
- I could only use the soap, but for the 3 nights stay, the house keeping only provided 1 set
- The shower door could not be closed properly and the water just seeps out and wet the floor... this irritates me to no end...especially when the weather is cold.

Note:
We are a family with 2 kids and booked Premium Queen with extra bed. We changed to a Premium Twin, as we were told its 2 double beds... and realised that Twin was 2 single sized beds. The frontdesk staff did not advise that the extra bed is actually using the sofa bed, which was able to sleep 2. In anycase, the sofa bed was hard and uneven. There was no room for additional beds if you do not want to use the sofa bed.
- Seoul's traffic jam is really quite terrible (comparable to Bangkok). The hotel distance may be near to attractions but the taxi fare can be high if you are stuck in the jam around this area, especially high in a Premium cab...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear. Guest

Thank you for your detailed review. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We will definitely look into improving the “bad” that you have mentioned. Then, our valuable guest will have a more comfortable stay with us. We will work towards providing our guest with a comfortable and memorable stay with.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

5 minutes walk to subway city hall station, 10 minutes walk to Myeoung dong and 15 minutes cab to all the tourists attractions. I booked the deluxe suite for 2 person which was pretty decent. Superb service, was really impressed by Joy, who works at the front desk. Before arriving, I emailed them and ask if they have an DVD player in the room and they said yes but they didn't have it when i arrived. So, I showed joy the email and he actually asked someone from fraser central to bring over a dvd player so that we could have it the next day and we did. It was very impressive and we had a great stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: 5 minutes walk to subway city hall station, 10 minutes walk to myeoung dong and 15 minutes cab to al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear. Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our team members, as our guests good comments are the greatest encouragement and motivation. Also, including myself. We will continue to strive to provide our guest with excellent service.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at Fraser place for a weekend getaway. So my review is focussing on tourist use. The hotel is very well positioned to all major sights. We never spend more than 10USD for a cab to any place. Very well equipped rooms. We got a spectacular view on the Namdemun gate without asking. Ask for a room facing the gate. Very friendly and helpful front desk. Our deal was about 130$ + tax. Downside: Avoid the breakfast. Not worth 16$. Soggy scrambled eggs, some cereal, some toast, etc. Coffee shops are in walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 프론트 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear. Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. Regarding the breakfast we will surely pass on your feedback to our Food & Beverage team to seek ways of further improvement. We will continually work towards providing better service to our guest.

We hope to welcome you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Overall my stay in this apartment is Good and will coming back again!

Location: The hotel is located at the historical Namdaemun area with working distance (10mins) to Myeong-dong, City Hall and Namdaemun Market. The subway station ( City Hall stn) less than 5 mins aways from the hotel entrance. Many eateries are around the hotel so finding food is not an issue at all. Departmental stores are nearby.
It will be good if the airport limousine bus can stop in front of the hotel. Currently you have to walk on the uneven pavement with heavy luggage to reach the hotel.
Many taxi drivers not very sure where is this hotel located even I showed the driver the hotel card.

Room: We stayed 6 nights at Premier room, the room is fully furnished separated living room, kitchen and bedroom. Very spacious and tastefully decorated, clean and well maintained.

Staff and Service: The concierge is very helpful with getting the taxi and show us the directions.
The housekeeping service is perfect, our room is well kept and clean during our stay!
For front desk staff, I would suggest the management should send them for some customer service course to provide better customer service for hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 프론트 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear. Ms. Irene

Thank you for staying at the Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind feedback. We will definitely look into improving our front desk service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul

Address: 58 Sejong-daero , Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.