We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ShinShin Hotel

Save Saved
You added ShinShin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ShinShin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17-5, Namdaemun-ro 5-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great little hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Only stayed one night...but really enjoyed this hotel....the rooms are small, but very comfortable...the staff is very friendly and upgraded my room without me asking...very good price

Lots of restaurants nearby....easy access to airport bus...overall, very happy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise and improvement points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
40
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Shinshin Hotel for our trip to Seoul. The staff speaks English and has been very friendly, helpful and accommodating. As it was our first time in South Korea and we are not familiar with the language and the area, so the help and information we received has been most valuable to us. We stayed in the superior room, it was not that spacious, but the room was modern and pleasant. Basic amenities are provided and the rooms are clean. Two bottles of water are provided and are replenished everyday. Location wise, it was pretty convenient, it's not at the centre, but it's about 10 minutes walk to namdaemun market and to the centre of myeongdong. I'm not aware of any swimming pool or fitness facilities at the hotel, but we weren't looking to use one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise and improvement points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here 3 days in Oct prior to our son's wedding in Chuncheong. Hotel is very central and convenient to everything - City Hall subway station, Myeong-Dong, Numdaemun market and more are all within walking distance. Hotel is boutique style and rooms are very clean. All staff were very friendly and polite. What stood out for me was the superb customer service provided by Hasmin Hwang from check-in right up to helping with our luggage and walking us out to the taxi to say our farewells after check-out, nothing was too much trouble.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone visiting Seoul.
Ken Wa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise and improvement points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel name is Shinshin Hotel Myeongdong in TripAdvisor, but it wasn't in the Myeongdong area, but City Hall area. Nevertheless, City Hall metro station is easily accessible with about 5 mins walk.

The hotel consists of 2 blocks and both blocks are not connected. The reception counter is at the basement of one of the blocks, and the room that I was given is in the next block. It will be better to have the 2 blocks connected.

Counter staff are friendly. When we checked in, one of the staff helped to take one of our luggage to the block that I stayed.

Room is comfy with huge comfy bed. The basin area gives little space to put our stuff, there isn't space to put the soap. All toilet amenities given by hotel are place under the basin. Toilet door is a sliding door with mirror on both sides of the door. When using the toilet with the door closed, I can see fingerprints on the mirror, which make me feel grossed. The cleaner has obviously forgotten to clean it. This can be improved.

It will be better to have a wider breakfast variety, and the food to be placed somewhere more convenient to take. Short of staff during breakfast hour. And not much food left for late breakfast eaters.

Room Tip: The bathing area in the Superior room consists a bathtub with shower with open concept. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise and improvement points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel is new, staffs are very helpful but english can be better.
Location is good and you can walk to subway in 5-7 minutes.
Bed mattress are too soft and I have bed pain in first 2 nights.
The LED light from the air conditioner is well about your head so it is like a torch at night.
(good thing is they later covered it with a opaque adhesive tag to cover the led light)
Another problem of the air conditioner is that it will automatically OFF when the desired temperature is reached , it makes the room very stuffy (while normal airconditioner will only off the compressor only but not the fan part of the air conditioner)
When you ask for help by telephone the front desk they will help and give you the thing you need in 5 minutes, which is very good.
Overall the software (the staffs ) are good and helpful, but the hardware is just too new and got to be better.

Room Tip: Room in new tower is bigger but cannot open window as he noise from the street will enter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise and improvement points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my partner in October. My parents stayed in the here at the same time as well.

We all really enjoyed our stay here. The location is extremely convenient. Right around the corner from an airport bus stop, subway station and a food alley. It's also a quick walk to the Myeong-dong shopping area. Recently renovated, Shinshin has a minimal, modern feel and is kept very clean.

Customer service is excellent - Hasmin Hwang took care of us and was a pleasure to deal with.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Appreciation for your detail comments on our hotel.

We are extremely happy to know that you found that our dedicated associates especially our housekeepers provided you with a 'remarkable' service.

We will continually work towards providing most exceptional Hotel ShinShin's experiences to all our guests.

Thank you once again, and we hope to have you back as our guest in the future!

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is my 3rd stay with ShinShin - A boutique hotel with 75 rooms.

They are opened in April 2013 and I stayed with them when they started.
6 months down the road and they have almost full occupancy everyday for October. I'm really happy that there're many others who like this hotel as much as I do!

The staff here speaks English, Japanese and Korean.
And I'm very grateful that hotel provide such a huge map for in-house guest to show what's nearby and information about airport limousine bus (Just a 2 mins walk from the Namdaemum stop where you can wait for the airport limousine buses - Bus 6015 brings you straight to Incheon & 6001 brings you to Gimpo)

The room is clean and comes with free toiletries (shower foam, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush & paste). Bathrobe & slippers are provided. Size of the room is just right for me.

I really like the bed, it's very comfortable. Free wifi is provided as well.

It's just a short 5 mins walk away from Namdaemun market and 8 mins to Myeongdong street.

I will definitely stay at ShinShin again.

For the location, the bed and the excellent service from the staff!

Room Tip: Superior room comes with a small bathtub but facing construction site of new hotel (but I was affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at ShinShin Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments on TripAdvisor, which is most appreciated.

We are extremely happy to know that you found that our dedicated associates provided you with a 'remarkable' service.

We will continually work towards providing most exceptional Hotel ShinShin's experiences to all our guests.

Thank you once again, and we hope to have you back as our guest in the future!

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ShinShin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShinShin Hotel

Address: 17-5, Namdaemun-ro 5-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ShinShin Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHINSHIN is an original Korean brand faithful to the basics needs of customers, since its establishment in 1964, the hotel has been making relentless efforts to provide its guests with a new experience and ultimate convenience.In April 2013, Hotel Shinshin is opening up a new chapter of its history, living up to its name Shinshin (新新-meaning ‘brand new’). Based on the concept of contemporary modern design, the hotel provides its guests with ultimate convenience and visual interests as well as comfort and coziness during their stay.Hotel Shinshin is located near the City Hall, Myung-dong, Jongro and Doksu Palace-the heart of downtown Seoul, perfect place for business, shopping and tourism. Moreover, being located next to Bank of Korea and Bank of Korea Money Museum, the hotel provided its guests with an ideal setting to relax and wind down after a busy day or a night out in the city. The hotel’s 75 basic, but trendy comfortable guest rooms will fulfill the needs of tourist and business travels and offer impeccable personalized service as well. The hotel will also provide its guest with excellent cuisine at reasonable prices. Hotel Shinshin will bring a breath of fresh air into the city of Seoul with its unique, elaborated service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your ShinShin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ShinShin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.