We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel to your Saves list
Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Yanghwa-ro, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-893, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Pori, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 4 nights with friends. Had twin room.
The location was great and so was everything else, in my opinion.
The hotel is not too expensive.
The only 2 things that I found that were not so great, was the pillows and there was no shower curtain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, Director of Sales at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
2013.8.6

Dear BeenThereDoneThat78

Greetings from Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Thank you for giving your considered feedback on TripAdvisor. and we are sorry for late response. To rearch our guest's expectation we do all our best and trying to figure out what our guests need.

All our Staff will continually strive towards providing most warm and professional service to all our guests, and delivering a memorable experience.

We hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future when we will do our most to restore your faith in Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Sincerely
James.Sung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
18
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

New Hotel, close to subway station. It is mentioned that they have concierge, but I didn’t see any concierges helping to carry my luggage when check in and check out. There is no room directory in the room, remote TV is in Hangul letters without explanation in English. Breakfast menu is always same every day.
Automatic door on 1st Floor didn’t respond quickly when I stepped close to it, made me hit the door and caused blood in my lip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, 세일즈 디렉터 at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Suenaradi

Greetings from Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Thank you for giving your considered feedback on TripAdvisor. To rearch our guest's expectation we do all our best and trying to figure out what our guests need.

Firstly, I apologise your inconvenience during your stay. We wiil find ways of further improvement in hotel areas you mentioned; concieger service, technical things.. and will put more effort to improve service quality.

We hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future when we will do our ulmost to restore your faith in Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Sincerely
James.Sung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with a friend. I had the twin room with a double and a single bed.
I am happy with my stay. The hotel is new and presents very well. Location is superb.
To me, Love Hotel or not, this ticked almost all boxes.
Only 2 things I wasn't expecting is 1) lack of a wardrobe/closeth - didn't know where to hang my jacket & shirts 2) the very dim light in the bathroom is ok but sometimes a brighter light (by the mirror) can be useful ! for shaving, etc.
These 2 are minor problems though. Overall I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, 세일즈 디렉터 at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
2013.05.23
Dear UltimateDancer
Thank you for staying with us at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We have well noted all your precious comments, and will find ways of further improvement in all areas, to exceed all our geusts expectations.
also we already prepared to replenish wardrobe and facility supplies for the guest
and we are that will make up for everything.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you soon with a warm hearted service at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

sincerely
james.sung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night to see some music in the bustling area of Hongdae. To sum it up, this place is a very new, very nice "Love" hotel. The lobby is pretty standard. You don't realize it is a love style hotel until you get off the elavator and see the hall ways and room. Don't get me wrong, for $100 this place rocks. Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Nice bath soaps. Comfortable chairs in the room. The bed was kind of stiff for liking, but that's Korea. Very very new hotel. It seems like this place was just recently built. No complaints about the hotel at all. The staff at the front desk went wayyyyyyy out of his way to help me track down a local club. Even when I told him I would find it, he insisted that he will find it and bring me a map to my room.

The location is what makes this place great. A 5 minute walk from one of the most chaotic nightlife areas you will ever see. Great indie vibe in Hongdae. Everyone here is here to have fun and party. Tons of different places to eat, and most stay open till the early morning hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, 세일즈 디렉터 at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
2013.05.09
Dear headinthelion

I thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor_ shared with all our staff.
Hongdae is famous for being centre of Seoul's indie and undergrond arts scene. Especially, during the night, Hongdae comes alive. I hope you well saw and felt the Hongdae during your stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel location is very convenient for it. only 5 minutes you will experience Hongdae area at all.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, we look forward welcoming you in near future. please do visit us again in the near future, and we will ensure to take another great care of you.

Lastly our team and I will strive to provide the most exceptional experiences to all of our guests.

Best regards

James.Sung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Staying here for 4 nights, got the promotional price. Location wise is superb. Behind the hotel is hongdae area, lots of restaurants and shops and they open until morning which is great for us. The metro is just 5 minutes walk and the bust from and to the airport is just in front of the hotel. So convenient! Mini mart and bakery shop is just around the corner. The room is ok, spacious but the interior is a bit uncomfortable n(the chairs). The TV is superb! The bathroom is also ok however the bathtub and the shower is combined so you have to get in to the bathtub to get a shower which is fine for us but not so much if you bring your parents. And they don't have a place to hang your clothes. Internet is working fine and fast. Overall I think it's great. definitely would come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, 세일즈 디렉터 at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
2013.05.04

Dear lady_joanne85

Thank you for staying with us at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We have well noted all your precious comments, and will find ways of further improvement in all areas, to exceed all our geusts expectations.

Therefore, we’ll do all our best to improve hotel facilities and service as well, planned upgrade to the bath and wardrobe for our all guests.
Your comments will be kept in my mind at all times.

We are happy to learn that you will definitely consider staying with us again. We will ensure to continually provide most excellent service to all our all guests.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you soon with a warm hearted service at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.


Warm regards,

James.sung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we found hair in our bed, and not the kind that is on your head. not once, not twice, but in 6 different rooms. we got told after the first 2 rooms to wait and the front desk clerk will go and find one that is "better". Him and i took the elevator up to my floor i and i noticed that he had some of that lint tape with him as he went to go look at some rooms for us. well that right there was to far.

BAD'S

-The rooms have no place to hang your clothes.
-It has a double door in the front to block the sound from leaving the room (love motel style)
-Bed is super hard. no pillow top or any thing and the sheets are 150 count sand paper.
-Bathroom looks nice but smells like cocking, and made for easy clean up after a night of "fun"
-If you have room on the inside your widow is facing the hall ways from all the other floors. so you have to keep it closed unless you like every one seeing what you are doing in your room.
-It has the look of brand new hotel, but is a "love motel" from top to bottom.
- the parking elevator sounds can be heard in any room on the east side of the building. AKA the best side.

GOOD'S

-Free parking
-Great location, subway is less then a 5 min walk. Hongdae area is 5 min walk be hide the hotel.
-shopping is walking distance around the hotel
-Price..... i got mine for $70 USD total for a Thursday night.

If you are looking for a cheap place in a good location. this might be the spot. but if you look around a bit more you can find a few more places that are REAL Hotels for about $15 more. they did offer to give us a refund but we turned it down. either way i will never stay at this place again. the 3 hours we spent and the 4 different room changes was not worth the time and effort we lost in trying to find a room that was sprayed with air cleaner and remade the bed.

Room Tip: dont stay here! dirty rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, 세일즈 디렉터 at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
2013.04.29
Dear Heath S

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, and would sincerely like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment which you experienced during your stay Once again, please accept my most sincere apologies.

I would like to personally meet you in person and discuss your experience if this is convenient for you before your departure . Please kindly contact me directly, and I will to my utmost to rectify all the issues you have outlined, as well as restoring your faith in Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.
We truly apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused it

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and wish to continue serving you in the best way possible.
Again,Please accept my apology for this inconvenience.

Warm Regards,

James.Sung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 week.
Positives:
1] Location is perfect! Less than 10 mins walk to the station and another 1 to 2 mins to the station with elevator. Lot's of shopping and restaurant within 5 ot 8 mins walk. Next to this hotel is a restaurant that sells chicken soup...delicious!
2] Deluxe room is of good size, ample space for luggage and walk around. Comes with 1 double and 1 single bed, not bad.
3] Toilet is large, comes with bathtub with Jacuzzi and the toilet immenities like cleaner, toner, moisturiser.
4] New - all things are new - bed, fittings, etc.
5] Font Desk - Helpful, polite and speak good english.
Negatives:
1] Dusty - Maybe it's new, the rooms arent so dusty but the walkway to the lift, full of dust and the floor arent clean at the lift area.
2] Housekeeping - did not do a good job in the daily cleaning for 2 of the days. Did not replenish water and the floor in the room is not sweept at all..
3] Beds are hard, pillows are too bulky.
4] There are 2 entrance : B1 and Lobby. Lobby is the back entrance to the car park where front desk locate. BI is where the restaurant is. Since there is no need for access card in the lift, you'll feel a little unsafe, cos' people might just get in from B1 to your hotel floor. Suggest the hotel to look into this seriously, like having access card swipe in the lift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benikea_Marigold, 세일즈 디렉터 at Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear BeBe88

Greetings from Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback you have posted on TripAdvisor
We are extremely appreciative of your feedback which assists us greatly in improving our services.
However, I was disappointed to learn of the all the issues during your stay, in regards to the missing cleaning, pillows, and the access card in the lift.
Your experience certainly felt short of the high standards we strive to achieve.
We are change the lift sign for confused Guest ((B1->1(restaurant) 1->L (Lobby))

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future when we will do our utmost to restore your faith in Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel.

Should you travels bring you back to Seoul, please do not hesitate to contact directly me or Us and personally take care of your stay.

Best Regards
James.Sung
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel

Address: 112 Yanghwa-ro, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-893, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Marigold HotelBENIKEA Premier Marigold Hotel is located in the heart of Hongdae, a district bustling with young people and a hive of cultural activity, making it the perfect place to stay for both tourists and business travelers who want to experience the vibrant city to the full. Marigold is a business hotel that offers accommodation for a reasonable price. Take a break from your daily grind to recharge yourself at the hottest place in Mapo-gu. Every little detail of the hotel interior was selected with care to create a comfortable and trendy ambience. We are always ready to greet our customers and provide the best service and facilities.'Cafe & Restaurant'"The Kitchen Special One" is a memorable restaurant that satisfies all five senses, with seating for up to 300 guests. There is a selection of over 100 international dishes to choose from. Each dish is prepared by the best cooks in Korea using only the best, freshest ingredients.Everyone is invited to The Kitchen Special One.'Business Center'The business center comes with a luxurious conference room and secretarial and interpretation services. You can book flights, print out documents, and get other work done to meet your business requirements.- Business Hours: 24hours- Facilities: LCD Projector, electronic white board, internet, conference phone etc.- Business Services : Translation and interpretation services, binding service, typing services, printing business cards, secretarial duties, flight ticket booking service, printing and copying (color, black and white), internet connection, fax 'Happy Day Spa'The Happy Day Spa is the best place to unwind and relax. Located beneath the hotel lobby, the spa consists of three stories complete with sauna, themed dry saunas, massage beds, snack bar, gym, and PC cafe. The facilities are open 24 hours a day, every day of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.