We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price, remote control AC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Designers Samseong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Designers Samseong to your Saves list
Hotel The Designers Samseong
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   9, Teheran-ro 79-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-877, South Korea (Samseongdong / COEX)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 414 Hotels in Seoul
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good price, remote control AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It's close to COEX on a backstreet (with a great coffee shop and some great fried chicken shops along the walk). Google Streetview shows just a sign where the hotel is, but Domu or Naver (Korean search engines) have updated street views if you want to see the hotel's location before you go (search for 호텔 더 디자이너스 and it's the one south of the river in Gangnam). Everyone I interacted with on the staff was very polite, and the room was kept clean and stocked with free water and Pocari Sweat (an energy drink). Other than the free drinks, the fridge is generally empty, so you could keep whatever you wanted in there. Every room has its own theme, and some of them are kind of weird (I was here for work knew people in a few different rooms). Each room has its own wifi hotspot (so good coverage), big screen tv, laptop (if you don't have your own), 110 & 220 plugs, window that looks like a mirror, and a remote control that controls the lights and the heat/AC (this was a little hard to figure out at first when the room was warm). The hotel has a bicycle that you can rent for free, but I didn't take advantage of this.

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme, including a different toilet and shower setup. If you need to turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Google Translation
고객님, 소중한 리뷰 감사드립니다.
저희 호텔의 대한 상세한 리뷰 잘 읽었으며, 고객님의 의견 잘 숙지하도록 하겠습니다.
다음 한국 방문시에도, 호텔 더 디자이너스를 찾아주시면 좋겠습니다.
좋은 하루 되세요.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
4
17
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel was nice looking and in good location, friendly and relatively quiet (back) street, close to 7 eleven and tube station and restaurants/ cafés. Room not large but totally fine, bathroom door is only an opaque glass pane though, and the shower and toilet are quite compact. Also had a funky smell in the bathroom which was difficult to air out because of only one small window. Bed was comfy, design cool, and overall it was a good place to stay. Would probably try something new rather than return there though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Google Translation
고객님, 리뷰 잘 읽었습니다.
고객님의 의견 잘 수렴하여, 호텔에 반영하도록 하겠습니다.
앞으로도 늘 최상의 서비스를 제공하기 위해 노력하는 호텔 더 디자이너스가 되겠습니다.
감사합니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Just a 5 block walk from the COEX venue, the Designers offers a unique set of rooms, each with its own artful theme. My room - a single suite named "Self Expression" - was warm and bright with ample space. The technology was quite welcome - reliable free WiFi, remote control for all lights, climate control and the large flat screen TV, washlet toilet with heated seat. The tub was large and inviting, but I enjoyed the rain-like experience in the glass-walled shower (also providing a handheld wand). Among the hundreds of Korean channels, one could always find a selection of English movies, TV series and news broadcasts. The mini-fridge was stocked with free bottled water. Tea bags, tea set and water heater were also provided. The bed was large and comfortable (on the hard side which is fine for me) and the linen and towels were always clean and fresh.
A breakfast buffet is available for 15000 yon - a selection including coffee, juice bacon, eggs, sausage, vegetables, cereal and milk and bread. It was fine, but I generally had breakfast at one of many possibilities on the way to the COEX or at the COEX itself for less.
I arrived in Korea late evening and boarded a airport bus from Incheon that stopped at the COEX/Samsung metro station. I recommend printing a Google map to navigate your way to the hotel this first time. The staff is competent and friendly. The Designers is a good value for the area and I would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
Google Translation
고객님 저희 호텔을 이용해 주셔서 감사드립니다.
저희 호텔에서 숙박하시는 동안, 즐거운 휴식 되셨길 바랍니다.
성의 잇는 리뷰 감사드리며, 앞으로 고객님들께 최상의 서비스를 제공하기 위해 노력하는 호텔 더 디자이너스가 되겠습니다.
감사합니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Other that showing confusing directions on their website about how to get to the hotel (there are two Desidners in Seoul, far a part from each other) my stay at Hotel The Designers was more than good. Excellent the courtesy, availability and promptness of the personnel. The location is excellent to attend events at the 5 min walk massive conference centre coex, within the business district of Seoul, and close to metro stops for sightseeing. The design of the hotel and the room I've been is a bit pretentious, mostly rather nice, mostly elegant, all of good and high-tech quality. The glitches: the windows of the rooms are all tinted, you can get light in only by opening the room, which was bad to get over the jet-lag. A movement-induced light at the entrance of the room, which I never managed to set off. Other than that, very good quality overall, free water in the room, and excellent price (140kWon) considering the location and much better than neighbouring hotels. I would likely go back, if I had to come back to Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
Google Translation
고객님, 저희 호텔을 이용해 주셔서 감사드립니다.
성의 있는 리뷰 감사드리며, 이용하시는 동안 즐거운 시간 보내셨길 바랍니다.
항상 고객님들께 최상의 서비스를 제공하도록 노력하는 호텔 더 디자이너스가 되겠습니다.
앞으로 한국에 방문하실 때, 또 한번 저희 호텔을 찾아 주시기 바랍니다.
감사합니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cernusco, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I would say that the hotel is comparable to many European 4 stars hotels in big cities, I was here for a conference in coex. Most of the hotels recommended by the organizer asked for about 160euro a night, while this one was only 80.

The staff was extremely fluent in English, the rooms all new and nicely furnished. Also large enough.
Therefore I would really recommend it if you are looking for this quality range and you are asked a similar price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Google Translation
고객님의 소중한 리뷰 감사드리며,
저희 호텔에 숙박하시는 동안, 즐겁고 편안한 휴식이 되셨길 바랍니다.
항상 최상의 서비스를 제공하도록 노력하는 호텔 더 디자이너스가 되겠습니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

These guys tried to do something different. The room designs look good, but they are not practical. My room had an oversized bathtub in the corner, which took a lot of space. It made it difficult to walk around the room, let alone sit down at a desk. Closet too small. Maybe other rooms are better design.

I liked the lighting control. It took me forever to figure out that the AC controls were on the TV remote!

The location is hard to find, it is nestled among a row of "love motels", but the location is fine. There are a few coffes shops around and it is a 5-minute walt to KALT, where you can check in for your flight and take the non-stop bus to the airport.

I liked the staff. The lady who checked me in was extremely helpful and polite and spoke English very well. Everything else was fine, AC, plugs, WIfi, toilet, shower....

Overall I would give it a 3.5. Had the room space been designed better it would have been a 4.5 as the value for money is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Google Translation
고객님의 소중한 답변 감사드립니다.
저희 호텔 이용하시면서, 큰 불편함이 없었다니 다행입니다.
더욱 더 친절한 서비스와 고객님들께서 편안하게 휴식하쉴 수 있도록 개선하는 호텔이 되도록 노력하겠습니다. 감사합니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We don't want to stay at those chained hotels, so were attracted to the unique and stylish theme.

When we booked the suite double, the picture showed on hotel.com was Room 906, when we arrived at the front desk, they assigned us to a room with messy theme and said we did not appoin the theme room when we booked, it took us quite a whle to "debate" with them in order to stay at the theme room we wanted to but we could only stay for a night since other customers appointed that one during booked. It is a good thing to u since Room 906 is quite small and the lighting made us a bit spaced-out. We moved to Room 505 on second night and it is even bigger and more comfortable. I suggest taking Suite Twin

The hotel is not easy to find since it was located at an alley, I suggest taking off from Samseong Metro Station, the road is smoother.

The area is commercial centre, if you want to go shopping and want to feel the hectic of Seoul, I suggest picking hotels at Dongdaemun/ Myeong Dong.

If you prefer a better sleeping quality instead of room decoration/ design, think twice before you click confirm.

Room Tip: Ensure you did appoint the room on the remark when book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Google Translation
고객님의 소중한 리뷰 감사드립니다.
저희 호텔에 숙박하시는 동안, 편안한 휴식이 되셨길 바랍니다.
숙박하시면서 불편한 사항이 있으셨다면, 그 점 진심으로 사과드립니다.
고객님의 의견 잘 수렴하여, 더 좋은 서비스를 제공하도록 노력하겠습니다. 감사합니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel The Designers Samseong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Designers Samseong

Address: 9, Teheran-ro 79-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-877, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 414 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Designers Samseong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Designers Samseong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Designers Samseong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.