We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Designers Samseong

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Designers Samseong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Designers Samseong
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   9, Teheran-ro 79-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 393 hotels in Seoul
santiago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel looks brand new, with lots of tech details in the room.
Check in and out was easy.
Bedroom was small but OK for a couple. There was a laptop in the room with internet conection. The air conditioning system was on the ceiling. I didnt use it by night, but guess this might be an issue because it has a bright blue light when its on.
The bathroom had an open shower and it was rather messy because water was all over the place.
Safe box and electric kettle in the room. Bring your own coffee.
The location is ideal for COEX, but very far away from the touristic areas of Seoul. Subway can take between 40-50 minutes, easy ride.
Locating the hotel is rather tricky so follow this instructions:
- in the Incheon airport take the Kal Limousine (bus) 6704
- get off in the Ibis Ambassador stop. Stand looking towards the Ibis Ambassador (on the other side of the street). Walk towards your right till you get to a big street. Keep straight and cross. On the other side cross towards the left.
- On the other side walk towards the right one block and turn left (yes its a samll street)
- Walk one block and turn right and there you are
Ladies, very hard to get make up on becuase of the dim light.
Overall, I would not stay here again if my travel is for tourism.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
11
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

For a two star hotel, I would rate this an 11/10. It is incredibly convenient to the convention center, clean and provided wifi that worked fast and consistently. I spent a week in their Polaroid Suite, one of their larger suites. They nailed the details of design from the bathroom to bedroom. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, glad to teach me a few words in Korean. I prefer value hotels over five star, expensive service that drains your wallet with your every activity in the hotel. Hotel the Designers has value and class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff spoke english well however the female clerk whose english was better was also the most rude. She completely ignored me choosing instead to stare blankly at the computer. The lock on the room door did not work. The plug in the bathtub did not close completely making it impossible to take soak in the tub. The room was comfortable enough but the rude staff is a major turn off. My request to change rooms was also declined. I wont stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Each room is specially designed with special theme. 1st nite i stayed at meal concept room, round bed and a big mirror on the ceiling.. Hehe.. 2nd night, is the nature which it gt a jacuzzi and a tree in it. Even the room is small, it have everything you needed and the tv is big. The hotel is located at the centre between samseong (exit 5) and seolleung Line 2 Green subway, so you can either depart frm any of these 2 station. There are starbucks, coffee bean and CU mart near of it too. Staff are helpful and friendly. Will definitely come back and experience other rooms.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with this name in Hongdae. The room was small but it had everything I needed. I had the best Sunday brunch with my son at the restaurant downstairs. The hallways had soft lighting and soft music playing. Easy and quick check in and check out. Complementary beverages in the refrigerator as well.

Room Tip: A request for a river view does not mean you will see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on my first trip to Seoul. I booked it because of the rooms with the fun designs and I was not disappointed. Really liked my room (1107) which was unusual (sleeping under a tree...) but had everything I needed: WiFi, a big flat screen TV, mini-bar, hair dryer, kettle - all there, sometimes hidden, but available. Bathroom with shower and bathtub as well - which was nice except for the missing shower partition (i.e. bathroom floor wet after shower). Staff was also very nice and fluent in English.
I would book it again if it weren't for the location... Convenient to the subway, true, but too far from all the parts of town I liked best (like Hongdae for example).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed 2nights at there. First of all, I was surprized when I opened the main door. It was much different than what I thought, even though it's designed by some special designers which I knew.
The rooms are so much fun especially the bathtub which located in the room. ^^

Also the front clerks were very helpful. It is close to Samsung station 'COEX' only 10mins on foot.
The breakfst was not very nice but it enough to have.
Definatlely I will recommend someone who is sick and tired of just normal hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Designers Samseong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Designers Samseong

Address: 9, Teheran-ro 79-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 393 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Designers Samseong 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Designers Samseong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Designers Samseong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.