We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of tat but a nice morning overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Namdaemun Market

Namdaemun Market
Namchang-dong | Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 303 shopping in Seoul
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is the city's largest market. Almost everything is available for sale including clothing, souvenirs, purses, and food supplies. Many stalls are open into the wee hours of the morning.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lots of tat but a nice morning overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We Went to Namdaemun Market on a Sunday which probably wasn't a clever idea as the shopping centre next to it was closed. The market was in full flow though. I didn't personally find anything of interest to myself but there are lots of clothing sellers along with various other stalls and some excellent street food available for when you feel you can't walk any futher. Stay away from the stall selling the boiled/fried bugs as they STINK! I nearly wretched a few times just walking past haha!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    283
    147
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Anything you can imagine and some things you don't want to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a great large market, which was close to the Military base (yongsan) that I served on. I bought many items there during my tour and all. If you have a weak stomach you may want to skip the food area of the market, you will know you are getting close by the smell of it. Be prepared to haggle with them as they will always go lower in price. Lots of shopping to eiter side of the market too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Seem like the tourist treasures”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you looking for the wholesale merchandise and cheap price here the place you can find and you will experience real Korean livelihood.Otherwise,there're many shopping mall on each side of this market.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value korean handicrafts and souvenirs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Although most of the market sells clothes but there are sme interesting shops if you know where to go. Dont worry its not huge so you wont get lost. Go during the morning for good variety of gift shops handicrafts etc. the prices were amazing. I got many traditional goods from there, the same item you would get in hotel for three times the price. There are sme wholesalers selling at factory prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Namdaemun Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not much shopping for us. Cant really find any things that suit our taste.
You can purchase souvenirs here though. lots of it along the streets.

I manage to find a gem which i love it alot.
A knit pullover for only 3000won! That is equivalent to SGD4plus!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namdaemun Market also viewed

 

Been to Namdaemun Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namdaemun Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Namdaemun Market to your Saves list