We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, does the job, needs a facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Hotel Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-200, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Beit Shemesh, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location, does the job, needs a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on business in Seoul. Nice friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Breakfast was fine. Hotel is located in a busy part of town - great shopping and nightlife - and good access to public transportation. The rooms need a serious facelift. Looks like everything has been there since the 1980's. But, it's clean and everything works. Internet was free and fast in the room.

Ask for a room facing the front, the back faces the nightclubs which can have loud music.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front on a high floor, the back faces the nightclubs which can have loud m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    95
    110
    28
    11
See reviews for
34
36
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we were meeting some friends in Iteawon and for that it was idea. It's probably the most central hotel to the party action. The rooms are very old and cranky, the bathroom was yellow like a heavy smokers teeth! The carpets stained and everything looked like it had come from the 70's. Our room faced the rear where there are a few nightclubs which you can hear throbbing away. But with the windows closed and the noisy AC on it wasn't too bad

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located in a very convenient place, just besides Itaewon tube station. Has a in house Indian Restaurant " Ashoka" Good food but little expensive though compared to some of the Indian eating joints in the vicinity. Airport shuttle service right across the hotel. Happening place !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I reached the hotel at about 10am in the morning. As we had just arrived in seoul with our daughters(age 3 and 1), I thought we could be shown some kindness and let us check in earlier. My daughters were really tired and the hotel staff could see that but sad to say it fell on deaf ears. before I could finish my question, they just interrupted and say that check in starts at 2pm. What I was disappointed about was the fact that they did not even bother to check if there is any available rooms to checkin. Rooms cleanliness is poor as we could see lots of dust and 'leftovers' under the bed. window glass was full of stains even. no complimentary bottled water was provided. but rooms were made up daily though. the hotel staff speaks very little english and its quite hard to ask for direction. for muslims, there is a halal restaurant within the hotel. the mosque is about 10mins walk and halal food is quite conveniently located around. itaewon subway is right smack in front of the hotel. but nights could be annoying though due to the noise of the clubs and traffics surrounding the hotel. overall, I dont think I will come back again to this hotel as there are other hotels within the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This clean, descent hotel is priced well for the excellent location. A good place to crash if you are looking to stay at Itaewon, Seoul's most interesting entertainment district for Western visitors. If you are looking for above average service or amenities in this area, you should be prepared to pay more at better hotels.

They don't have any rooms with king-size beds, which is a shame, as they are good size rooms. The rooms are equipped with a full and a twin. Generally, Korean hotels have firm, comfortable mattresses. This one is decent, although not as good as other ones I had tried in my three-week trip. The florescent light bulbs were a bit much. Like many Korean hotels, their centralized control system in the room is cumbersome to figure out. They have a sitting area with a love seat, two chairs and a table. That would be great if the surfaces of the seats were not so murky from overuse and, apparently, infrequent steam cleaning.

Their bathroom is clean and of a descent size, however dated and not easily functional. Both the sink and bath faucets were leaky and splattered water all over. They could install wider shower curtains too. They only provide motel-rate soap and lotions. So be sure to bring you own toiletries.

The bell desk is quite useless. We had accumulated several pieces of luggage at the end of the trip and two bell boys just stood there and watch us struggle with the luggage. Finally I had to ask one of them to at least hold the elevator door for us to load it. NOT COOL AT ALL!

I would only come back here if my budget was limited and I just needed a place to crash after nightlife. Good for that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent nine nights in the Hamilton hotel in Itaewon Seoul during a recent business trip. The hotel is in the center of Itaewon and the street can be a bit noisy at night but the hotel is in a convenient location for touring Itaewon or if other destinations in Seoul are of interest the both the subway and City Tour Bus stop are just outside the hotel. The rooms are a bit dated clean and the staff are courteous, helpful and able to speak English. This hotel is a good mid-value based on location, transportation, amenities and staff. I recommend this hotel but if you're looking for a budget or luxury hotel this is not for you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel was located in a very convenient part of Seoul for catching trains, buses and airport limousine bus. The Itaewon location is an area catering to the tourist and there are many bars and restaurants catering to a variety of tastes. Prices a little inflated in comparison to other areas of Seoul.
The rooms at the hotel were a little 'tired' and minimal toilet items were provided. There was no bath gel or shampoo and conditioner provided and no bath mat or washer/flannel were provided. When asked if we could have these, we were told they are not supplied.
Complimentary tea is provided but no coffee and purified water is freely available from a dispenser on each floor.
Beds and pillows are small in size and rather firm. For those used to queen or king sized beds, it would be 'cosy' in the double bed provided..
Noise from activities in the streets in front of and behind the hotel can be intrusive even though sliding sound proofing is provided.
Breakfast is not included.. Paris Baguette is located on the ground floor or a little walk to Maccas if you want to buy breakfast.
Rooms do not contain safes and secure facilities can be obtained at Reception in the form of a locked box. You have the key.
Swimming pool area was locked and the pool was empty. Only open in August in spite of the weather being warm in September and early October when we were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Seoul

Address: 179, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-200, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Hotel Seoul 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Hamilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.