We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added THE PLAZA to your Saves list
THE PLAZA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-864, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 414 Hotels in Seoul
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Plaza is an amazing hotel. The concierge is very helpful in making reservations at restaurants and finding sporting events to attend. The location of this hotel is directly across from city hall and in close to authentic restaurants. Do not hesitate to take cabs in Seoul because they are inexpensive and convenient. The hotel is a bit pricey, but I would recommend spending the money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jordan W,

Thank you for taking time to share your the Plaza experience!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am glad to learn that you had a good time with us. We thank you for recognizing our Concierge team for their excellent service extended to you.

And we are facing Seoul City hall in the center of Seoul and located right above the subway station, City hall on 1 & 2 Line. Also many tourist attractions, shopping districts, historical sites and recommendable restaurants are within walking distance of our hotel.

Your feedback will surely boost us to always go beyond guest expectations!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Truly yours,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    329
    64
    9
    8
See reviews for
116
171
78
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel delivered almost on all fronts and I could only fault it for the following aspects since I just stayed at Lotte Seoul in the rooms on the Club level a few days ago (I'm also staying on the club level here at The Plaza):

1. The room was smaller than the one at Lotte Seoul for the same price category.

2. The Club level lounge was smaller than the one at Lotte Seoul, and the selection of food for breakfast was much lesser too.

3. Bathroom also smaller than Lotte Seoul with no bathtub option, but its design and use of quality bathroom fixtures outclasses those at Lotte Seoul.

Now that I am done with the small regrets, I am more than happy to list the praises for this establishment.

- service is impeccable and extremely obliging. I was able to leave my luggage at the hotel four days before I checked in, as I had checked out from Lotte Seoul to leave for Hyatt Jeju before returning to Seoul for my stay at The Plaza, and I wanted to travel light.

- chic and stylish room interior (black carpeted floor, flanked both sides by huge floor to ceiling lamps that look like oversized study lamps, quality bed and linen)

- Grand view of Seoul's City Hall, with views of one of the city's palaces in a distant.

- quality extras such as nespresso coffee capsule-type machines, Hermes toiletries, rain shower head, hi-tech flush bidet system, auto "welcome to your room" feature of curtains drawing open once U slot the room card in.

- indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna located at the annexe building. They provide exercise clothes should one not have any.

Price-wise, it was almost similar to Lotte Seoul. So I feel it is an even game between both excellent establishments. They just have different characteristics. For a big boutique hotel, The Plaza is certainly classy and chic, and does not disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear GLHS-75,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay at The Plaza!

It is our immense pleasure to see that we have met your expectations in many aspects such as service, room amenities and the fitness club. Also constructive criticism like yours helps us identify opportunities and be able to focus on service thoroughly.

As Korea’s luxury boutique hotel, The Plaza has been renovated in 2010 and is becoming the optimal choice for even the most discerning business travelers who pursue both style and convenience. Rooms and club lounge seem smaller than other hotels but we are furnished with custom-made furniture, high tech facilities, Nespresso machine and rain shower in a bathroom booth for guest’s convenience. And we do our utmost best to please our guests for the most pleasant stay possible with an unforgettable experience.

Your kind words have been shared with the team and we all look forward to the next opportunity of enhancing your trip to Seoul.

Again, thank you for your honest thoughts.

Best regards,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is very nice hotel, the staff are extremely helpful, and seem to fall over themselves to make your stay as plesent as possible. Breakfast good as is the italian restuarnt. I would suggest you pay the extra as I did and get a small suite and club access. Well worth it as you get to see the very helpful Alice in the club lounge

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jonboy8,

Thank you for sharing your the Plaza experience with us here. I was so pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Our team always enjoys receiving comments and I will share these with team. We thank you for recognizing our Club Lounge team, especially Alice, for their excellent service extended to you.

In regards to our breakfast, it is a wide range of breakfast menu from American to Korean foods that allow guests to indulge in enticing starters from the buffet, or individual menu.

Once again, we appreciate the kind comments and will definitely look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been there for a business trip with a group of collegue.
I think it's a really good hotel hotel in Seoul with a good and english speaking service.
the room was quite big and clean well furnished.
The breakfast quite expensive but really well provided with a really huge selection.
I also found a rate with a free upgrade

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Maraman 73,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor!

It pleases me very much to know that your experience with us was exceptional and we were able to meet your needs.

The renovated hotel rooms in 2010 present contemporary and unique designs and are furnished with custom-made furniture and high tech facilities. And we think it is very important to keep rooms in top shape to make each and every one of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible.
Also in regards to our breakfast, it is a wide range of breakfast menu from American to Korean foods that allow guests to indulge in enticing starters from the buffet, or individual American or Continental breakfast menu served at the table for a truly sophisticated breakfast experience.

I will be sure to share your comments with my team, and hope your colleague also enjoyed staying with us, The Plaza.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Plaza again in the future.
Kind regards,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed with the Plaza as a guest 3/1-3/4.The accommodations are nice, but for me, the Plaza is notable for its impeccable service. I realized on the way to the airport that I had forgotten my passport in my in-room safe. One of their outstanding employees, Ms Alisa Lee, swiftly and safely coordinated the return of the passport to me at the Seoul airport via taxi delivery. I was very impressed by the competent handling of the issue. Thanks to the Plaza's high standard of service, I did not miss my flight. I hope to stay with the Plaza again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Ms. Netnat,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay at The Plaza!

We are extremely delighted to see that you enjoyed our services and pleased to hear that you returned home safely with your passport. I am sure that this review will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff especially Ellisha Lee(Alisa) from Customer Service team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We all send our regards and appreciation to you for the recognition and are longing to see you again.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcoming you.

Kindest Regards,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Super trendy room very small but so chic
Amazing location across from city hall and tons of great spots
Service great
Easy access from ICN, I took airport bus costs approx USD $15 (1500 Korean won) each way (KAL line #6401) tickets can be purchased right outside bus stop.

Definite recommendation

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sara J,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our room, service as well as convenient location.

The Plaza is facing Seoul City hall in the center of Seoul and located right above the subway station, City hall on 1 & 2 Line. Also many tourist attractions, shopping districts, historical sites and etc., are within walking distance of our hotel.
The renovated hotel rooms in 2010 present contemporary and unique designs and are furnished with custom-made furniture and high tech facilities. We always strive to make each and every one of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Glad that you appreciated our service!

We appreciate the kind recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Truly yours,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Plaza for a second time for a 2-night business trip and was glad to find it was just as good as the last time I stayed, several years ago. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. I arrived on an early morning flight and the concierge was helpful in suggesting places I could visit until my room was ready. The room itself was very comfortable and quiet. I didn't use the large, well equipped gym, instead opting for the decent sized swimming pool. It was easy to reach the hotel from the airport, about 70 minutes using the KAL bus. There was an extensive choice of breakfast, only marred by the fact that the hot food could have been hotter (warmed plates would be a good addition).

Room Tip: I had a room facing the City Hall - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Patrick B,

We truly appreciate your kind compliments! It is our immense pleasure to see that we have met your expectations in almost all aspects.

I note your comment about a wide and varied selection of breakfast menu but food was not as hot as you had expected at the restaurant. We shall review plates for hot dishes and check them on a daily basis.

Despite that, I am glad that the team including concierge was able to make your stay so enjoyable and we are very proud of our products, room with great view overlooking Seoul City hall and fitness club as well as our staff. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team.

We certainly look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Yours truly,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-864, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#8 Business Hotel in Seoul
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#17 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THE PLAZA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.