We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, good value option in the Financial district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added THE PLAZA to your Saves list
THE PLAZA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-864, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Modern, good value option in the Financial district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of the better options in the downtown financial/City Hall Jung-gu district (north of the Han river vs say Kangnam on the south of the Han river). My corporate rate got me an upgrade to a Deluxe Suite with free WiFi and an excellent breakfast at the Club Lounge. Based on this, I'd actually choose the Plaza over the Westin Chosun, which is directly across the street (and where I also supposedly get benefits as a SPG Gold member). Rooms are more updated with very nice bathrooms (with a rainshower). Interior design is nice and on the contemporary/trendy/boutique side of things. The gym/pool is actually in the building across the street, but apart from this mild inconvenience, it is amongst the best that I've been to in Seoul. Staff were consistently friendly and service good (as it usually is at 5 star Korean hotels), and I'd definitely stay there again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    299
    57
    6
    8
See reviews for
103
149
67
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

this hotel is great.

right when i arrived in a taxi, the bell hop who spoke fluent English greeted me and helped me with my bags

check in was smooth

bell hop brought my bags up to my room, from what i read online, tipping is not necessary

hotel has recently been renovated, very clean and modern

location is close in the heart of the shopping district and there are underground tunnel that lead to the department stores such as lotte.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights this year. It is the central of Seoul and very convenient to go visiting most of tourist haunts. I booked Premier suite room which is big and HI-Tech - I can use the phone panel to control curtain, lights, and other items. the bed is very comfortable and the shower is nice. All staff spoke good English and they are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Strong recommend Premier suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Plaza is located across the street from City Hall, in a great location to readily travel around the city. It is on one of the KAL Limousine Bus lines from Incheon airport, and is right on top of the City Hall subway station which is a transfer station for lines 1 & 2. It is one subway stop away from Seoul Station (one of the central stations from which to catch a KTX regional train out of the city). There are several pedestrian zone areas a short walk away with plenty of restaurants - lots of options for dinner, if you venture outside of the hotel. There is a tourist information booth a couple of blocks from the hotel, and by that a bus pick-up point for various city tours. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Chenggye-cheon stream area.

The rooms are very nice - an electronic control pad next to the bed is used to turn on the lights, open the curtains, and set the room temperature. The bidet system in the bathroom has controls for seat temperature and water temperature, among others. The regular rooms don't have baths, just showers, but the showers have a wonderful rainfall shower head and plenty of water pressure. One very minor negative for me is the provided hair products - the shampoo has a very masculine scent (reminded me of Drakkar Noir) and the conditioner didn't condition my hair very well.

Guests at the hotel can use a workout facility in the building next door - basic access is free to guests, and spa facilities are an extra charge. The workout facility is 4 stories on high floors of the building with wonderful views toward Namsan hill and N Seoul Tower, and to the south.

The buffet breakfast at The Seven Square restaurant was 38,000 KRW during my stay. It offers a large range of options including American options, Korean, and Japanese. There is a bakery in the lower level (Eric Kayser I believe) which has fresh breads and sandwiches, for those wanting a cheaper option and don't need kimchi or miso soup.

Overall I really enjoy the location of this hotel, the nice rooms, and the friendly staff. I have stayed here before and will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in the Plaza in August. The location is very central and it is easy to explore this part of this amazing city. From the minute we stepped into the foyer we were impressed by the stylish decor and the ever attentive staff. We had a wonderful view of the park across from the hotel. The bedrooms were modern and the bathroom had an amazing shower.
We visited the swimming pool which is located just across fro the front door in an adjoining building. It is on the top floor and provides a wonderful view of the city especially at night. The staff here, as in all sections of the hotel are helpful and friendly.
We really enjoyed our stay in the Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have lived at Plaza Hotel, which is the most central located hotel in the whole city. From here I have seen all interested sights by foot and I have reached all the things which were points of interested. There also was an excellent subway connection, so I could do everything very fast by using the Seoul Metro. It was amazing in what an excellent condition was the completely renovated hotel is, I couldn’t remember if I have seen such a good hotel in Seoul, because Seoul have got a lot of old buildings. Unfortunately I have had a very small room and I thing on my next journey I will choose the more expensive suite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is excellent. It is stylish and modern, and feels like a luxury hotel as soon as you walk in. The staff are extremely attentive (and there seemed to be a lot of them in the lobby!) and we found everyone to be helpful and friendly. The room was quite big, although there was only room to put one suitcase. There was a huge picture window looking out over the City Hall, and the bathroom was also separated from the room by a large window – although you could close the blinds for this! There were high quality toiletries provided and also tea and coffee and the usual mini bar. There a choice of restaurants (although we didn't try them). The lounge bar area serves food, although it is very expensive – probably about normal for a hotel but felt all the more pricey compared to the general cost of eating out in Seoul. Likewise the bar.
In terms of location, the hotel is perfect, with access to the City Hall metro station via a connecting tunnel from the hotel. There is also a lot to see within walking distance, although taxis are really cheap for getting around too.
This hotel is not a bargain but I would definitely recommend it for the quality of service and the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-864, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seoul
#5 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THE PLAZA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.