We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and helpful team - but the small rooms would shame a Tokyo Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THE PLAZA

Save Saved
You added THE PLAZA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THE PLAZA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-864, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #8 of 393 hotels in Seoul
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Efficient and helpful team - but the small rooms would shame a Tokyo Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location with direct links to the Metro system from the basement (although the staff directed me outside to enter the Metro via an external stairway and I only discovered the direct connection to the hotel on the way back).

The hotel faces an open space that's used for events and demonstrations - so it can be fun or noisy depending on your point of view. I joined the thousands of locals for the Korea v Japan Olympic football live telecast at 03:30 am and it was great fun .... but if I needed to sleep that night I may have not been so impressed. The entrances to the vast underground walkways and shopping centres of Seoul are at the rear of the hotel and the entrances to the Metro system are at the front (and in the basement) - so if it's raining (or too hot) you can walk to the main shopping areas underground. The Namdemun market is nearby; as is the new river system that is nice place to walk in the evening. So the location is perfect.

The staff are very efficient and helpful, the rooms clean and well equipped and I had internet included - which is a bonus.

For me there were just two issues. I was staying on business for 2 weeks and the tiny standard ('Deluxe double') room is about the size of the bathroom in normal hotels. If you pay for a Suite you can get a more normal sized room. Whenever I needed to catch up on email I headed out to a local Starbucks to avoid 'cabin fever' - but they don't have free internet.

The other (small) issue was the pointless electronic controls that are fiddly and make the room slightly awkward to use. Touch screen controls for the curtains and lights in a room smaller than a wardrobe are not needed .... it's easier to reach from the bed to the curtains than to mess with the world's most unresponsive touch screen controls (it's certainly no iPad!) and the light from the bedside screen and the a/c control touchscreen, (even after it dimmed) is disturbing at night and explains why the room is provided with an eye mask.

So if you can tolerate a budget hotel sized room at 5 Star hotel prices in return for a great location and good staff - then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If there are any nighttime outdoor events in the grounds opposite the hotel during your stay - book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    271
    54
    5
    6
See reviews for
93
134
59
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel delivers the level of excellence that you would expect. Helpful, friendly English speaking staff! We never touched our bags once we came close to the hotel. (Tipping is not done in South Korea). Wonderful Experience! The view of the Plaza in front of the hotel is wonderful!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, you could see the presidents house from our window (15th floor) the service was great and the room was large and spacious with a giganto-vision flatscreen tv. The bathroom was big with a shower where the water literally falls from the ceiling. The bed was comfy and the air con goes all the way down to fifteen degrees centigrade. The swimming pool and gym had great views over the city too. What more could you want right in the heart of Seoul. Nothing, that's goddamn what.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stay with The Plaza last month. Others said the rooms are small; but I don't agree with it. Room is nice, clean and modern. We go out most of the time for sightseeing, shopping and eating. A clean , comfy room with clean ,bright bathroom is adequate, of course, a clean, soft bed is a must, too! As for location...I won't say that it's perfect enough, even though there are subway right underneath, however, if you decided to visit Myeongdong , you can get there in minutes by walk, but don't under estimate those minutes walking distance when you get back with all your souvenirs! Staffs are helpful, even though my English is fair. By the way, just want to say, Seoul is nice, Nanta is amazing, Cheonggyecheon is so beautiful! Can't forget those taste of the BBQ pork, octopus sashimi, soy crab and .......I will be back! Oh, one more thing is the hotel got a huge swimming pool in another building just behind the main building, I believed that the exercise facilities are not just for the hotel guests, as there are many elderlIes doing exercise there, too. One thing that I would like to mention is , there has a spinning machine beside the shower room, how thoughtful !

Room Tip: If it is possible you can try to ask them for rooms that can see the N tower of Seoul, or rooms in h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel has charming, helpful staff, a great location near lots of cultural/historical sites, quirky but pleasant rooms and the best toilets I have ever experienced. The only down side is that the breakfast buffet is wildly over priced. I think that if you book in advance to include breakfast you get a better deal. And if not, true the French cafe near the exit to the metro line for great croissants as an alternative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Staff was helpful as I arrived very very early in the morning and they had a room prepared for me so I can still get some sleep. The property is located centrally pleasure as there are major shopping places nearby within walking distance while the hop on tour bus is almost across the street. The place is also across city hall so if there's a rally then it can make for interesting sights. The room is spacious enough with features like power curtains that can be controlled right from your bed. The wifi connection is mind blowing for a freebie with speeds up to 26 Mbps, nice! Toiletries are top notch as well as the bathroom fixtures. The executive lounge is pretty well stocked as well food was good and the nespresso is as always a great option. Everything is as it should be at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Staff very helpful, location is right above subway and underground shopping centre. There is also a small palace to visit just across the road. Room is a bit on small side as most korean hotels are but nicely decorated. The cafe on lobby level has got a nice ambient to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-864, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#11 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THE PLAZA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.