We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Myeongdong & Namdaemun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Save Saved
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188-3 Euljiro 1-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-191, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 396 hotels in Seoul
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good location for Myeongdong & Namdaemun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This location is great for those interested in going to Myeongdong & Namdaemun for shopping, food, people watching. There are two subway stations nearby for access to other parts of Seoul. It's near to the Deoksugung palace. A changing of the guard crony is held three times daily and it's interesting as the guards are dressed in historical uniforms. There are also announcements of the different stages in English as well so you have an idea of what's going on. After the ceremony you can take photos of the guards. The palace is one of the stops for the Seoul City Tour bus which is a easy way to explore many of the tourist sites in Seoul.

No wifi in rooms but a cable is provided for Internet access. Like most hotels in South Korea, free wifi is available in the lobby. However Seoul is a digitally connected city and you can access free wif in a lot of locations, especially cafes, restaurants.

The furniture in the room is old and could do with a refurbishment. No complaints about the size. The rate was much lower than the hotels located in Myeongdong but the rooms are bigger.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    154
    72
    13
    3
See reviews for
68
23
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great place - by City Hall, next to Lotte Hotel, Myeondong shopping as well as an underground shopping complex and . It is old. There is no access to wifi in the rooms (at least the one I was in). The rooms could do with a makeover, and the bathrooms being modernized.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel President (Seoul) is very conveniently located in the better part of Seoul. Taxis are plentiful and the well-staffed concierge is happy to hail one for guests. Subway also nearby. Starbucks across from hotel. Our room was fine but had also been occupied by smokers. Some stain on carpet but otherwise clean. Service good but wifi rather less so. Reliable free wifi was only available in lobby. Added bonus, one can always visit the premiere Lotte Hotel next door for better wifi and a larger more enjoyable lobby experience!
Hotel President is a nice hotel for a decent price....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Located in the heart of the city, this hotel is value for money considering it is surrounded by other major 5 star hotels. Lotte is just next to it and the Airport transfer bus is just right in front of the hotel (save all the taxi fare and dragging your luggages!). But don't expect the room to be fantastically nice though.

Near metro, you can hop onto it and visit major places of interest and shopping malls. Do remember to check out the Duksoo Palace across the road (do note that it is close on certain days, check out the website), it is near Namdeamun market and of cos mugydo-dong too, the night market.

You can check out the day tour service as well, quite reasonably price and guides are quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the President two nights. The staff do not speak great English, which I might have expected in a fairly expensive hotel catering to foreign visitors - this lead to more than one misunderstanding. There is no free internet (frustrating when you are already paying a high rate), and my internet bill was another 10% on the room price. Breakfasts were ok, but nothing special. The rooms were a little tired and dated. Having said that, it was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

In contrary to other reviews, our stay at the President Hotel is nothing but smooth... the airport bus no, 6701, is just about 50 meters away from the hotel... (it stops at Lotte Hotel) which is just beside President...very convenient... there is a valet staff at the door who helped us into the steps with our luggage (the bell boys main job seems to be is tending the left luggage facility).

We arrived early at 7.30am and despite our request during booking of early check-in, we are not facilitated, which is understandable if there was no room available, and I was told pleasantly that we should again check in at 12pm, we left our luggage and had a walk about in the neighboring City Hall and Deuksugung Palace and had a bite to eat, went back to the hotel at about 11am and they let us check in a bit early, which was amazing after having a night flight.

We stayed at 27 floor, which is very clean, very quiet, there is toiletries provided, fresh robes, although the furnitures a bit tired looking (specially the carpet), but tea (no coffee) facilities is provided, 1 bottled water everyday... theres a bath tub, but it is a bit worn out looking, so didn't bothered to have a bath and used the shower instead.

Location is great, smack in the center of the town...walking distance to the palaces (though we took taxi about W4,500), Myeongdong and Namdaemun night market for cheap knick-knacks, Lotte Mall for more top of the range brand is just in the neighbourhood....metro is about 100 meters away... Seoul Tower is not so far (though not walking distance)... many small good priced restaurants nearby....

Front desk, not overly friendly but pleasant, housekeeping when asked with adaptor, turned up within 2 minutes, the valet helped us with hailing and saying to the taxi drivers our destinations, left luggage facility is brilliant, LOCATION VERY SAFE, there is also a bank at the 2nd floor for currency exchange....only one thing, no in-room wifi, only at the lobby, rooms only have cabled internet (with extra charge) which we cannot use with our iPad and TV has only a couple of English channels.....but overall rating is superb...

If I would stay here again? Yes....

Room Tip: High Floor or the rooms facing Westin Chosun, as the one on the front tends to be a bit noisy with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel President for 2 nights for a stopover on the way to Bangkok. Let me start with the positive points. I appreciated the convenient location in the middle of the city, within walking distance to the marketplaces and shopping centers. Also, the breakfast buffet had an amazing assortment of hot and cold foods, all of which were delicious. Unfortunately, the negatives outweighed the positives here. The reason? Value, or the lack thereof. For its expensive price, we got a room that was so small it could just barely fit our suitcases and me, my two younger sisters and my mom. We had to move the mattress off the bed and put it on the floor so we could all sleep comfortably, and even then, we all kept bumping into and rolling over each other. Note that none of us are very big, either. The bathroom was also very small, and the big shocker was no shampoo, so we couldn't even wash our hair. We had thought the breakfast buffet was included, but they charged us the equivalent of $25 per person, which came out to an inexorbitant amount for our group of 10 for just one meal. Furthermore, we were never made to feel very welcome, the staff did only what they were required to do and never went out of their way for us. I don't remember being greeted or smiled at even once. I had a better experience at the Bunjongburi Hotel in Thailand, which cost a fraction of the price. In summary, I expected more from the Hotel President, and I probably will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Also Known As:
President Hotel Seoul
Address: 188-3 Euljiro 1-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-191, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 396 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel President 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.