We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Hotel Seoul

Save Saved
You added Lotte Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #4 of 390 hotels in Seoul
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in the Main Building & awoke both mornings with a sore back. Hence the poor rating. Had to take Panadol on both mornings. The bed seemed firm, not that hard, so not sure why the bad back.
Apart from that, the room itself was on the smaller side, but bathroom was ok. The room coffee was apparently not free - it was an item on the minibar bill. The Western breakfast had adequate choices of cereals, egg station, cooked dishes & breads. There were only a small number of tables but did not seem crowded. Free fast Wifi was available. There are apparently more than 1 Lotte Hotel in Seoul, so carry the address to show taxi drivers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear. yss97

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a good review. We appreciate your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us due to the uncomfortable bed. We are sorry for this inconvenience again. If you have any plan to use our hotel next time, we will give you more personalized service and try to meet you expectation.

We are happy to hear that you liked our buffet restaurant. There are so many delicious kinds of international food to eat in our buffet restaurant. We keep on trying to improve variety of menus. So I hope you may enjoy more our buffet restaurant next time of your visit.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lotte Hotel Seoul in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Front Office Manager
Susan Lee
personalized service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    510
    108
    12
    9
See reviews for
309
212
96
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Attended conference in this hotel.Room is clean,modern but small. Room is not noisy at all due to good soundproofing. The hotel is modern and with very good & huge shopping mall in it. My stay was excellent and I cannot be happier staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear. ylkk1234

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a good review. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. We would take this opportunity to review our service standard, and try to improve even harder to meet your expectations.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the well equipped guest rooms and central location which allows our guests enjoy the heart of Seoul. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lotte Hotel Seoul in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Front Office Manager
Susan Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I like everything about lotte hotel except their bars and restaurants seem somewhat over priced.
Still, you are at the center of downtown, you don't have to eat, drink at the hotel.

They renovated their old building (they call it old-wing) but rooms in the old buildings are smaller than those in New building (they call it new-wing). So ask for room in New building if you can choose.

Every staff is professional but I specially thank to the lady at the business center that she has all kinds of mobile phone charges! (again their prices is quite expensive. try not to use their facility that printing one paper costs a lot and it's not even laser printer!)

I am not allowed to enter to their 'lady's floor'. but my female colleague complained the decoration of her room located in lady's floor is all red that its somewhat scary. (it could be the theme of her room and was arranged so knowing that she is Chinese and it is known Chinese like red)

Their room cleaner ladies are super. They are fast and they don't leave any dust after them. They are very friendly too that you can ask them any extra coffee, extra tooth brushes etc they will give you handful of them right away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear. HongkongTommyhk

Thank you for staying Lotte Hotel Seoul and posting a good review on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciative and very grateful to you.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us except for little pricey bars and restaurants. It is honorable to read that you liked our location right middle of Seoul center area and also enjoyed the service provided by our well trained House Keeping staff. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.

Once again I genuinely thank you for your kind words and look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the new wing. The hotel is well decorated and well serviced. The room was nice over looking the city. Everything was clean and tidy. The only complaint to be had was the air conditioning which would not reach the desired temperature. Called maintenance and maid services but the only thing that they could accommodate was a fan to help with the air conditioner since they could do nothing to make it better. Overall the service was quite good. The hotel rate was quite high but you do get the services that you paid for.
Loved the bathroom with a tub and a separated shower; and especially the automated toilet seat with seat warmer and various water sprays (something to try out if you have never before). The selection of English TV channels were quite limited. Unless you select pay per view. I would've guessed that they expected mainly Koreans to be staying there.
The hotel is also conveniently located with Lotted department store in the lower level and duty free just around the corner. Great food court type eateries in the supermarket level.
Finally do visit the gym if you have the chance. They do have a very modern and fully equipped gym with trainers if you need one. A co-op pool and separated pools in male and female locker room. You don't even need to bring a change of clothes because shorts and shirt are provided for you. Just go and enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear. Pornpimon W

Thank you for staying 3 nights in the New Wing building. We are very appreciative and very grateful to you.

It is honorable to read that you liked our location right middle of Seoul center area and also enjoyed the service provided by our well trained staff. We are currently more putting our efforts on the general quality of room which is most important part of your comfort and relaxation along with the quality of service by consistently training our staffs for better language and attitude.

We apologize for any inconvenience with the air conditioning system in the room. We promptly check the problems and will be careful not to allow such an unfortunate event to happen again.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lotte Hotel Seoul in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Front Office Manager
Susan Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lotte was impressive, beautiful, futuristic and extrememly clean. Wonderful restaurants and shopping. Curtains and toilets that opened up with remote control.. Very Cool. It is not a cheap place, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear. nick p

Thank you for staying Lotte Hotel Seoul and posting a nice review on Trip Advisor.

It is honorable to read that you liked our beautiful, clean and wonderful room. We are currently more putting our efforts on the general quality of room which is most important part of your comfort and relaxation along with the quality of service by consistently training our staffs for better language and attitude.

Again, thanks for your great attention on our hotel. Hope you visit us and have a great experience again.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in Lotte hotel Seoul on business.used a standard room for few nights and moved to a Deluxe room. What an excellent hotel.Rooms are fitted with all modern equipment and very comfortable bed.
Food is excellent and the Bar overlooking the garden is a great place to unwind after a long day. More over connected to Lotte departmental store complex which offers very wide range of cuisines to try with. Shopping street is just just across the road where you could get really good products. Especially cosmetics and handbags.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear. Tinkerbellreview1

First of all, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the well equipped guest rooms and central location which allows our guests enjoy the heart of Seoul. As you mentioned, Lotte Hotel Seoul is centrally situated with Lotte department store and Lotte Duty Free shop. Also, it is very close to downtown that our guests can easily reach Myeongdong, Dongdaumun and some of tourist attractions. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.

Thank you once again for your nice feedback. We hope to see you next time.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Lotte Seoul for 4 nights during a business trip to the city. This was my first time in Seoul and my first experience with the Lotte brand. My room was in the New Wing on the Business Floor. Check-in for the Business rooms is on the 14th floor of the New Wing. My group arrived around 12:35am on our first night and there were 2 representatives waiting with our information to check us all in. It was a quick and efficient process, which I welcomed given the time of day.

My room was on the 29th floor and faced North with a great view of the downtown area. The room was quite spacious, with an open plan, king size bed, chaise lounge, work desk, large closet and an area for opening my luggage. Much to my delight, the closet included multiple hangers of different types, shoe trees, a show horn, umbrella and pajamas. There was even a plate of four mini-desserts waiting for me as a welcome gift. The bathroom was also a good size and included separate stand up shower and tub, heated toilet and sink area. The entire hotel is setup with free wi-fi which worked well, despite constantly having to refresh the connection. The work desk in my room came equipped with a LAN cable and also a local cell phone (which I did not use, but found to be a nice touch).

The business floor rooms come with access to the lounge on the 27th floor, spa and gym access and a few other random amenities that I did not make use of. Daily breakfast and cocktail hours were conducted in the lounge. Breakfast was a wonderful spread of both Western and Eastern items. There was also an egg station for made to order eggs and omlettes. I particularly enjoyed the shrimp and spinach dumplings. Cocktail hour included 2 white wines, 2 red wines, assorted liquors and beer, and an assortment of local Korean alcohol (soju, raspberry wine, etc.). There were also light hor d'oeuvres available.

The service of the hotel overall was excellent. There are plenty of staff available and always ready to assist you or answer questions. Everyone had a basic, if not higher, command of English. I found the location to be well situated as well. We booked the hotel because it is a convenient walk to our meetings, but it was also a 5 minute walk to the Myeong-dong shopping area, 5 minutes to City Hall, and 15 minutes to Gyeongbokgung Palace. Right in front of the hotel is the Euljiro 1 Metro station and a couple of minutes in the other direction is the City Hall station.

I had two complaints which I felt were worth detracting a star: inadequate A/C and lack of available plug outlets. The room has an individual A/C control panel, but I left with the impression that it was there as some sort of placebo. No matter how low I adjusted the temperature, the room did not seem to get very cold. The others in my group felt the same way and I even overheard other guests voicing the same opinion. It was an odd phenomenon. On top of that, the A/C is not used in the hotel hallways or lobby so when you leave your room you are hit in the face with the hot. humid Seoul air. This was not something I would expect from a 5* hotel. My second complaint has to do with the lack of available plug outlets in the room. This is a problem I find in most hotels. The only accessible outlets that I found were under the work desk. There were about 6 outlets there, all of which were in use with the exception of one. At a time when most travelers require charging at least 2 devices per person at any given time, more thought needs to be given towards making outlets available and accessible. I realize this is not something a hotel can fix retroactively, but I always find it worth mentioning.

Overall, the quality, service and location of the Lotte Seoul are fantastic and I would stay again if ever in Seoul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear. rocketsfan007

Thank you for staying Lotte Hotel Seoul and sharing your experience with other travelers. It is pleasant for us to hear that you had a nice stay on our Club room.

We are happy to learn that your stay has been pleasant, and you enjoyed our location, facility, even the amenities. Lotte Hotel will continue to provide most comfortable and exceptional service to our valued guest.

As you mentioned, Lotte Hotel Seoul is centrally situated with Lotte department store and Lotte Duty Free shop. Also, it is very close to downtown that our guests can easily reach Myeongdong, Dongdaumun and some of tourist attractions.

We apologize for any inconvenience with the Air conditioning system and lack of available plug outlets. We promptly check the problems and will be careful not to allow such an unfortunate event to happen again.

We are Looking forward to seeing you soon in the nearest future. Thank you very much.


Warm Regards,
Front Office Manager
Susan Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotte Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Hotel Seoul

Address: 30 Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#2 Business Hotel in Seoul
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#10 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Hotel Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Business Hotel in the Heart of Seoul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Lotte Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Lotte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.