We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashion Hub and heart of city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koreana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Koreana Hotel to your Saves list
Koreana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135, Sejong-daero, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-101, South Korea (Seodaemun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room Upgrade For Free
Ranked #89 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fashion Hub and heart of city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It was awonderful epxereinces staying at Hotel koreana which is located in heart of city.

The rooms are very spacious and one look at it destresses you . Commfy cushion , bead , pilliows and good upholstery. Reasonably decent gym . Opp Hotel is a good underground mall with hot of fashion stores and restaurants . The best being a coffe joint and indian restaurant Ganga. It is a place to be were you see beautifull girls espcecially hanging around to shop.

It recommed any one a stay at koreana will be value for money !!!

Room Tip: Take 23rd floor as the Gym is on same floor , so more reason to avoid it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    224
    108
    19
    8
See reviews for
83
67
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Koreana hotel and I must say that I was nothing but please with the service they had to offer. The Hotel is located in Downtown Seoul and is a wonderful local to explore and discover. The staff spoke perfect english and were more than helpful. Upon arrival they not only took our bags but also showed us to the registration desk and showed us helpfully to our room. The minibar is expensive however has a great selection of beer, soju, coffee, and juices ranging from 3,000 won to 9,000 won. I personally drank a couple beers and was charged accordingly. When you stay at the Koreana you a withing walking distance of 3 palaces in Seoul and a wonderful local dining area. The dining provided at Koreana is top notch. My fiance and I got the "American Breakfast" both nights we stayed and the only complaint I had was the bacon was a bit soggy. (which is how bacon is prepared in Korea) so I recommend the sausage. (which is delicious)!! The only real complaint that I had about the hotel is that the water pressure was some to be desired. The showers are either really hot or too cold for my liking, but the overall service and overwhelming sense of being at home were more that I could ask for.. I would definitely recommend the Koreana hotel for all tourist that wish to experience Seoul with a wonderful place to call home in the process! Another great thing is despite the language barrier, if you set foot in a taxi and say "Koreana Hotel" you are good to go! Everyone knows it. Stay here. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: I was on the 23rd floor!! Great view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Staying here right now with my MBA study tour - have changed rooms once due to musty smell in the room. No wireless, twin beds, old carpet, hard and springy beds - first time in Korea and not a good example of a local hotel.
Location is good - shopping, sights, business - all relatively close and within walking distance.
Generally speaking, not a good experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
이민영, 고객 담당 매니저 at Koreana Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was sorry to read about the frustration experienced with the room. Now we offer wifi service, have renovated hotel rooms gradually. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Min Young Lee / Manager on duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburger
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is not an upper end luxurious hotel (i.e. Deluxe rather than Super-Deluxe by Korean categorization), but is has a couple of very attractive features that make it recommendable. It is perfectly located in a safe and comparatively calm place in downtown Seoul. Town hall in sight from the Eastern rooms; major palaces within 10 minutes walking distance; major shopping district 20 minutes by foot. My room was spacious, clean, and quiet, the bathroom still showing the luxury and space for which it was once designed. True, furnitures were a bit outdated, as remarked by other reviewers, and the matrasses could be more comfortable. Yet,
given this location, the room rate you can get on the internet are a fair deal, significantly lower than Super-Deluxe hotels nearby (like the Lotte Hotel or the Seoul Plaza Hotel).

The hotel is particularly recommendable for a short stop-over in Seoul. There is a Korean Air bus leaving every 20 minutes from Incheon Intern. Airport going to downtown Seoul. One of its stops is right in front of the hotel (and the return ride also starts every 20 minutes from the hotel). Riding time: 70 - 80 minutes one way. In view of the deserted vicinity of Incheon Airport hotels this may be worth it.

Room Tip: Suggestion: don't book the superior room category (somewhat more spacious than the regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Been selecting the hotel in both my visit to Seoul for one reason, LOCATION. It is very conveniently located in Gwanghamun. Insadong is 20 min walks, lots of palace around the hotel, Seoul City Tour bus started from the hotel, and accessible from airport using KAL limousine bus. But don't expect much on the service, or the facility. Breakfast is so-so, the staff is a bit "stiff" to guests, but again they have a perfect location

Room Tip: If money is no objections, ask for room in the Executive floor. It will settles you about 270K Won a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hotel was close to the shopping district, the train station and to the palace. There's also lots of restaurants around the area. It also located in Seoul's business district so if you're in Seoul for business, this is a recommended hotel. Rooms were clean. But they need to add a free and good internet connection.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights attending a conference. The Press Centre is across the hotel and a tunnel leads across the busy road. It is a short walk to the Grand Palace and 10 mins walk to the Myeongdong shopping street. Unfortunately, the hotel seems dated and worse, there was no wireless. We had to pay for LAN Internet...about US$18 per day. Internet should come standard with hotel rooms these days - and wireless should be standard too! Otherwise, the hotel staff were pleasant and the room reasonable. What stood out was the ample number of power points....but not that it matters as I only had two adaptors to plug into the wall sockets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koreana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koreana Hotel

Address: 135, Sejong-daero, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-101, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Seodaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Seoul
#47 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koreana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Koreana Hotel. "It feels like home" That's the first thing guests say when arriving at the hotel. Koreana hotel attract visitors from both the leisure and business trip worldwide. Our motto is comfort for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Koreana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koreana Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koreana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.