We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel a short distance from main attractions and downtown area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel PJ

Save Saved
You added Hotel PJ to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel PJ
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-282, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 393 hotels in Seoul
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel a short distance from main attractions and downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The main comment about the hotel is the location. The initial walk down from the bus stop / subway down a well used alley is absolutely true. It's located a short distance away from the main downtown area in the middle of a light industrial area that specialises on printing. However this really doesn't detract, you feel like you're in a bit of "real" Seoul with real local people, local businesses, local markets whilst being a short distance from all the main attractions and downtown area. You really do wonder where you're going to arrive as you trundle down this alley for 200m from the airport bus stop or subway but it's all ok when you arrive upon the hotel at the end.

We stayed for a week and had a standard double room on the 5th Floor (26sq m). The room was very well maintained and cleaned. A queen size bed with nice linen, which was comfortable. The mattress was firm whilst not being as hard as some asian hotel beds. One slight annoyance was that there was only a bedside table on one side of the bed. The heating worked well (-16C outside in early December!)

The bathroom has a bathtub with jacuzzi function with shower over, with a wash basin and toilet with electronic bidet seat attachment (you can turn it off if you don't like this kind of thing). The shower was powerful and hot water was plentiful. The larger twin and superior rooms are larger and have a separate shower as well as bathtub, etc.

Opposite the bathroom there's plenty of wardrobe space and robes and slippers available for use. There's an empty mini-fridge in the cupboard, and a safe that can easily take a 15" laptop.

The desk, opposite the bed, had the 42" TV with a large number of Korean, Japanese and Chinese channels, and as the hotel really caters for the Asian market this is understandable. There was a handful of non-asian channels, but the only real English 24hr international news channel was France24 which whilst adequate didn't offer much choice, having CNN and/or BBCWorld would have been a nice 2nd option.

The desk had a kettle for tea (green tea bags) and a small Nespresso machine (two capsules provided per day). You could get extra coffee capsules but you had to pay for them.

Although we didn't book one, the rooms that are listed as superior/twin rooms are longer(deeper) and have a traditional low height Korean dining table. You get a fair amount more space.

Restaurant tip: If you walk out of the front door of the hotel and turn right and walk down the main street until the next traffic light controlled intersection (about 3-4mins). On the left, just before the intersection is a small restaurant with a Korean only sign with a red.yellow background you can identify it by its phone number 2272 6654, it's opposite a KFC/CoffeeBean in a modern building. The restaurant offers no-nonsense local food. You will find a Korean-only menu on the tables that list the price of the foods, they will give you a translation (English or Chinese) of the menu that matches the order of the Korean menu on the table. Most dishes are KRW5000-7000. There are a handful or extra dishes not on the menu with pictures up on the wall. We ate at this restaurant several times over the course of the week and it's pleasant home-cooked food, generous portions. Considering the continual stream of take-away food being ordered and taken out of the door, it's obviously popular with locals which is always a good sign. None of the dishes we ordered were very spicy and it comes highly recommended if you just want honest local food.

The restaurant tip kind of underlines our appreciation of the location - if you want 5* opulence and to be in the middle of yet another anonymous downtown area in another international capital city then the PJ Hotel is not for you. But if you want to be short walk/subway/taxi journey from all of the major locations and get a feel for some real life district in Seoul then this might be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th Floor and was modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    326
    74
    9
    2
See reviews for
174
89
41
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

stayed in a premier triple in june 2012 (comes with a Korean style dining area instead of the balcony. Which was lovely and added a slight korean touch to the room and gave more usable space). not much view from the room, just typical city view. our view was that of a construction site (as of june 2012)

one of the few hotels which offer rooms which are tailored for 3 people ( instead of 2+ 1 extra), as such you get a well-appointed spacious room, with a spacious bathroom. rooms seemed quite new. lobby and hotel in general is quite a typical standard city hotel, a little small and there are no amenities - gym or swimming pool. probably caters to tourists who come to shop.

nothing much in the immediate surrounding area, with no/ not much modern shops but a short taxi ride to most of the tourist areas such as myeongdong and dongdaemun.

staff were quite helpful though their grasp of english was just average.

overall, good if travelling in a group of 3 and are looking to stay in a standard hotel which is of a more reasonable value.

Room Tip: choose the premier room with the korean style dining area instead of balcony to get more usable spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We lost the cell phone in the guest room 904 and Hotel staffs did a very good job to help us.

We would like to appreciate your staff as below:
Housekeeping: Kwon, Yu
Bell: Lee

BTW, I will recommend PJ Hotel to my friend and company.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are pleasure to hear from you a nice review.
If you satisfied with our service, we, PJ hotel, also feel so great.
If you visit Seoul again, please choose us one more.
We promise you to make memorable memories again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Traveling with two friends and having to fit three in a room can be challenging when it comes to searching for a hotel, often it means two have to share a bed while one is lucky enough to have their own. With PJ Hotel they had arrangements and rooms which are perfectly suited for sharing, even when there is more than two of you.

I was highly impressed by the rooms which are large and spacious. Having three single beds meant we all could have our own sleeping space. In addition, there is a small entry hall to leave shoes or jackets, a large bathroom with separate glass shower and separate bathtub, and the obligatory electric toilet seats founds in most of Asia (I especially like the heated seat). Particularly nice is a small elevated living space with low table and chairs, an air cleaner, Nespresso coffee maker and coffee capsules, electric kettle and tea (though hot and cold water can also be obtained in the hall area just outside the rooms), safe, and a small fridge supplied with three bottles of water.

As well as a 32 inch HD flat screen TV in the bedroom, the living area also had a small 19 inch TV for separate entertainment. Wifi also enabled and ready to use throughout the hotel, free.

This four star hotel really did deliver comfort and quality, exceptionally well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again as it is nicely located within walking distance of historic sites and attractions, as well as shopping and unique markets and streets founds near its steps.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, though we opted to have an extended living space instead, making the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing us when you visited in Seoul.

We are very pleasure to hear your valuable review on Tripadvisor.
If you satisfied with all our facilities, we feel so great.
Thank you again and we promise you to give nice memories when you come back to Seoul in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It worth for value with Standard room once my early stay of December. Hotel was big with many rooms but standard room was enough for me. Room was large, good size and a good view was not bad. the location was excellent, some bakery shop nearby and i had a half of hour to take lemousine bus to travel on the bus to see the city on the move. Staffs were helpful as well, they could tell some nice places to see, good restaurant for Korean food, i'd like to enjoy although hotel owned a good restaurant inside

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for staying in us when you visited in Seoul.

We are very pleasure to hear from you a nice review.
If you visit Seoul in the future, please choose us one more.
We promise you to make nice memories.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel PJ is at the least quite average in terms of service, location and amenities. From the airport, the airport limousine bus drops guests off a block away from the hotel. As I arrived really early in the morning on a Sunday, the entire place looked dingy and dark. Tip... take the left hand side of the alley where there are food stalls instead of the right side where there are shops from a building. There are a few steps on the right side and if you are carrying luggages, the steps are not your friend.

We arrived too early for check in so we had our luggages stored by concierge. Myeong Dong is 15 minutes away on foot which is quite convenient or a stop away from the subway. If I know what I know now, I'd probably book a hotel closer shopping areas as the area where PJ is, is quite dead at night and nothing kills a buzz than walking on deserted streets and alleys heading back to the hotel.

Service was abrupt and inconsistent. I will blame the lack of English skills of the staff and the responses we got from English questions is deers, headlights, bam! However, if you speak Japanese or Mandarin, the service flows better.

The hotel caters mainly for Japanese and Chinese guests. Even the breakfast is very Japanese centric. Not really an issue except you'd notice the excessive pampering to the Japanese and Chinese and not much to any other guests.

Half the concierge guys and gal were friendly and helpful but I suggest that if you have any questions regarding locations and places to go (except for the DMZ tour) to do your own research because we were given wrong information on two well known spots and it did seem that the two we spoke to gave whatever information so that they don't have to speak and explain in English.

After checking in and being given the keys, we were surprised to see the door of the room assigned to us wide open. Rooms are of average size and quite tight. The housekeepers maintained clean rooms. There is no fitness center, no room service, no minibar. There are free WiFi and computer in the room. I do suggest that the hotel wipes the history and the files of previous guests because I really do not fancy knowing the people who stayed in the room prior to me are into 3 - 50 year olds in a hot tub.

Most likely, I'd never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
First of all, thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination.

But we are sorry to hear that we couldn't give you a nice memory when you stayed in us.
If you felt so bad and uncomfortable, we apologize about it once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I chose the PJ Hotel for my parents while they visited for a couple weeks in October. We weren't disappointed as the hotel is very nice, clean, and in a good location. There were lots of staff members around all the time, and most were helpful, especially the bellhop out front in helping us get a taxi with our luggage (as for luggage, they have a bag escalator next to the front steps, a nice touch).

They stayed in a double room, with two nice beds, a small tv but good number of channels, decent wifi, balcony and pretty good view. Also a nice espresso maker in the room. The bathroom was nice, but the shower was very short and difficult to stand up in. The location is good for Myeongdong, Insadong, Jongno, and not far from the main temples. It's a little dark around the area at night, but bustling during the day (typical of the center of Seoul), I wasn't worried at all about safety or security in the area. International plugs in the room was nice as well.

A small annoyance was the 'rooftop garden' that was listed in the lobby information and in the elevators. We were expecting at least a few chairs and place to view the city, but once up on the roof we discovered it was totally empty except for a few potted plants in a corner. Maybe because the weather was getting colder, but it seems like it's unsused. Seems like it could be turned into a really nice spot.

Overall, it's a nice hotel but expensive for what you get. You can be sure of a good stay, but if you're budget hunting, keep looking!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yongsune, 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your valuable review.

We are sorry to hear that you were a tad disappointed about our facilities which mean the garden.
Based on your review, we will try to fix it better place.

Thank you for your helpful advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel PJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ

Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-282, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#46 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ ,have always tride our best to provide ourguests with high-quality service and convenience.Located favorably in the center of seoul,our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities.Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by bestservice and support.We have 271 guest rooms more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors.It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services.Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator,LCDTV,safety boxelectric kettle,balcony(in some guestrooms),fabricrefresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access,tea cups, tumbler,ice pail,electric bidet,bathtub,complimentary mineral water/coffee/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel PJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel PJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.