We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas to your Saves list
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Teheranno Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-732, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 530 Reviews
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent three nights in July '12 in a lovely suite at this very good hotel, with a birthday cake awaiting on entering our suite yay! This is a Grand hotel indeed, maybe slightly dated but still pretty impressive. Convenient location in Gangnam with easy walk to metro station, an excellent limo-bus service from the airport with drop-off a few steps away from hotel main entrance, and return to the airport was an easy five minutes walk to the limo-bus terminal. The terminal and the hotel are actually part-of/ linked to the massive COEX mall (with another IC at another end), which had pretty much everything that a traveler needs: restaurants, coffee-shops, delis, general shopping etc.

Still the hotel lost one star in our books due to some hiccups/'hardware' limitations as Amy (hotel guest relations/Ambassador programme rep) puts it. But Amy, HeNa and many others at the hotel are definitely five plus stars! as they really cared and excelled in softening the hotel's limitations especially for leisure guests traveling with family like ours.

Basically we feel the hotel's main focus to be at business travelers, e.g. facilities such as swimming pool off-limits to children aged below 12yrs old, inclusive breakfast is for max two pax only so expect to pay a hefty supplement for child's breakfast. All acceptable? one may ask, but problem is we were never informed of this until check-in...

As for the breakfast spread it was pretty awesome, minimal added salt, very good cuts of meat and cooked really well ie not dry/rubbery, and the omelette station chef certainly knew his job by the way he tapped his wrist to drive the pan/item in his charge. And last but not least, the bell-boy Alan who accompanied us/brought our luggage to the limo-bus terminal was so rightly proud of his commitment to offer great service as part of his job, that he absolutely and flatly refused a tip from us to thank him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    198
    71
    24
    5
See reviews for
66
77
63
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Let me first say that these is absolutely nothing wrong functionally with the hotel. Service is attentive/accommodating (got a late check-out at 2pm with absolutely no hassle), the room was large and the location in Gangnam near COEX and shopping center makes it convenient to that area. But given all the new hotels that have been built in Asia, this one is lagging behind. The room decor is acceptable enough, but rather dated; while large, the room layout is a little peculiar with numerous closets; while there is a sitting area, the sofa and chair look trendy but are not comfortable (especially the sofa which only has half a back rest); and the bathroom could be compartmentalized better (if you open the door while entering the bathroom, you could smash the legs of the person sitting on the toilet). If your meetings are in the traditional Seoul CBD or Yoeu-Ido, then this hotel is a bit out of the way - about a third further away from Gimpo airport that those other areas. With the Shilla hotel undergoing a refurb, I see this one going under the 'facelift knife' in the not-too-distant future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are glad you found our location convenient. However, we regret falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is for business travelers and people who want to be near COEX for conferences and shopping. There are better luxury hotels in Seoul if you have the money to spend and want more of a getaway/vacation/romantic stay and don't care about the location too much. I stayed at the W Seoul and think it is much more modern and luxurious than the InterContinental. The downside to the W is that it is far from the city center. With the Intercontinental, you are right next to the mall, Samseong subway station, and the convention center. The rooms are dated. I have seen much better hotel rooms for the price and have seen better rooms at least expensive hotels in Seoul. Again, you are paying for the location and the name "Intercontinental". The gym is sufficient, but as I stated above, the facilities aren't the most modern. The breakfast was probably what I liked most about my stay. Make sure the cost of your stay covers the breakfast buffet at the "Grand Kitchen". It reminded me of the really nice buffets that I tried in Las Vegas. Lots of options including Western and Korean food. It is pricey (around 45,000 KRW at the moment), so if you are here on business or planning a conference, try to get a deal that includes breakfast for your guests. I probably wouldn't stay here again. If you plan to spend over 200,000 KRW per night on a room there are better options out there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear CarmenSandiego30,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on the breakfast. However, we do apologize the experience you had with the condition of the facilities, room accommodations and hotel location was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location, rooms are great and very clean.

All the extras are very expensive. £30 for breakfast each.....and £10 for a 330ml bottle of local beer. Wifi is on the high side too. At £ 200 a night, thought at least wifi would be included.

Breakfast was pricey, but it was very good quality with a hug selection to cater for all tastes.

Right next to big mall, however full of large American chain shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed 9 nights in this hotel and cannot think of a thing I would change. The service is outstanding and I never wanted for anything. Rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable and it was very clean. The breakfast buffet was fantastic - huge selection from traditional Korean foods to hash browned potatos. I rarely ate the same thing twice. We found the concierge to be very helpful and willing for any request. The front desk staff was efficient, competent and wanting to please. In fact, I was not accustomed to a hotel staff genuinely interested in how I found my stay.

Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
776 reviews 776 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Instead of paying too much for a taxi ride from the airport, take the KAL bus for 15,000won and it drops you right in front of the hotel, it's the first stop so don't miss it. This is a 5 star hotel that tries to please and has the infrastructure and manpower to back this up. Check-in was friendly and efficient and for whatever reason, they had an army of staff all over the lobby to guide you in every way. Lobby was very grand

The room is large and comfortable. They have the flat tv and separate shower which I need. Wifi is expensive but at least it's fast and allows multiple devices, unlike other hotels around the world. Housekeeping was excellent and they don't miss a thing, also unlike most hotels

Room service is prompt, service excellent and the food quality acceptable. The Japanese restaurant was expensive too, has a affable sushi chef, good for the tuna and uni, but give the scallop a miss

The gym was large and again, with excellent service, though it looks a little dated. The indoor pool is small and didn't look inviting

The hotel is also conveniently located next to the samseoung train station so that you can get around easily. It's also just 3 stops away from gangnam if you need to find psy

Overall, an excellent and true 5 star hotel with eager to please staff all over the hotel

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sad that we only had one night at this hotel! Service was top notch and although very upscale, the service was friendly! This is an expensive location by most standards for food and beverage. However, the location makes up for it.

The top floor has an upscale restaurant with a world class wine selection and a great view.

My room however - I didn't want to leave! Seriously wonderful! The Asian decor and mix of fabrics, wood and design blew my senses away!

Like all big city hotels, the higher the floor the better the view!

Room Tip: Plan to hang out and eat elsewhere unless you can afford very high drink and meal prices. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Address: 521 Teheranno Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-732, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#30 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#35 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#45 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas is well-known for luxurious accommodation, impeccable service and fine dining. At Gangnam, in the center of Seoul, the hotel is convenient to business, shopping, entertainment and all forms of transportation. Nearby is the Coex Complex, which includes the World Trade Center, Convention & Exhibition Center, a casino and more. Please note, sections of the hotel are being remodeled, which may limit access to some facilities until the end of January 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas Hotel Seoul
Intercontinental Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.