We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a 6th star they would get it - best business hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Seoul to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea (Itaewon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #42 of 418 Hotels in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If there was a 6th star they would get it - best business hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I stay at the Grand Hyatt almost every time I go to Seoul. It is the most amazing hotel in the city. It is not as central as the Sheela, not as slick as the W, but is packed with character and the night entertainment is second to none. The food is out of this world, the view from the (small) rooms is magic, the bars are extraordinary, the breakfast is memorable. I recommend it with no restriction. It is "grand".

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    417
    121
    44
    21
See reviews for
133
150
131
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed for three nights on business and was quite inpressed .... To start with. Then I got into the bed and wow, for thus brand of hotel I was really dissapointed. Very hard. Very lumpy and king size actually meant two singles pushed together. When I complained I was told that I didn't ask for a "real king" when I booked! What a joke.

BUT credit to them, the restaurants are excellent an I can strongly recommend the weekend brunch.

Just make sure you ask for a real king.....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The hotel is located at the top of a hill w view of Seoul. So if you are big on views, then maybe this is the hotel for you. I am not. I want to feel welcomed, cared and relaxed in a hotel during a business trip. The hotel is mediocre in that regard. I have been to the hotel three times for business conferences and meetings so this is not just the feeling this time.
Rooms are good, similar to other Grand Hyatt rooms. Not very spacious but good enough. Bathroom is clean and modern, also similar to other Grand Hyatt bathrooms. Wifi however costs W25000 a day, per device. Pretty pricy.
By the way hotels in Seoul don't provide toothpaste for free due to some regulations. but it is provided in the room for a nominal fee. Laundry service is reasonably priced and in-room dining menu is good.
Service otherwise is quite mediocre. Staffs are polite but not attentative. They don't feel the need to make you feel welcomed. I called to ask for the hour of a restaurant next door, and they suggested me to walk over and take a look myself. I put "make up room" tag outside of my door but when I come back four hours later, it was still there. by the way the cleaning cart has been right there on the same floor the whole time. Maybe they need to hire more cleaning staff.
There's no shopping or many restaurants within walking distance. Everything has to be a taxi ride away. The hotel itself doesn't have a Korean restaurant, although they have some Korean dishes in the Terrace and on room service menu.
There are no desks for you at the business center to work on but you can sit next to the lady working there if you'd like. The lady there lend me a $1 glue after I told her I would use it right there. Then she was still not comfortable and came to say 'please return it'. Salon staff also makes you feel the same way - polite but quite distant.
I spent a Sunday there without much to do. Other than the business center without writing desk, room without in-time cleaning service, lobby lounge with millions of people, there's a nice outdoor skating that looked interesting. Many children were having some fun.
In terms of sleep quality, most of times it is good but you can always hear people talk/walk in the lobby - I am not sure if it is because the doors are thinner or something else. I am usally a good sleeper.
Overall it is a hotel to have some rest but I don't feel there's any charm. I won't come back if given a choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Great hotel, wonderful staff. Excellent food & drinks on the club level. The gym was one of the best we've seen at a hotel and had friendly helpful staff there too. Lovely lobby and coffee shop has great city views. Bus service to Itaewon and Myeondong. Best of all was watching the ice skaters on the beautiful rink which is the pool in summer. Outside heaters keep you warm while you watch. Great stay. Highly recommended! And free parking too! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saipan, Mariana Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Sitting atop Namsan Hill, Grand Hyatt Seoul was complemented by a great view of Han River, awesome hospitality and functional rooms. Arrived early and I was greeted by an attentive front desk clerk and was escorted to my room. All the staff members made my stay exceptional! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my friends or to you!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Great hotel with very good rooms, very clean, beautifull views, many restaurants, good breakfast, friendly staff. Not exactly in the city center but short taxi ride away from shops and restaurants... Recommend this hotel to all!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Situated atop a hillok, Hyatt offers a great view of the city. I stayed in rommo 1610 and that faced the river. It was really wonderful.
As you enter the hotel, and it was pretty cold outside, the warmth is very comforting and the receptionists take good care to understand the needs an allocate the rooms quickly. The explanations are precise and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and very well organised except the writing table is the first thing that you see.
The bathrooms are clean, well maintained and has the requisite aminities.
SPA in the hotel is great and is a must visit. JJ's is great chill out place in the evening.
Breakfast spraed in the private dining could be improved though.
Overall a grand experience of Grand Hyatt.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Park Hyatt Seoul
#22 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#4 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
#18 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#2 of 418 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Seoul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#35 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#40 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.