We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and service were excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Seoul to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #31 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Views and service were excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Location overlooks the city and hills.
Breakfast buffet has a variety: waffles and eggs made to order, fruit, fresh juices, cheeses, cold cuts and then local Korean fare. Excellent coffee.
The hotel staff are helpful and always available to assist. It's like they are always watching to see if a client needs something.
The lower floor restaurant, JJ's, is not particularly outstanding. It's price point is $23+ for pastas, sandwiches, burgers ($26 usd what?). Not sure if the inattentive service is a cultural difference or is just weak at this restaurant. Certainly not the level of service received at the hotel in general.

Waking distance to Itawaen street. Plus a great little side street right off the hotel entrance with quiet lounges.

Cabs averaged $6 to various venues.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We sincerely apologise that our service levels failed to meet your expectations. We are always pleased to receive comments from valued guests like yourself, which motivates us to better serve each and every guest. We have noted your comments and are committed to improving the service areas that require attention. We hope that we may have another opportunity in the future to regain your confidence in our service at all outlets.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    349
    106
    34
    16
See reviews for
106
126
117
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I will be honest and this hotel has one of worst public transportation options (taxi is convenient and affordable in Korea but quickly adds up) but both scenic view and fantastic food options quickly pays off.
If you are at regency club, both breakfast and happy hour snack is top choice for Korea hotels. It does not have Korean traditional food but excellent food and drink choices.
The service is excellent and very attentive, even compared at Asian 5 star scale. The gym, swimming pool, tennis court, scenic walking at front yard, quick access to NamSan park makes this hotel very good choice. I highly recommend sauna!

Room Tip: Choose top floor for scenic river view for about $10 to $15 a night. hotel officially charges for ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. We have shared your compliments with our staffs, as feedback from our valued guests is our greatest source of satisfaction and motivation.
While we graciously welcome favourable feedback, we equally value constructive comments and have taken your remarks with regards to public transportation up with the bus service that runs the service between the hotel and the Itaewon subway stop.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business arriving late and leaving straight after breakfast. The room was small but absolutely spotless with a superbly designed layout so even given its size you had all the facilities one needed. The bathroom was one of most compact I have ever seen but very well designed.The view over the city was excellent. Breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing but adequate. Overall a very sound business hotel with commanding views over the city

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that that you were disappointed with our breakfast buffet, and we have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage department. We host guests from all over the world, and try to cater to a diversity of tastes.
We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you once again in the near future, and that you will feel more satisfied with our breakfast buffet.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good food and good location being perched on top of Itawon area. SMacked right in the midde between gangnam and Byeongdong area. Staff are friendly with good views. The gym and sauna is fantastic, it is all in one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to share your experience. Thank you for your kind words and we are happy that we succeeded in providing you with a pleasant stay. It is our aim to satisfy all our guests, all of the time. To receive such positive comments is a great source of pride and satisfaction. We offer our best wishes and would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is inline with other 5 star hotels and so is the price, but the scenic view is nice. Rooms are up to 5 star standard, but not exceptional. Nothing amazed me, and nothing disappointed me.
Airport Limo bus drops you at the hotel, and there are always plenty of taxis waiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you liked the hotel and you were satisfied with our scenic views. Your opinion is very important for us as it enables us to constantly improve our service so that in future visits, we continue to exceed expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent hotel (My room was perfect )
Very good service
Perfect breakfast (it is hard to find similar one )
Well located
For around 200$ .... it is a good deal
There are a shuttle in every hour from/to myeongdong

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your words, citing us as an “excellent hotel”. We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback about your recent stay with us. We have shared your comments with our staff, as it will be a source of pride and motivation to achieve even higher levels of hospitality and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to have the opportunity to meet you in the near future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am thinking this hotel would be ideal for a young, very short person with good night vision who liked loud music, travelled with a full set of tools, did not want to shower, and enjoyed a room hot enough to run around with no clothes. My room was 26 or 27C and could not get it cooler, the shower drain did not work, the door handle fell off trapping me in the room, the service was poor, the safe was located at floor level in a dark cupboard with minimal lighting. The shower drain backed up so I had to shut it off after 4 minutes. This was supposed to be a luxury room and was not cheap. The hotel is beautiful, well-located, and spectacular. Very buzzy with great clubs and action on a Friday night but pretty sad for a weary traveller who is used to luxury hotels.

Room Tip: Hard to say - mine was slick and flashy but not very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us and sincerely apologise for the issues that failed to meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that the problems you encountered were not reflective of the standards to which we hold ourselves accountable. We continually look at ways to improve our service and your comments are most valuable. We appreciate you sharing your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#13 Business Hotel in Seoul
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.