We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seoul Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Seoul to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea (Itaewon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #40 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Betchworth, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Seoul Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I would recommend wholeheartedly staying here in Seoul. It is a lovely setting with amazing views of the city.
The rooms are a very good size with all amenities. The deluxe rooms have great showers. The only thing in the rooms is that the Aircon is turned off in October and rooms can get a bit hot when the sun is on them. The bed was a little harder than I like but I actually slept well.

The pool is great and good size if you want to do some exercise as opposed to just laze around.

One added benefit is that Taxis are always freely available with no waiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul and for sharing your observations and recommendations with other TripAdvisor users!

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us was both pleasant and comfortable. We sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    376
    114
    41
    18
See reviews for
116
134
123
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great room...amazing view over the city and river from the hill top.
Lavish breakfast, again with great views down to the city.
Highly recommended.
Very handy for the viewing tower on the nearby hill top and nearby art gallery

Room Tip: High up with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are naturally proud of our location and the service we provide, and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments – thank you again!

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were mistreated , neglected,
ignored during check in..

We arrived on a rainy day,
there was NO one at the main entrance to handle the luggage,
greet us ....etc

The clerk who was handling
the check-in was so unfriendly,
that made the experience very unpleasant.

Remember this is a Five-star Hotel,
not a hostel...

Room Tip: ignore this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us and would like to sincerely apologise for the service failures you encountered.

We do assign dedicated staff to welcome our guests on arrival, including baggage assistance, valet and guest greeting services. For some reason, these staff members were not in place at the time of your arrival. We are reviewing this area of coverage to ensure that this does not affect future guest experiences.

With regards to your unpleasant check-in experience, this was certainly not reflective of the high level of personal service by which we hold ourselves accountable. We truly apologise. We have taken all of your comments into consideration and are reinforcing our focus on these areas of service.

I know that these apologies cannot reverse your unsatisfactory experience, but we appreciate your taking the time to bring this matter to our attention so that we may pursue improvements. We hope that sometime in the future you will allow us the privilege of serving you again, so that we may restore your confidence in Grand Hyatt Seoul.


Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice and every time I enjoyed the great service the staff provided. The hotel is not as convenient in term of its physical location but the free shuttle service is very helpful. Rooms were a little smaller than I expected, but very clean and pleasant especially with the impressive view. The drawback I think is its higher prices both for rooms and restaurants. The breakfast buffet, for example, which is in average based on east Asia standards costs about $40 USD. I also stayed in Grand Hilton in Gangnam which is a better choice if you are on business in Gangnam and do not plan to spend much time in downtown Seoul.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side with a great view of Hangang river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul. We are so pleased to hear that you received great service from our staff during your stay.

Thank you also for your comments on our prices. We continually strive to provide the highest value for the quality of service that we deliver. With Seoul being one of Asia’s higher cost economies, our prices, unfortunately, reflect these realities. Nevertheless, we are committed to providing the best value for our customer’s dollar and will take your comments into consideration.

Thank you once again for your candid feedback.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Grand but it lacks the extra touch. I cant say for certain anything is wrong or bad. But it lacks the unique touch. That said the Grand Hyatt has a great view of the surrounding. You will experience it when you have your breakfast at the the cafe. If it wasn't for the crowd, I would say the stay at this hotel would have been more pleasant.

The hotel is suited for biz travellers. It is not situated in the most convenient location for tourist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the candid comments about your stay at our hotel. Our improvement is only possible with honest feedback such as yours. We hope that we may have the opportunity in the future, to provide you with the service you expect and look forward to your return visit.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Granted that it's a bit old, but that's also where the charm lies. It's 1 of Seoul's earliest 5 star hotels and the locals view it as an icon in some ways. If you need transport from the airport, there is a limo bus service that runs direct to the hotel. It's perched on a hilltop in the Itaewon area so don't try to walk up with your lugguage. Classical Hyatt is probably how I would describe it.

We stayed in a Grand King Suite and also had access to the Grand Club for canapes, cocktails and breakfast. I didn't really like the Grand Club as compared to some of the other Regency Clubs or Park Clubs. The sun was too bright in the morning during breakfast and was kind of blinding. The staff did draw the blinds down promptly though.

The buffet dinner at The Terrace was outstanding. Definitely 1 of the better buffet dinners at a 5star hotel, and that's coming from 2 foodies. The room service was above average too. Do check out JJ Mahoneys for a drink too. Feels like a more classic bar/pub feel than a club.

Room was spacious and comfortable. typical Grand Hyatt style, a little dated. I would like to mention that the service at the front counter by a staff named Kenneth [--], definitely DID NOT live up to service expectations. Throwing a customer's card onto the table and not handing it back politely is certainly not acceptable for me at an established chain like Hyatt. Atttitude was nonchalant and kind of aloof which was a big turn off to me, given that I stay with Hyatt pretty often.

Comparing Park Hyatt Seoul and Grand Hyatt Seoul, the service at Park Hyatt Seoul is way better. More personal, More smiles, More professional. Having stayed at both, my choice would be Park Hyatt Seoul over Grand Hyatt Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving detailed feedback about your stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul. We very much appreciate your honest comments, and sincerely apologize for your inconvenience and that our service levels failed to meet your expectations. We hope that we may have the opportunity in the future, to regain your trust and look forward to your return visit.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Best Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

On my first trip to Seoul I decided to stay with a familiar hotel chain... and the GH in Seoul didn't disappoint. I got a very nice and modern room overlooking the city. It was a little small but quite luxurious and it suited me fine.

The rest of the hotel is also quite nice, I especially liked the Gym and Spa. You can even get some workout clothes there so no need to bring your own.

Location is not the best, it's a little remote on top of a hill. But it's nice to walk around the area and if you want to go shopping an are tired of climbing the hill, there is a shuttle bus. And taxi's are cheap.

The lounges on both club floors are a little small but service and offerings are good.

So a very decent hotel when you don't mind the more remote location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Manager at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our sole mission is to meet and exceed our guests’ high expectations and make sure that their stay with us is a pleasant one. It is gratifying to hear that we have met your expectations.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Seoul.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Seoul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#39 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.