We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Seoul to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea (Itaewon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #36 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
new york ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Time ran out as I prepared for a business trip to Asia. I was looking for hotels in the $150 range and wanted something with local character but they were booking up. Atlast, the only options available were in the $250 range, and I was shocked that the Hyatt and Best Western were in the same price range. I explained to my colleague that it was the best option left.
We climbed the hill and slid down into the lobby. Grand vaulted ceilings towered above a bustling lobby full of well mannered, sharp staff. Beautiful flight attendants from the middle east entered passing international business men while the US State Department whisked out in black armored cars. The lobby spills into a dining room and bar where the world relaxed with cocktails to the sounds of a Chanteuse and the twinkling carpet of Seoul glistened below.
We stayed in a club room (the least expensive) and were treated to amazing views of Namsam Mountain Park, which I enjoyed from the most comfortable of beds. The room is a fantastic nest of intersecting lines of wood, a warm and modern design. I ordered a fantastic room service of fresh orange juice, croissants and coffee and enjoyed the comforts of the bed and fantastic view of Seoul before taking a swim in the beautiful indoor pool.
This hotel is fantastic. It has the comforts of a far more expensive accommodation. It has turned me onto to Hyatt Hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    380
    114
    41
    18
See reviews for
117
135
123
484
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Grand Hyatt in Seoul was one of the most relaxing and comfortable hotels we have stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff, brilliant breakfast with very attentive service. We tried two of their resturants the Chinese and French and although quite expensive they did not dissappiont. One night I also had room service and it was the quickest delivery I have ever had from a hotel room service. The hotel is situated a bit out of the centre but taxis are cheap enough to use on a regular basis. All in all would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent one night in the Grand Hyatt during the last weekend of October. The grounds, and the lobby were as beautiful as I had heard. Very grand indeed! We were early for check in so front desk gave us a free drink voucher which was very nice. The view was gorgeous so I did not mind the wait. The front reception desk were always amazing and helpful. As for the room. we were in the King Deluxe so the room was not that small, but I could not believe the bed. I realize that hard beds are more typical in Korea, but to feel the springs was a bit too much. It would be nice if the hotel could supply some memory foam mattresses for visitors who like a more plush sleeping experience. Otherwise, the view was very nice and all of the windows to show off this view was gorgeous. The room was a bit chilly and I could not work the termostat, but when I told the front desk, we came back later in the evening to a heated room, and a small space heater. I found this very nice. Anyway, the location was great, cabs to Itaewon are cheap, and there are plenty of cute little bars and shops right near the hotel. All in all, it was a nice visit. But for $360 total, I think I need a hotel with a better bed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I've stayed there many times...Seoul is hot right now and this hotel especially is overpriced. It is primarily a business hotel. Rooms are small and the atmosphere is stuffy. Restaurants are also
overpriced. Walking distance to Itaewon, however. The property is very clean but at over $300 bucks a night wouldn't you rather stay at a nice beach resort for half that?

Room Tip: If you can swing the executive rooms do it. Outstanding breakfast buffet, especially if you like col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Fantastic location. A bit far from the centre of Itaewon, but taxi is quite easy to get and there are frequent shuttle bus to take you down to the street level.

Room is small (as all of hotel room in Seoul are) but quite nicely decorated and comfortable.

Elegant lobby and lounge bar area, with a nice view to the city. 5 Stars gym and sauna/steam room area.

Good for business and or leisure. Cant think of anywhere better to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot,
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Grand Hyatt has to be just about the best all-round package in Seoul. Yes, there are hotels with bigger rooms, but everything about the place is professional, efficient and delightful. From check-in to check-out the staff are first class, the facilities are extensive, the view is unrivalled in Seoul and even in many other city locations around the world and the feel of the place makes it seem like coming home when you return for another visit! Either on your own for business, with your partner or with a group of business guests the Grand Hyatt doesn't just exceed expectations, it blows them away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Area Director of Sales and Marketing at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Sir ,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Thank you again for your kind comment.

Best regards,
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I like Hyatt. But the Grand Hyatt in Seoul is so sure to have enough business that it does not really care about the customers like you and me. They prefer the diplomats as the hotel is located amongst most prestigious embassy in South Korea. My last stay was disappointing. The room was not cleaned properly, the service was loose. So I've decided to stay in other hotels in Seoul now. If like me you like what Hyatt usually stands for, then avoid the Grand Hyatt Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Area Director of Sales and Marketing at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Sir ,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We apologise sincerely for any inconvenience caused and will revisit our training initiatives to ensure that all staff members deliver the consistent, quality service for which Grand Hyatt Seoul is known.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-738, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seoul
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#41 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.