We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Insadong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Insadong to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Insadong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Insadong 4-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul) (Gwanghwamun / Jongno)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Austin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Excellent location, walking distance from everything we needed. Staff was friendly. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed, included an air purifier. That came in very handy after a couple of days in the smog. Bed was comfortable, shower was hot. Lights flickered a little but otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    159
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
156
54
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice (Nov. 2010 and May 2014) and both experiences were consistent.

The rooms are spacious and clean (with western style bathrooms, a living area, an adequate kitchen and a washer/dryer). The front desk service is friendly and helpful and since my 2010 visit the hotel has started providing guests (if you ask) with a small fold out card that has a variety of phrases in Korean that you can show to cab drivers (super helpful!).

The location in Insadong is also perfect: Insadong is a great area and you can easily walk to both Gyeongbok Palace and Cheonggyecheon stream. For added convenience, there is there is a 7-11 right across the street, a subway station about a block away, a great Korean bbq place around the corner and a Starbuck's just a short walk away.

The only thing the hotel could improve upon is the wifi service. I didn't mind paying W40000 for my entire 10 day stay, however that only gives you access for 2 devices and they can't be logged in at the same time (and you also can't be using wired internet at the same time). It was also frustrating that you had to re-enter the log in and password every time you came back to the room (my device would remember the network, but the hotel system forces you to log back in).

Finally, we had minor issues with the in-room thermostats. There were three digital thermostats in the room and you could push the buttons, but the settings wouldn't actually change. Our room was cold and the front desk had a radiator type space heater delivered for us -- this was nice, but it would seem simpler to be able to adjust the thermostat.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others. It's a great value for the money.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and could hear some street noise in our room a night. For a quieter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

As the title states, Fraser Suites Insadong is in one of the best locations in Seoul. Insadong itself can be explored for hours at a time and the subway is right there. Rooms are adequate with a great kitchen set up.

The internet at this hotel, however, is abysmal. For W40K one gets two separate wireless logins that cannot be shared with other devices. On top of that, the connection frequently drops and one must log in dozens of times to access the internet. While the staff was a great help to straighten some of this out, I had to log in on my laptop every time I needed to use it. If you're on a straight vacation with no work, no worries. But if you need to stay in contact with your office, this gets tedious. Management should join the 21st century and provide seemless internet access (although I'm sure it's a cash cow for them).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was staying in this condotel for 8 days and it truly feels like home. There were some flaws but they were so tiny. However, I will try to describe my experiences as clear as possible.

I will start with the positive points:

- The location is just perfect, around 5 minutes walk from Anguk station (both the subway station, and the airport bus stop: take bus 6011 from Incheon airport and stop at Anguk Station) or 3 minutes walk from Jongno-3-ga station. It is also near all tourist locations i.e. Bukchon Hanok Village, Insadong market just next door, and all major palaces including Gwanghwamun. Local restaurants and convenient stores are scattered around the hotel.
- Reception desk staff speak very good english and they were really helpful. I was arrived early and had ordered an early check-in, but my room was not ready since all rooms were full booked. At the end they offered me free wifi connection during my stay to redeem that. How nice!
- I stayed at 1 bedroom room and it was huge. It has laundry room where you can wash your clothes, small study desk, good size of kitchen with all utensils, good size of bathroom with deep bath tub and shower, good size of bedroom with huge wardrobe and ironing board, good size of living room with dining room and 2 TVs (1 at the living room, 1 at your bedroom).
- There were gym, sauna, and indoor pool as well but I didn't managed to use them as I was too busy enjoying the city.
- There were lots of art pieces in the hotel. My favourite was the violin statue in the lobby.

Now the low points which I think not that significant if you plan it right:
- No toothbrush and toothpaste so don't forget to bring it or buy it at 7-eleven store outside the hotel.
- Breakfast was expensive and not that good. My advice is to book room-only and go enjoy eating out at local restaurants which were scattered around the hotel. Or if you enjoy cooking, just buy some groceries at the convenient store outside the hotel. So don't worry about it.
- Wifi is not free. It was a bit surprising to know that wifi is not free in this hotel especially if you also knew that this is Seoul, one of the most wired city in the world. But don't worry. I suggest you to buy a prepaid sim card at G45 store at incheon airport (30,000₩ is enough) and register for data package service.
- Airport shuttle is expensive, it is 130,000₩ one way. Why not use the airport bus number 6011 for 10,000₩ one way then? You do need a bit of walk to and from the Anguk bus stop, but hey you can use those 100,000₩ for something else.

At the end, I truly enjoy staying at this hotel and this city. I'll definitely comeback and definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Let me start by saying that this hotel is in a great choice by any measure--it's right in the heart of Insadong, close to shopping and the subway...and down the street from my office--and the suites are first-rate.
There were some small issues with items like the dry-cleaning--but the staff is really excellent and all spoke very good English, which in Seoul, one cannot take for granted. I even had a washer/dryer, oven and full-sized refrigerator, as well as a beautiful view. I really have only one complaint with the Fraser Suites which prevents it from being a 5-star experience--and that is the clumsy internet access. They gave me one access code to connect one device-which is fine. I purchased an additional code to hook up my laptop. This was no big deal. The part that was really poor was that I had to re-type both the access ID and password every single time I wanted to use the internet. Sometimes I would simply put my phone down for 30 minutes, and when I picked it up again, I had to re-login. To some people, this is probably no big deal. To me, staying on business for 2 weeks, this is enough to slightly sour an otherwise great stay. I would stay here again for pleasure...but might try somewhere else next time if I am staying on business.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking of a home away from home in Seoul, look no further than the Fraser Suites Insadong. The hotel is located in a district known for traditional Korean arts and crafts with many restaurants and cafés nearby. The room that I had was a 3-bedroom apartment (apartment 401) which was spacious with a big living room , fully equipped kitchenette and washing machine. The staff are friendly and helpful. Jongno 3 ga subway station is a 5 minute walk away. There is a Coffee Bean and Tealeaf Cafe within the same building where you can have your breakfast if you decide not to dine at the hotel's restaurant. Wifi however, is not free. It costs W40,000 for stays of more than 3 days. But with the abundance of free wifi in most public places in Seoul, there is really no need to pay for the wifi access.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, a Capital town
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved being located right in Insadong. The suites are comfortable and generous and the staff are very helpful. The fitness facilities, with pool and sauna were great too. There's lots to see and do right in Insadong, and you are a short walk away from central Seoul attractions.

Room Tip: I think they are all essentially the same. We actually had 3 suites because of the number of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Insadong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Insadong

Address: 18, Insadong 4-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#33 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#34 Business Hotel in Seoul
#44 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Insadong 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Suites Insadong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Seoul Hotel Seoul
Fraser Hotel Seoul
Seoul Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Insadong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.