We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Insadong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Insadong to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Insadong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Nakwon-dong Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 347 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived early in the morning after a long flight and although we were unable to check in to our room, the staff took our luggage and provided us with a lift key to go to the second floor. The second floor consisted of a swimming pool, gym, sauna, hot tub and restaurant. Although the restaurant was no longer serving food, you could get free tea, coffee and hot chocolate.
The reception staff were very helpful and polite throughout our stay. As the majority of taxi drivers were unable to speak any English at all, we told the reception staff where we wanted to go and they wrote it in Korean on paper for us to give to the driver which made getting around much easier! Most of the time we use the metro which is close to the hotel and has three different lines through the nearest station. The hotel also can give you a card to give to the driver with the location of the hotel which again was helpful after a long day sightseeing.

We stayed in a three bedroom deluxe apartment and had breakfast included. Our room was spotless and had fantastic facilities as listed on the website. The only down side was there were not enough towels so we had to request them everyday as housekeeping would still only put three towels in the room (two bathrooms and four people). We all had excellent sleeps and the apartment was a great place to end the day as it was very comfortable.

Te breakfast was different everyday but served a variety of Asian and western breakfasts and there was never a shortage (we were normally down between 8 and 9am). The staff there were helpful also. It was a good idea to fill up on breakfast and make it last as there are lots of coffee places around Seoul but they only sell snacks that a meal (western) was difficult unless you went for McDonalds.
At the basement of the hotel there are some restaurants and I ate at the steak house which was okay and then at a Korean one which was lovely and reasonably priced.

The hotel is round the corner from a main shopping part which was enjoyable to look around. There is also a 7eleven across the road and the staff there were helpful and they sold the majority of things you could need but the hotel does provide scheduled trips to supermarkets for those who are there for a longer stay.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fraser suites and would stay again! I would definitely recommend this to travellers who like to have all the amenities of home while they are away and those who are looking for an excellent location, close to all the sights!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    145
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
142
49
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I arrived the hotel early in the morning and couldn't check in. However, the staffs are helpful and offered us to use hotel's fitness for refreshment. There are shower, clean towels, steam rooms and hot bath tub...very impressed.
The location is great just walking 5-10 minutes to reach shopping areas, tourist spots(palace, park etc.) and many good coffee shops around.
The local food stalls & shops around that area are great too, delicious and not expensive.
We stayed in a family suite with 3 bedrooms. The room is spacious and clean with all facilities you want to have; microwave, fridge, washing machine and oven.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Like: Conveniently located between main districts
Pre-arrival welcoming email is sweet
Enjoyed the sauna and gymnasium much

Dislike: Sound proofing among rooms should be improved - Can hear all kinds of noise from next door and lift lobby
The staff should mention about the huge renovation project happening at the lobby, which caused a lot of inconvenience at arrival and during our stay
No one assisted us for the luggage especially we had to pull them on uneven wooden boards
They do have a relaxing lounge with statement at the entrance indicated that breakfast is free for all residents however not for guests who booked through online agent
No direct transport to the Airport except Taxi near 100000W

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my father from 21 Feb-25 Feb, 2013. We chose the hotel based on recommendations from my brother, who lives in Incheon--he suggested this hotel because of its central location and access to the metro, shops, and restaurants. Knowing nothing about Seoul except what I've learned from travel books and the internet, we decided to follow his suggestion.

The hotel is basically located between 3 metro stops, so getting there was easy; after coming in via the airport line to Seoul Station and transferring to the #3 metro line, we decided that the closest stop was Jongdak, and you would exit to the street level via the YMCA exit. As you exit at the top of the stairs, there's a Pizza Hut and Mr. Pizza directly in front of you, so these acted as easy reference points to my dad and I when we were out on our own (without our handy tour guide--my brother!). To get to the hotel, you'd just walk straight down the street (Jong-ro) and to the first stoplight intersection (street: Samil-daero), where you'd turn left. Follow this about 200 yards until you reach the fork in the road--there's a big mural and a small plaza directly in front of you. Go right and you walk another couple of blocks and run directly into the hotel. Go left onto Insadong-gil and walk a couple of blocks until you reach then have to turn right at Insadong 4-gil to reach the back of the hotel--easy to find, as there's a 7-11 directly across the street from the hotel's back entrance. When we were there, the lobby was being renovated, so you could only enter through the back entrance, hence we would turn left at the fork in the road to enter the hotel every day.

We had a 2 room suite. One room had a full-size bed and private bath; the other was a single bed. Another full bath was in the main living area. Additionally, our suite (15th floor) had a kitchen and washing machine--VERY HELPFUL! We were able to wash and hang our clothes to dry before heading out for the day. There was also a small desk, dining table, and small sofa (not a pullout sofa) in the living area. A balcony stretched the length of the room, from living area to main bedroom, and it was closed in so you could sit out there in the chilly weather if you wish. Our room faced out towards the mountains/hills, which was a nice view.

The beds were comfortable enough, considering that we were usually very tired at the end of each day. Housekeeping services were prompt and would only clean the room if you left the door tag out, instructing them to do so. In fact, they'd usually come about 10 minutes after hanging the tag! The main bedroom bath had shampoo and body wash, but not the small bathroom.

Front desk staff spoke English and were helpful in allowing me to check in early, as my father didn't arrive until later in the evening. There was a fitness center that my dad used daily and it looked relatively busy each time we passed it by. Lots of "westerners" staying at this hotel, and the cable TV had a few English stations--mainly news stations, also the Discovery Channel and BBC and Australian stations. There was a DVD player in the room, but we didn't have any movies to watch.

As for the neighborhood, there were plenty of restaurants and shops to choose from. I would recommend trying all of the different street foods. My favorite was a small loaf of cornbread that had an egg cooked in the middle--depending on when you bought the bread, the yolk was either runny or hard-boiled. I was okay with either! Another delicious item were the deep-fried veggie fritters. Also, on Insadong-gil, there was a stand selling these things called cholbi, I think. Or maybe it was cholabi. I can't find the name of this when I try Googling "Seoul Street Food," but they were some sort of hot dog bun-shaped bread filled with a variety of items: we had both the curry cheese (me) and the bulgogi (dad). Both were good options and about KRW2500 each, so a quick and cheap lunch! Also, there are plenty of Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts in the area, so getting a cup of coffee was easy. Stop at the 7-11 to stock up on water and soda/milk/etc. for the room.

If you go back to Insadong-gil and turn right, when leaving the hotel, you can walk up to the plaza and palace area. So you're basically within walking distance of all sorts of good things from the hotel. ALSO VERY HELPFUL!! There are tons of English speaking Korean tourism members walking around in red coats (again, this was winter, so maybe they wear red shirts in the summer?) who will give you maps, point out which way to walk to places, etc. Definitely seek out their help if you are lost or need advice!

I'm not sure how helpful you find this review, but I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay there again (hopefully next year)!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and to be facing opposite of Insadong-gil road--view of the mountains from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were given a two bed roomed apartment (100 sq metres of luxury) instead of a measly 68 sq metres one bed roomed unit (!) when we asked to be located on one of the upper floors with a good view. And what a view, looking to the ring of mountains casting their shadow over the royal palaces and the beautiful Hanuk houses of Bukchon. The apartment was splendid - separate lounge, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, two LCD TVs with plenty of English language channels and hey ... It seems unfair to criticise but the breakfast is advertised as complimentary outside the restaurant and we were told by the reception staff that our price plan (ie we booked through Agoda) meant that we would have to pay. This seemed doubly strange as we had just spent 4 days at the sister hotel, Fraser Place (which we also booked through Agoda), where the word "complimentary" meant precisely that.

Hotel aside, the location is excellent, only a few hundred metres from the geographical centre of Seoul. Interesting night and day, so many fascinating alleys to discover, as well as the conventional "must-see" palaces and shrines. Check out Kwang-Jang indoor market, as well as the delights of Insadong Street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our first visit to Fraser Suites was fine. The location, near Insadong, was excellent. The 1 room suite was clean and comfortable but there were some stains on the carpet. The breakfast was excellent. Our next visit was outstanding! We were upgraded to a 2 room suite and that was really impressive! We enjoyed our stay and when we next visit Seoul we will stay at Fraser Suites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As usual,our (family and I) accommodation choice for our 4D/3N holiday in SEOUL was based on reviews here.
We flew in from Kuala Lumpur,Malaysia via KAL,on 11th February 2013 .As the complimentary KAL limousine (A bus service actually) did not stop at this place,we decided to arrange our airport transfers thru FSS.They have their own mini-van which could comfortably seat 7-8 pax and luggage in comfort.
It cost us 126,500 WON (abt US$ 117) for 1-way,which was reasonable for the 45-minute ride.
We arrived at Incheon around 7am and the driver was at the arrival area waiting for us.Although I had requested for an early check-in,FSS are pretty strict about this and the 3pm check-in time,means just that! Check-out time was 11am.
The lobby was undergoing renovation and it was pretty small and only 1 lift worked for the lower floors!! We left our luggage with the bell service and decided to do some sight-seeing.It was one of the coldest winters in Korea and was -13celcius the morning we arrived!There's a mini 7-11 just across FSS and a McD a short 5-minute walk away.The JUNGGOK subway station was a 10-minute walk and there are quite a few nice restaurants located above the station.Many koreans spoke english and the subways and ticket-vending machines were easy to navigate/use.
We booked a 3-bedroom deluxe apartment and the windowless 3rd room was expected but it didnt make a difference as the apartment was large and had almost everything one could wish for.Even the dish-washing liquid and scourer was provided!Beds were comfy and everything worked! Cable TV,fridge,cooker,microwave.....the list goes on!
We cooked our breakfast and didnt bother with the in-house breakfast
In the evenings,till about 10pm,there are many road-side stalls just outside the FSS selling a variety of food.Somehow,food and drinks were all sweeter,saltier and even spicier than normal.unlike Japan where even the coke isnt sweet!!
We visited all the popular shopping malls easily via the subway (which is pretty cheap,costing about US$2 for a 1-way trip to almost anywhere in the city!) .
The highlight of our trip was a half-day tour to the DMZ,which the receptionist helped us book a day before.We could not visit Panmunjom as we needed UN clearance which takes 3 days before being allowed there.We had a great korean tour guide who spoke with a californian accent!
Incheon airport is large and clean and I did almost all my shopping at the airport duty-free outlets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Suites Insadong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Insadong

Address: 272 Nakwon-dong Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul)
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#31 Business Hotel in Seoul
#36 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Insadong 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fraser Suites Insadong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Seoul Hotel Seoul
Fraser Hotel Seoul
Seoul Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Insadong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.