We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Insadong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Suites Insadong to your Saves list
Fraser Suites Insadong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Insadong 4-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul) (Gwanghwamun / Jongno)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 413 Hotels in Seoul
singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family of 5 adults and 1 child booked a 4 bedder in the hotel in December 2012. It was very spacious and overlooks the low houses. It's really an apartment with 3 bedrooms and a study. The masterbedroom comes with a kingsize bed and a tv while the larger of the remaining 2 rooms could fit 3 single beds. The reception is not impressive but the receptionists were able to communicate fairly well in english and could help us with directions. Fortunately for us, it had been snowing intermittently and we could enjoy the view of the "snow capped" roof tops. We had a long stay and was a little bored with the breakfast spread. Not much variety and the cafe stopped putting out fresh food closer to 10am on weekdays. So if you had stepped in at 10 min to 10, you are likely left with a cup of coffee. At 10, the staff absolutely would not help bring you any food at all that they had kept away.

I am not sure why but we had experiences of cleaners not replenishing the toiletaries, including toilet paper. we had to remind the hotel several times to do that. So that is a minus for the service.

The hotel is located in Insadong where there are a few streets of interesting art and craft shops, souvenirs shops and the usual FACE Shop, Natural republic, Etude House etc. There are plenty of restaurants serving Korean food and it's actually quite difficult to find alternatives. Over on the other street closer to the exit no. 5 of Jongno- 3 ga station, is a wonderful food street. The food stalls come out in full force at night and line both sides of the street. We tried a restaurant selling fried spice chicken only and it was pretty good. I realised that there are quite a few pubs selling similar fried chicken as an accompaniment to the drinks and they certainly dont taste as good as the fried spiced chicken. On another side of the street are restaurants selling mainly pork dishes and the pig's heads are proudly displayed in each of the shop fronts.

The hotel is less than 5 mins taxi ride to the palace and to SamChong dong, a rather hip area with eclectic mix of shops selling costume jewellery, accessories, clothing, shoes and many coffee shops and italian restaurants. Realised that Koreans do enjoy a cuppa and there are so many "brands" to choose from here.

Myeongdong is also about a 10 min sub way ride away. To use the subway, you first have to buy a store value card from 7 eleven and top up the value of the cards at the station. There is a different card for kids and the cost of travel is lower. But there are no concessions for senior citizens unless you are Korean. each trip is just over a 1000 won. We took a hour ride to a station to get to the Korean Folk Village and it was the same fare. Amazing. By the way, unless you have really not much to do, I would suggest giving the village a miss. Its' really quite contrived although i did get some nice pictures. If you still plan to go, after you get off the station( sorry cant remember the name) go to the Tourist Information Counter outside of the station and you will be directed to a bus stop about 100 m away to take a free shuttle that runs every 11/2 hours. If you missed the bus, just hang out at the shopping plaza which also houses the subway station. There are plenty of restaurants on the top floor (5th I think) and a department store within.

The hotel is also walking distance from the theatre where we caught Jump!, the acrobatic performance. You can just turn up and buy the tickets just before the show as I could see that there is not much of a crowd although on the day we went, there were plenty of school children. The performance is quite slapstick but i could see that the children had a ball of a time.

Overall, i am likely to choose another place to stay only to explore other areas but not because of anything I strongly dislike about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    162
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
158
56
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, right in the heart of Seoul. The suites are very clean and spacious. Ours was three bedroom as we were staying with our son and daughter-in-law. The beds were very comfortable and all bedding was very clean. Sheets and towels were provided every day if you wanted this. All you had to do was phone house-keeping and they were bought to your room if you needed any extra. The lounge had very up-to-date TV, DVD player, stereo etc. The kitchen had all mod cons such as dish washer and microwave. The cleaners come in every day and the bell-boys carry your luggage to your transport. On the roof there is a golf ball hitting range. Also they have an excellent swimming pool and spa. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. An excellent buffet breakfast is included in the price. They have everything anybody would want for breakfast and cater for every nationality.

Room Tip: On the bottom floor if possible, saves getting out card to use in lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, near many sites. It is between two different subway stops just a ten minute walk either way. There were always taxis outside of the hotel if you needed one. The staff was very nice and helpful and spoke okay English. Our reservation included the breakfast and it was a great buffet with something for everyone. We did order room service our first night and that was very good. We didn't visit the spa or pool but what a plus. The rooms were spacious, clean and very nice and equipped with just about everything you might need. The beds are hard but that is true of Korean beds, we asked for more pillows and they were very nice and accommodated our request. This is a great place with a great location worth every cent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Myself and three other people - including my husband, brother and daughter - stayed in a 3 bedroom suite here in Insadong. Upon arrival, we found out we had been upgraded from a 3 bedroom deluxe to a 3 bedroom executive. The difference between the two rooms is that the second bedroom in the deluxe is technically a 'study', where as in the executive it is normal sized room with windows.

The unit itself was rather large, with the master bedroom being huge! The first bedroom could of done with a bit more space as the double bed took up most of the room available. The kitchen was adequate but quite small in comparison to Western standards. Lounge and dining was cozy, plus having access to a washing machine in our unit was very convenient for a stay of 5 days.

My daughter was pleased with the free wifi in the room, however only one IP can use it at any certain time. I would definitely recommend the continental breakfast available on the 2nd floor. It is included in the room price and has a huge selection of things to eat - which is very handy in the cold winter months instead of having to go and dine out.

Across the road was a 7/11, which had just about every basic item you would need available for affordable prices. A 5 minute walk away will get you to McDonalds and Dunkin Donuts if you are looking for some fast food. The nearest train station was just a few minutes walk away, and the Seoul subway was very easy to use and navigate.

The staff at reception were extremely helpful and could not do enough for me. Our cleaner, Laura, was a lovely lady - who always welcomed and spoke with us. If you are looking to do some local shopping, Insadong has great art and other goodies available within an extremely short distance from the hotel.

Unless you are going South of the Han River, most places you can get to by walking or taking the subway as Insadong really is a very central location in Seoul. During the colder months though, we found it easier to take a taxi around town and they are very cheap and can be organised upon request via reception.

I found the room to be good value for money considering the size of the suite we had. This was far cheaper than having 3 hotel rooms. I would stay here again and recommend Fraser Suites Insadong to anyone, particularly families, visiting Seoul anytime soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked a 3 room suite for a family of five adults for a 2 day stay. We took the AREX train from Incheon airport to Seoul station and changed to subway Line 1 and got off at Jongno-3-ga station exit 5, and a 7 minute walk to hotel. Total cost Won 5,000 each. Not recommended for those with lots of heavy luggage as there are lots of stairs to navigate with long walks in between.

We paid for an extra bed. The 3 room suite consists of: 1 king-sized bed and two singles, one of which is a windowless room. Not too bad except if you need a view. The rooms are comfortable and clean however not five star. Rooms are rather basic. Room and bathroom amenities were minimal e.g., room slippers for 2 (in a 3 room suite), spare bathroom amenities limited, lack of towels. Housekeeping responded promptly when requested. At other service apartments we've stayed at, a packet of washing powder is usually provided however be prepared to purchase a packet for Won 1,500 unless you've brought some along.

Some renovation work is being done around the hotel however no noise or inconvenience experienced. The buffet breakfast is adequate and can get crowded from 0900 to 1000 hours. Free wifi in room is limited to one party accessing at anyone time - manageable however can be a bit challenging for a family of five with their own phones/laptop. All of us were able to access free wifi at the same time at other hotels we stayed at in Seoul (2 star ones included).

Location is excellent and close to many historical sights.

Hotel staff were friendly, polite and very helpful with directions, taxi bookings, etc. They made our day each time we met them. Hopefully when the renovations are completed the hotel will up their game in the little things (which don't cost a lot anyway but would make it a better experience for guests) to complement the efforts of their hardworking staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Just in the middle of Insadong street, this hotel offer a valuable service according to its high level ranking.
Rooms are all suites (as from the name) and offer at least one bed room with a separate living room and kitchen corner.
Fornitures are nice and the overall environment in warm and comfortable. I've been there twice and I'' be back on my next trip to Seoul.
Thanks to the professional Manager, staff is very well trained and always helpful.
Absolutely recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I like to stay at places that seems like a home when I travel hotels are generally blasé. I like autonomy as well. After learning about the country I am staying in I might want to cook afterwards. The Fraser suites is more like a home than a hotel. Sure it might not be your brand new dream home but it is a comfortable place to stay after a long day. I stayed at the two bedroom executive apartment and it is comfortable enough for 5 but it is built for 3. It has a decent kitchen with washer, living room with tv and 2 bathrooms. The large bathtub is perfect for those looking to soak after a long day. The place was warmish but could have been a bit warmer in winter. The staff was nice enough to bring in a heater and put by the bed.

My only complaint is about breakfast. Not the best and I don't know why spaghetti and turkey were on the buffet. There were not any Korean food items on the table either.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fraser Suites Insadong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Insadong

Address: 18, Insadong 4-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#33 Business Hotel in Seoul
#42 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Insadong 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Suites Insadong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Seoul Hotel Seoul
Fraser Hotel Seoul
Seoul Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Insadong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.