We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive apartment living in convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Suites Insadong

Save Saved
You added Fraser Suites Insadong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Suites Insadong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Nakwon-dong Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“All inclusive apartment living in convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Fraser Suites Insadong (not to be confused with the Fraser Place Central) which is located in a different part of Seoul, for 8 nights in the middle of September 2012. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious. It also included 2 bathrooms, a large separate kitchen area with a side room and combination washing/dryer machine, dining area and large living room area that had sliding doors onto a full length terrace. Both bedrooms also had sliding doors out to the terrace. The Fraser Suites is located in the Insadong area and is fronted on 3 streets so is easy to find and locate when going back to the hotel. The main street runs along the side of the hotel and the front and back of the hotel are on side streets that run into the famous Insadong-gil shopping and entertainment street. The hotel is literally on the same block as Insadong-gil. Strangely right in front of the entrance is a driveway and parking for 3 cars. There is a wide walkway so enough room to roll your bags to the front door, but strange to see. Right across from the entrance is a 7-11 which is open 24 hours. The lobby of Fraser Suites is large and has 3 separate areas for seating. Check in is done at a desk not counter. There are 2 separate elevator banks both accessible from the lobby, but the first set goes up to the 10th floor, and the second set go from the 11th to the top. We were on the 17th floor so whenever we went to breakfast or the pool, we had to go down to the lobby and then change elevators to go back up to the 2nd floor restaurant and pool area. Our party did not find this to be an inconvenience. Our room consisted of a master bedroom with king bed and a master bathroom that included a shower and bathtub and over sized sink area. The smaller bedroom had a single bed and the second bathroom was off the main entrance to the room. The separate kitchen area had a completely stocked kitchen with dinnerware, silverware and cups and glasses, as well as every needed kitchenware (toaster, water kettle, coffee pot, etc.) There was plenty of counter space and cabinets. The refrigerator was huge, actually too large. Off the kitchen and in a small room was a counter with combination washer/dryer. The dining area had a large round glass top table and 4 chairs. The living room had a sofa and 2 easy chairs and coffee table. There was also a table and chairs out on the terrace. The room had 2 new flat screen televisions, one in the master bedroom and the other in the living room. They had a large selection of channels including super stations from many Asian countries and European countries. There was also a radio in the living room. Room temperature was always comfortable with only need for air conditioning. At night we opened the windows on the terrace and enjoyed the cool dry air. The room decor was very pleasant except for the light brown wood. All the apartment; kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms, were done in a light wood which became tiring after awhile. The beds and pillows were very very soft, like lying on marshmallows. Breakfast was included and it was adequate, nothing special, but included eggs, meats, cereals, breads, fruits, yogurt, and hot beverages. Do not expect gourmet food, but it is adequate to get the day started. There are separate dry saunas, cold tub, whirlpool and steam rooms and a large pool. In the breakfast room there was a wing with a large library and free wifi. Of course there is ONE only free wifi for each room, so if two want to use computers/Ipads, they need to be shared or one can go down to the library. I had no problem with any service personnel. The concierge helped us with subway connections to the COEX mall, and the front desk staff and kitchen help were all pleasant and cheerful. One minor problem and recommendation is to not check in on Mondays if you can plan your trip accordingly. There is no housekeeping on Sundays, so Monday they have a monumental job in cleaning and they may cut corners like they did in our room. When we checked in the room was all cleaned and tidy, however we noticed long brown hairs all over the living room floor and then also in the kitchen area, and there were many, more than I could cope with, so we found the housekeeper and asked her if she would come in and clean the floors which she did immediately and with a vacuum,and she did a very thorough job. She then admitted that she was very busy and cut corners to get the room cleaned in time. So try to check in on a day other than Monday, as I intend to do. Reaching the Fraser Suites is easy. When coming into the arrivals hall at Incheon International Airport, go to exit 5 and look for bus 6011. You can buy a ticket right inside the door or on the bus 10,000 won, Tell the driver you want to get off at Anguk Subway stop (it is a normal stop). Walk forward and down the main street and you will see the Fraser Suites sign right in front of you. You can return to the airport right across the street from where you get off the bus. Some minor issues but in no way take away from the location, convenience, amenities and comfort of the Fraser Suites Insadong. We booked with Agoda about 5 weeks before and paid about $205/night. We later, one week before arrival, saw the same room for $185, but did not want to risk not getting a room so we booked early as guides say rooms fill up fast in Seoul. Also be careful with Agoda as all reservations are pay in advance, so we were billed for our room even before we arrived. Also the hotel is close by to the number 5 subway that connects under ground with the number 2 line.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city and N Seoul Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    133
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
133
46
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great Hotel, good location, great service, lovely staff, great facilities. I loved the staff there. I/we could not fault anyone. They staff were helpful, spoke and understood great English and were really polite and accommodating all of the time. Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 17th Floor overlooking the hills. Lovely outlook and it was really quiet. The quietest 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in, in any major city in the world. We also had the most comfortable beds we slept in during our 2 weeks in Korea. The two bedroom unit had an internal verandah which contributed to the quietness. However the air conditioning was barely detectable on low. It was also nicely appointed and very clean.

We had 2 bathrooms, 1 bath and the unit was extremely spacious and well laid out. There was a DVD player, large modern TV. In the kitchen there was a microwave and large fridge. Even though it was pokey, being able to close it up to use the washing machine was great. You could leave the room too and leave the washer/dryer on, which was an added bonus. I agree with other readers that the dryer component of the washer was challenging and you had to put it on after the full cycle was finished several times. They did provide a drying rack, so the clothes could be hung out if you wanted to finish them off..

The kitchen also had a microwave which wasn’t availablre in other apartments around the country, so this was handy for us. Across the road was a small seven eleven supermarket, where you could get most of the things you need as well as alcohol. You will need to get some milk if you drink it in your coffee though. You could also order extras in the room such as washing powder at a reasonable price. I like how this hotel is close to Insadong and the many many restaurants and shops in the area. Most are written in engligh and Korean and there is a traditional restaurant on the same level as the hotel. It was always busy. We did not try it as we ate traditional food for the last 2 weeks, although we love Korean food, we needed a change.

I am not sure why others have complained about breakfast it was good, They provided fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, toast, coffee, tea etc. Given apples were super expensive, it was nice to get them at breakfast. The eggs weren’t great but after having wonderful eggs everywhere else in Korea it was fine. All in all it was good quality and the staff were very efficient. Coffee was Ok, but if you were fussy you could always go next door to the coffee shop. It wasn’t cheap though!

The bath house, steam rooms near the pool were great, really relaxing. One in both the Mens and Ladies. The pool was also really large and great for everyone. Wifi has also been criticised but we had the latest ipod touch and the WiFi was available everywhere in the hotel and was very consistent.

My only gripe is the walk to both subway stations, it’s a good 5-10 min walk, but the taxis are cheap (by Australian standards anyway) so we used them too. Its not far to the theatre area etc. On the upside if you want to catch the airport bus and you can easily wheel your luggage, its not that far to the bus stop. Its near the Angok station. It was a bit expensive, but the space and the apartment was lovely. All in all we love this hotel and loved the privacy, the quietness, the location and the staff.

Room Tip: Maybe get an apartment with the internal balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Fraser property is near Myeongdong, and close to useful Metro lines (though a bit of a hassle to walk to in inclement weather). We have a huge two-bedroom apartment and ample space to spread out in. The reception was friendly and cleaning staff very kind. There is also a famous ginseng chicken retaurant (Korean Samgyetang) just 5 minutes along the way to the metro. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during this trip, and have Fraser Suites to thank for making our stay for a large part of it!

As a side note: Another location that families with children might want to consider is near the Jamsil area. We spent a few days commuting there for various attractions (COEX Mall, Lotte World, Kidzania) which was about 16-18 metro stops away from City Hall. We could have split our stay across these two sites if we had planned earlier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for almost a week in July. The location is central, near Insadong shopping street and within walking distance of a lot of tourist attractions in Seoul like the Royal palace, the city hall, the canal street...So it's very convenient if you want to explore Seoul on foot. The hotel suite is very nice with large living room and master bedroom. Considering this is downtown Seoul, room with such large size is hard to find! The housekeeping staffs did an excellent job in keeping room nice and clean. However, the front desk staff 's service staff is not up to the standard that I expect from a 4 star hotel in Korea. When you need help or ask questions, they just barely respond to it with almost a cold, to-the-fact attitude. They didn't seem to make the effort of offering a more caring and friendly service. The breakfast is not that great as well with the same dishes being offered for the whole 5 days I was there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The trip was business combined with family holiday. We had a large two bedroom appartment, very spacious, clean with great city view and balcony. The kitchen was fully equiped and the two bathrooms very convenient and free wifi for more than one devices. The appartment had all we needed and the hotel was very well located. Breakfast was a disappointment but with all those great Korean coffee shops around - who really needs it? They even have an indoor swimming pool which my daughter used every day. Reception staff were friendly and helped us book a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takamatsu, Japan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is an excellent choice of suite for a short stay in the city. The rooms have plenty of space, the facilities are pretty well thought out (including a decent iron in the suite), and the staff are efficient and helpful. While the rooms clearly get a bit of a battering from the passing traffic, the general level of cleanliness and usability is high. I would not write home about the breakfast included with the room price, but that is a small quibble. I will return to this location.

Room Tip: I booked last minute and the prices were quite high. I think that if you book in advance and perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I recently stayed at Fraser Suites in Insadong for 12 nights.

The staff are helpful and our maid was lovely and pleasant - even though we laughed at times due to our obvious need to communicate by gesture - usually to say don't bother cleaning!

The Fraser Suites is a very family oriented place to stay. The breakfast area is mostly filled by families although there are a few business people staying on their own. We stayed during Chuseok so there were a numerous families who had Korean children with them - to visit their ancestors during this busy holiday period.

Breakfast is not a 5 star affair - however there was enough variation in the food provided to provide a scrumptious breakfast. Fraser Suites change their juices every day - so there was always a different choice. There were boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, bread, jams and spreads plus asian dishes provided daily.

The location of Fraser Suites is just superb. Most major attractions are within walking distance. Its quiet here too. Insadong is a major shopping area - but it is quiet until 10 am ish and begins to close down around 9-10pm ish by evening - so there is no noise at night, virtually no street noise, car noise and no partying either. Its an awesome place for light sleepers like me. The air conditioning is also not noisy - for such a large building.

Room Tip: We had a sunny corner suite for autumn on the 20th floor. We were able to dry clothes on a balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fraser Suites Insadong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Insadong

Address: 272 Nakwon-dong Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea (Formerly Fraser Suites Seoul)
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#33 Business Hotel in Seoul
#37 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Insadong 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Fraser Suites Insadong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Seoul Hotel Seoul
Fraser Hotel Seoul
Seoul Fraser Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Suites Insadong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.