We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service, decent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $100 USD Credit
Ranked #18 of 397 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 593 Reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service, decent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night (using points) prior to flying back to North America and I would have to say that the level of customer service displayed at this hotel was amazing. Everyone working there had great energy and was always saying hi. The room was a bit small but had nice detail that any elegant and classy establishment would expect.

Across the street in the alley are some great local joints to have some kimchi jaegae (kimchi soup), and 7-eleven and another super market to buy some good local snacks or water! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the many nearby attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    171
    65
    26
    14
See reviews for
88
97
65
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Ritz was easy to get to from Incheon Airport, a bus will take you directly there. Its about a 1 hour ride.

The hotel itself is a bit older but was still a nice place. Thought it was a bit pricier than it should be.

Breakfast was included and it was good. There were many options to choose from for food. The rooms were on the small side, and the bed was comfty.

The hotel is located in the Gangnam district, so many shops and other restaurants are nearby. Both local cuisine and national food chains such as outback steakhouse and TGI Fridays. Dunkin donuts is nearby as well.

The area is very safe to walk around in, and most people were nice, and helpful, and spoke English

I would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, 세일즈 디렉터 at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and I am pleased to notice that
overall your stay with us seemed good. We will always keep our eyes opened to
meet and beyond our guests expectation & needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here from the 24th of March until the 28th. The weather was cold but the rooms were not. This was a bit of an issue at night as I am used to sleeping in a cold room. I called the housekeeping and asked if they can make my room cold but i was informed that their system was centralized and the AC is off. they asked me to open the windows which helped in making the room less warm. The following day, they sent me a bottle of red wine their apology for the call i made the night before. that for me showed what an excellent customer service is all about.

breakfast was superb. there were so many choices and there was variety each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and understanding comments.
I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and our fine service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a handful of days here for business. The service and location are beyond reproach. Everyone is exceedingly friendly and goes out of their way to assist you in any way. The hotel itself is plush but not modern. The rooms are a good size and more reminiscent of American hotel rooms in size and layout than of European hotels. The room decor is a little out-dated, but the bed, linens, and towels are quite comfortable. Breakfast is over-priced, but it's the Ritz.

Location is great. In a very energetic part of Seoul. There is a lot going on in this part of town but the Ritz is overall a quite retreat. There are lots of great places to eat within 5-15 minute walk. Food of all kinds, but even the traditional places were close and packed with locals, which is a good sign.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and its immediate surroundings.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went to Seoul on business and wanted comfort and everything available for me to "do business" during my room time. All my needs were met. The hotel has several restaurants with beautiful gardens and mountain views. Housekeeping was perfect. From desk, to bellmen, to concierge, to the pool - I cannot say enough. It is also located in the best area of Seoul. What is remarkable about the city surrounding the hotel is the energy and the cleanliness. Business is booming. No unemployment. Lots of cars but a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I prefer an upper floor away from the elevator. It's a personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent services, friendly, very helpful and very polite staffs. Stay here every time we came to Seoul, always happy with the service. They greet you by name even when you just step out from the car :-)

Room Tip: choose the club floor or suite with excellent service and great food at club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I think after having the good fortune of staying at the Ritz in Tokyo and the new one in Pudong I was a bit let down in Seoul. We stayed 4 nights.

Liked:
- Location
- Fitness center. Took a pilates class one night and had fun. Instructor was really great and totally tolerated my wife and I trying to keep up with a class in Korean (which we don't speak). Thanks!
- Concierge and front of house. Fantastic like always.
- Easy and good wifi

Disliked:
- The regular rooms seemed a bit small, musty and dated.
- The bathroom seemed in need of an upgrade too.
- Room temp and climate control was frustrating.
- No spa / sauna access. Ongoing gripe with Ritz Carlton. They reserve this for Ritz Carlton gym members, not hotel guests. Totally lame in my opinion. Hyatt lets its members use the facilities if they join Hyatt Rewards.

When we found out we had to stay an extra week in Seoul the small old room ultimately caused us to change hotels. Whereas in Tokyo or Shanghai we would have been ecstatic to stay at the Ritz for an extra week, in Seoul we ended up moving for the next six nights.

We moved to a service apartment in a neighborhood about 15-minutes away by subway and loved it. It was huge, modern and had a kitchen (see my reviews). And we could still commute to Gangnam office on the subway in the morning with the locals.

Room Tip: Reading other reviews the club rooms seem considerably better. But they also cost way more, so... I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, 세일즈 디렉터 at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention inconviences you have encountered during your last visit to our hotel.
Please rest assured that I would share this with my management team and have come up with plans to improve the level of service and product excellence to ensure our standards are consistently followed.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future and allow us to show you our true level of service. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally by email at bryan.yoon@ritzcarlton.com should you have any queries or need any assistance in any way.

Yours sincerely,
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Address: 120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#10 Business Hotel in Seoul
#13 Family Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul is located in Gangnam, the heart of Seoul’s business, culture and fashion. It is close to Korea’s World Trade Center, the shopping district of Itaewon and several top department stores, and the cultural neighborhood of Cheongdam-dong, bringing guests unparalleled levels of satisfaction whatever the purpose of their visit. Its classical, antique-style design is inspired by that of the 18th century Palace of Versailles, while its unique exterior, which soars upward light a series of steps, following the contours of the land on which it is built, has become one of Gangnam’s local landmarks. A newly opened entrance, offering access directly from Sinnonhyeon Station, along Bongeunsa-ro, has added still further to the hotel’s convenience. The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul contains 375 guest rooms of 10 different types, including 47 Luxury Suites and 75 Club Rooms. Its guest rooms with balconies offer inspiring views of the city and great opportunities to sunbathe and hold a variety of parties. The Presidential Suite, a previously winner of the Best Suite prize at the Gold Key Awards for hotel design, is a favorite among VIPS visiting Korea and offers the very best in state-of-the-art facilities and unparalleled comfort. Decorated with works by international masters including Pablo Picasso and Roy Lichtenstein, the Presidential Suite offers a unique chance to enjoy some of the 20th century's finest art.The hotel contains six restaurants and bars: All Day Fine Dining restaurant The Garden, Chinese restaurant Cheehong, Japanese restaurant Hanazono, Oksan Buffet, The Ritz Bar, and Ritz Deli, offering a wide variety of fine dining experiences. The Garden, located on the hotel’s lobby floor, is particularly well-known for its outdoor garden, bringing a touch of nature to the heart of the city. From late spring to autumn, The Garden is popular for outdoor barbecues and a variety of other parties and wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Seoul Hotel Seoul
Ritz Carlton Seoul
Seoul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.