We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good as it's your expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea (Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Summer with You
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Seoul
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“as good as it's your expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's a very nice and well equipted hotel. During my 5 day stay, they updated us to a suite, due to shower seal is leaking. And with bottle of wine to say they were sorry. The service at the hotel was excellent, the facility is a little bit old though. The hotel is located in Gangnam area, it's very convenient and close to Subway and shopping areas...

it's was a very pleasent stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, 세일즈 디렉터 at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for extending comment and I am pleased that you had pleasant stay with us. We will do best to reduce such defects you experienced and make an effort to go above your expection.

Again, I appreciated on your precious feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    211
    74
    30
    17
See reviews for
115
122
72
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
377 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

An oasis after spending a few days in a ger camp in Mongolia. The service is typical Ritz....understated, and elegant. Convenient location that did not have a lot of tourists staying there. Rooms are beautiful as were the common areas. The on premise dining options were first rate...not typical hotel fare.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, Director of Sales at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for prividing good comment on The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul and we, all our ladies and gentlemen will keep putting effort to meet expected and even unexptected wishes & needs of our guest anytime.

I look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to Seoul.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugis, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

As I expected this trip to be centred in the Gangnam area, I chose a hotel here and I was very glad to have chosen Ritz Carlton. Upon check-in the staff were polite and although I arrived in the morning, they had a room ready for me, according to my requests for a high floor and extra pillows.
The bellhop who brought me to the room asked if the temperature was alright and I remarked it was a tad warm, they kept the room at a cooler temperature for me after that. I prefer cooler rooms and in Seoul during winter, it's almost impossible to have a room in a temperature I want. The thermostat is adjustable but they had the consideration to remember the little detail. Some hotels change the temperature after I leave the room for the day's activities.
If there's anything I didn't like, as I was on the club floor, breakfast was in the lounge, the choice available was rather disappointing.
The subway station is a short walk away and easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, 세일즈 디렉터 at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for extending your precious experience with us and I am sure your feedback
will be shared with all of our ladies and gentlemen to improve and provide finest personalized service to all our guests.

Once again, I much appreciated on your commet and looking forward to hosting you
in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a steep slope in Gangnam. It isnt a very busy hotel as it is not a favourite with tourists, so it is very relaxed at the reception. The staff are first class. Breakfast is fabulous. Decor is "old world" which is very classy. You feel that you are getting what you are paying for. 5 minutes walk away is the Gangnam food street which is filled with all kinds of restaurants. This is a must-visit area. Really cool!!! Theres a subway station 5 minutes walk away too. Its so easy and convenient to travel the city via subway from here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, Director of Sales at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the compliment and precise explanation of us.
We will continue to improve our service to meet your needs and expectation.

We really appreciated on your precious comment and look forward to seeing you
again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time staying at the Ritz one year later. Our first time was not that pleasant because of gym renovation, and unexpected heat in November. I was not happy so I informed management of those issues. The end result? The Ritz C. Seoul, went out of their way to make sure I was satisfied during this year's visit. I was very impressed how he handled the situation. They are working very hard to become a better Ritz. Two things I like to comment about Seoul's hotels. It's very difficult to find a brand new hotel, Seoul is very much like Europe when it comes hotel rooms. Seoul may appear to be modern with all its flashy LEDs, but its not compared to the USA. I stayed at the Ritz because there is a public airport shuttle that drops you off at the Ritz. It's also in Gangnam. The Ritz staff is very professional, helpful, polite, and accomodating. Try to find that at other hotels in Seoul. The new gym is big, and has brand new equipment. The neighborhood around the Ritz has a lot of diversity for eating. There is even a Jamba Juice down the street. IMO, its tough to find a better hotel in Gangnam than the Ritz. I'll defintely be back. Oh yeah, the black cabs outside the Ritz are a little more expensive because the are suppose to drive slower for the customer comfort. I do not recommend them unless you are paranoid traveler. Taking Cabs and eating Korean food are really cheap compared to other cities. I gave the Ritz 5***** because they were very accommodating to me in a city that does not speak English as a second language.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
And thank you very much for returning to our hotel.
We will continue to improve our services and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here in this Feb before I moved to Korea because of my work. The room I stayed was really clean, and a design was very traditional. The room and hall were really quiet though it was located in Gangnam. Front desk staffs were really friendly and tried to help me out whenever I asked questions. However, it was located in Gangman so there was always a trafic jam. I took a taxi in the first time whenever I went to a meeting but I chose a subway after 2 days of experiences of the traffic jam. Also there were always lots of people in the street, and I could see lots of drunkedn people at night. Though I loved the hotel, I do not want to stay at this hotel or near this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
Yes, there was more traffic than usual due to a subway construction.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The first thing to note is that ICN airport is quite a distance from the centre of Seoul, we'd booked a car through the hotel and it was waiting for us at the Arrivals gate. The journey from the airport takes around 75 minutes, not sure of the public transport options but there are 3 tube stations near the hotel.
This was my first stay at Ritz-Carlton and it lived up to my brand expectations. From being greeted upon arrival at the car door and checked in, in my room, it was a flawless stay.
The room was a suite on the 12th floor with a good sized Living Room and large Bedroom. The Bathroom was divided by glass walls with toilet (heated seat) and then shower and bath; two wash hand basins. Ritz-Carlton has their own branded toiletries which did smell a little cheap and over perfumed. The bed was exquisite and the views from the room breath taking.
This was a Club Level room so had access to the Club Lounge on the 15th floor. This was a good size with an excellent food offering. Be warned they stop serving alcohol at 8pm even though the Lounge is open until 10pm.
The staff throughout the stay were polite and knowledgeable and went the extra mile to ensure that my stay was memorable. Based on this experience I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Y, Director of Sales at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for providing such a clear and concrete comments.
These are very helpful to understand on what we are doing good or not.
Again, I really appreciated on your precious time to share your experience and
looking forward to "let us stay with you" in your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 421 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#4 of 421 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
#10 of 421 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#1 of 421 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Park Hyatt Seoul
#21 of 421 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Address: 120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seoul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul is located in Gangnam, the heart of Seoul’s business, culture and fashion. It is close to Korea’s World Trade Center, the shopping district of Itaewon and several top department stores, and the cultural neighborhood of Cheongdam-dong, bringing guests unparalleled levels of satisfaction whatever the purpose of their visit. Its classical, antique-style design is inspired by that of the 18th century Palace of Versailles, while its unique exterior, which soars upward light a series of steps, following the contours of the land on which it is built, has become one of Gangnam’s local landmarks. A newly opened entrance, offering access directly from Sinnonhyeon Station, along Bongeunsa-ro, has added still further to the hotel’s convenience. The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul contains 375 guest rooms of 10 different types, including 47 Luxury Suites and 75 Club Rooms. Its guest rooms with balconies offer inspiring views of the city and great opportunities to sunbathe and hold a variety of parties. The Presidential Suite, a previously winner of the Best Suite prize at the Gold Key Awards for hotel design, is a favorite among VIPS visiting Korea and offers the very best in state-of-the-art facilities and unparalleled comfort. Decorated with works by international masters including Pablo Picasso and Roy Lichtenstein, the Presidential Suite offers a unique chance to enjoy some of the 20th century's finest art.The hotel contains six restaurants and bars: All Day Fine Dining restaurant The Garden, Chinese restaurant Cheehong, Japanese restaurant Hanazono, Oksan Buffet, The Ritz Bar, and Ritz Deli, offering a wide variety of fine dining experiences. The Garden, located on the hotel’s lobby floor, is particularly well-known for its outdoor garden, bringing a touch of nature to the heart of the city. From late spring to autumn, The Garden is popular for outdoor barbecues and a variety of other parties and wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Seoul Hotel Seoul
Ritz Carlton Seoul
Seoul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.