We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $100 USD Credit
Ranked #16 of 393 hotels in Seoul
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First of all I have to point out the excellent service of the staff - the best I've met by far. They do anything with smiles - it is really amazing.

We fortunately got the room with balcony (only one such room in each floor. We were satisfied with the room and perspective outside the window and balcony. Although the room is not very big, its decor is very warm and cozy. The bed is comfortable.

The location is good - close to metro station and restaurant street. But it is somewhat far from the downtown, such as Myeongdong.

Room Tip: Please remember to book the balcony room in advance - same price and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear CatSkunk,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
I am glad to know you had such a great experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Your sincerely,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    155
    62
    25
    13
See reviews for
80
88
60
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. Great hotel - clean, new. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Breakfast buffets was slightly disappointing for the hotel and price. I've been to a number of high end hotels in Asia and the breakfast was typically more "robust". No deal breaker here, but a hair below other equivalent hotels.

The rooms were richly furnished. I read complaints about the A/C. Mine was working fine, but generally the fan was slower and less powerful than what we are used to in the US, so it typically took longer (~10 minutes) before you felt the room was cooler. The first couple times I didn't think it was working properly, but noticed the difference later. The longer cooling time was further exacerbated by the use of the energy-saving card key master switch at the door, so when you return to your room, it's typically stuffy and warmer.

Gym is outstanding. Very well equipped and surprisingly FREE, which now seems like a rarity in high end hotels. As you can tell by my rating, I still thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear MaxxusD,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
With best regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms are outdated and the air conditioners did not work. It was too hot to sleep both nights, but we didn't realize the air conditioner was actually broken until the second night, when we didn't have the energy to deal with calling downstairs or moving. I heard another gentleman at breakfast saying that his was broken too.
The $100 for two people breakfast was super disappointing as well. There was a selection from the buffet (bacon, sausage, baked tomatoes), and you could order eggs, but it was sparse for the cost. I mean REALLY sparse.
I actually plan to write Ritz Carlton headquarters about what a disappointment this hotel was in regards to what you should expect from a Ritz and from the amount of money you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We have looked into and repaired the heating/cooling system you referred to.
And we have since reviewed our breakfast buffet, and it is extensive.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with a wonderful staff. So attentive and polite. The Hotel is not overtly glitzy but very understatedly elegant. The hotel restaurants are very good with choies between American styl steaks, Japanese or Chinese Asian. Very well located and about 35 minutes from the international airport....highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view...duh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ritz Carlton properties are always heads above other hotels. Over our 10 day stay in Seoul, we found the Ritz Carlton absolutely perfect; the service, amenities, quality and attentive staff were top notch.

Room Tip: North side of building offers fascinating views from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc H, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The workout room is first rate. Rooms are comfortable. The Club Lounge is well stocked and the food is good. Restaurants all have very good food. Just overall a very pleasant place to stay. And other than one can still smoke in the bars in this country, I was pleased with all that I encountered. I would come back

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I am glad to know you had a great stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I don't often stay at Marriott-branded properties but I had to make an exception. This hotel was phenomenal. Rooms, service, location, and food were all outstanding. I may have to make a switch to Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
I am glad to know you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Address: 120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#10 Business Hotel in Seoul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul is located in Gangnam, the heart of Seoul’s business, culture and fashion. It is close to Korea’s World Trade Center, the shopping district of Itaewon and several top department stores, and the cultural neighborhood of Cheongdam-dong, bringing guests unparalleled levels of satisfaction whatever the purpose of their visit. Its classical, antique-style design is inspired by that of the 18th century Palace of Versailles, while its unique exterior, which soars upward light a series of steps, following the contours of the land on which it is built, has become one of Gangnam’s local landmarks. A newly opened entrance, offering access directly from Sinnonhyeon Station, along Bongeunsa-ro, has added still further to the hotel’s convenience. The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul contains 375 guest rooms of 10 different types, including 47 Luxury Suites and 75 Club Rooms. Its guest rooms with balconies offer inspiring views of the city and great opportunities to sunbathe and hold a variety of parties. The Presidential Suite, a previously winner of the Best Suite prize at the Gold Key Awards for hotel design, is a favorite among VIPS visiting Korea and offers the very best in state-of-the-art facilities and unparalleled comfort. Decorated with works by international masters including Pablo Picasso and Roy Lichtenstein, the Presidential Suite offers a unique chance to enjoy some of the 20th century's finest art.The hotel contains six restaurants and bars: All Day Fine Dining restaurant The Garden, Chinese restaurant Cheehong, Japanese restaurant Hanazono, Oksan Buffet, The Ritz Bar, and Ritz Deli, offering a wide variety of fine dining experiences. The Garden, located on the hotel’s lobby floor, is particularly well-known for its outdoor garden, bringing a touch of nature to the heart of the city. From late spring to autumn, The Garden is popular for outdoor barbecues and a variety of other parties and wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Seoul Hotel Seoul
Ritz Carlton Seoul
Seoul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.