We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $100 USD Credit
Ranked #18 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I don't often stay at Marriott-branded properties but I had to make an exception. This hotel was phenomenal. Rooms, service, location, and food were all outstanding. I may have to make a switch to Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH373, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
I am glad to know you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    170
    65
    26
    14
See reviews for
88
97
64
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Overall, decent hotel with very friendly service. Not sure that I'll put it in the luxury category that Ritz Carlton is usually placed in.

Transportation wise, the hotel is quite well located. About 2 minutes away by foot from the subway station, and it is a stop on one of the bus routes from Incheon Airport. There is also a 24-hour convenience store nearby.

The room was clean and large; I had a room with separate living and sleeping areas. Bed and pillows were comfortable. The only miss is the bathroom amenities; it was not the complete set that I'm used to in other hotels, not sure if it's a Korean standard or specific to Ritz Carlton in Seoul since it was my first hotel stay in Seoul.

I think I echo some of the reviews here in saying that this is a nice hotel with lovely service; there's just nothing to go "wow" about, considering that this is the Ritz Carlton, a 5-star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's a big hotel, in a good locaion in Seoul (right next to one of the main shopping streets).

Rooms are quite large, clean and comfortable. But the doors are fairly thin (so you hear 'everything' going on inside when you're walking down the corridor to the lift!

Service is impeccable. And the breakfast is good.

There are hotels in Seoul that will probably give better value for money. This one's good - but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I came here for a Christmas getaway in December 2011 with my girlfriend and we both enjoyed the evening. Service was great at reception. Fulfilled my every needs, from ice and champagne glasses to the room to changing rooms last minute.

The room is set-up in a more classical luxury manner rather than the sleek, modern style you may find at a Park Hyatt or a W Hotel. Bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom was clean, and the balcony was great; nice to be able to enjoy some champagne, celebrate Christmas and enjoy a nice view of bustling Gangnam. Room service was great and was surprised to have a great tasting burger and linguini at 2am. It was also to have a non-smoking room that did not actually have old, stale cigarette smoke lingering around.

I must say that the room was a little worn-in and it probably wouldn't hurt RC to have a facelift in the near future. Some things were also a little silly to see in a prestigious hotel chain like the Ritz. The golf driving range is something you would never see in any other Ritz Carltons around the world, but I guess it is just simply tailoring certain amenities to the taste of Koreans.

I'd recommend the RItz for couples looking to get away in Seoul or for those coming to town in business. A classic hotel with impeccable service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Typical high end business hotel. Perfect service and perfect rooms.
Use the transfer (limousine) bus from Airport to get there.
As usual in this hotel segment rooms are excellent as well as the breakfest buffet , many options from asia to continental breakfest, Eggs in any form directly made as you like them as always in this level of hotels.
Hotel situated in lively area with many options for restaurants in all price segments close to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Book this hotel and take the lounge packet! Service is top of the best. The food is great and location is perfect! The only small issue and believe me it's only to be fair...I'm tall in comparison with the locals and found IT is no problem! No issues!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A very nice way to experience my first visit to Korea. Very convenient for airport transfer as the luxury bus takes you from Incheon airport literally to the lobby of the Ritz Carlton for just 15,000 Won (US$13) in about 1 hour 15 mins depending on traffic. Many young staff members are eagerly on hand to assist you with anything. It seems they are trained to develop a 6th sense to anticipate the guests' needs. I recall that I was just wandering in the lobby and thinking about approaching the reception desk to ask for directions when a lovely young lady staff preempted and said "yes sir, can I help you?"

Rooms are quite new or newly renovated. There are blackout curtains so watch out not to oversleep as I did! I was very impressed by the selection of complimentary beverages which included red ginseng tea and Blue Mountain coffee (in a porous bag). The gym is unfortunately not featured in the hotel website which is a shame as it is a very well equipped gym. A lot of locals are members there so it is well tended and maintained.

The location is in the CBD and within walking distance to 2 Metro stations so even though it is not so near the major shopping areas, it is just a few stops away by underground train. There are lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. At night, the alleyways light up and the "Izakaya" bars are heaving with activity. I was impressed how even the back alleys were really clean.

And before anyone asks, I have no idea how much my room rate was as my host arranged everything for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Address: 120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#13 Family Hotel in Seoul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul is located in Gangnam, the heart of Seoul’s business, culture and fashion. It is close to Korea’s World Trade Center, the shopping district of Itaewon and several top department stores, and the cultural neighborhood of Cheongdam-dong, bringing guests unparalleled levels of satisfaction whatever the purpose of their visit. Its classical, antique-style design is inspired by that of the 18th century Palace of Versailles, while its unique exterior, which soars upward light a series of steps, following the contours of the land on which it is built, has become one of Gangnam’s local landmarks. A newly opened entrance, offering access directly from Sinnonhyeon Station, along Bongeunsa-ro, has added still further to the hotel’s convenience. The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul contains 375 guest rooms of 10 different types, including 47 Luxury Suites and 75 Club Rooms. Its guest rooms with balconies offer inspiring views of the city and great opportunities to sunbathe and hold a variety of parties. The Presidential Suite, a previously winner of the Best Suite prize at the Gold Key Awards for hotel design, is a favorite among VIPS visiting Korea and offers the very best in state-of-the-art facilities and unparalleled comfort. Decorated with works by international masters including Pablo Picasso and Roy Lichtenstein, the Presidential Suite offers a unique chance to enjoy some of the 20th century's finest art.The hotel contains six restaurants and bars: All Day Fine Dining restaurant The Garden, Chinese restaurant Cheehong, Japanese restaurant Hanazono, Oksan Buffet, The Ritz Bar, and Ritz Deli, offering a wide variety of fine dining experiences. The Garden, located on the hotel’s lobby floor, is particularly well-known for its outdoor garden, bringing a touch of nature to the heart of the city. From late spring to autumn, The Garden is popular for outdoor barbecues and a variety of other parties and wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Seoul Hotel Seoul
Ritz Carlton Seoul
Seoul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.