We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in seoul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $100 USD Credit
Ranked #18 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in seoul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed on the executive floor and the executive lounge was the nicest I have ever experienced. Hotel and room was large and beautiful. The staff was great. Enjoyed everything about the hotel & our stay in Seoul. Seoul was a modern, bustling, beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    151
    62
    24
    13
See reviews for
77
84
56
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Ritz-Carlton in Seoul has a very distinctive external architecture and the use of granite on the outside entering the hotel makes it look cosy. The entrance too doesn't give away how huge inside it actually is. The lobby is swank with lots of marble columns. And the lobby gives access to several levels down and of course up. The rooms are of course luxuriously appointed and the view from the window is beautiful, especially at night. There is nothing exceptional in terms of the room other than the obvious luxury. And the best part of course is the Japanese-style commode which seems to have brains of its own! There is a business centre for executive guests which is extremely convenient to have meetings in. It also serves food - so you could grab your breakfast over here quickly instead of having to go all the way down. You could even checkout from here if you want to. Other than it being a top notch business hotel, the Ritz-Carlton in Seoul is located well if you want to step out for a walk, a drink or dinner. The area is abuzz with activity even at midnight and has a liveliness to it. No complains whatsoever!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

One of the best hotels, I have stayed in Seoul. The customer service is really awesome and each time I go there, the bell captain, the waiters, the receptionists everyone seem to remember by past visit. There are a lot of restaurant also closeby to the Hotel, including a couple of Indian Restaurants incase you want Indian on your palate. The location is too good, since nightlife near the Hotel is always abuzz and you won't need to hire a cab or think about boarding the Subway line to get back after a fun-filled night. Just walk a couple hundred meters, and you reach your cozy room.

Best part is their customer service. I have stayed in other hotels in Seoul, and no-one treats their guests as well as the Ritz. The high end shopping market of Gangnam is very close and there are other decently priced options too.

Room Tip: Ask for their Suites with stretched balconies, if you have some extra bucks to spare and enjoy a roy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

i Stayed here for a few days in October, 2011 with some colleagues.

Check in was relatively painless and efficient. That is always a great start!

Overall the hotel is fine but it is beginning to look a little dated. It seems time for some modernisation or redecoration in the next year or two.

The room was ok. The bed was to usual Ritz standard. Great. Lots of soft pillows with a firm but not hard mattress. Of course, cleanliness was outstanding.

I am a regular guest of the Ritz and was a little dissapointed their legendary guest preferences system had clearly not followed me to Korea! They were not as well prepared as my favourite Ritz in Singapore is!

The room facilities were as you'd expect. Internet, Wifi, flatscreen TV etc. all there. One irritating (but increasingly common practice in hotewls) aspect was how the movie channels had been removed from the cable TV, to 'encourage' me to buy the hotel movies.

I hate that.

Breakfast was great - plentiful, with good service, a great chef (who makes a great poached egg!).

Check out was fast & efficient.

Overall great - but none of the very rare Ritz values you find sometimes.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

First contact is excellent with welcoming staff, following experience very good, rooms large enough for short stay, quiet and cosy. Breakfast is excellent, and terrace pleasant at season.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlston in Seoul from Sep 27 - Oct 7th. My experience, and that of my many colleagues, was perfection. The staff goes well beyond anything I've seen before to insure your stay is pleasant. I can say I have NEVER seen this level of committment to quality at another hotel, anywhere.

The rooms are nicely appointed. The bed is very comfortable.

The restaurants are very, very good. (Oh how I miss that breakfast)

I would change nothing and would return without question.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
568 reviews 568 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

On our first trip to Seoul, South Korea we spent 3 nights here. We were on the Exective floor, and upgraded to a suite. The rooms, beds, towels, bathrobes, toilet articles were excellent. WIFI was included. The staff the best I have seen in a hotel. Polite, friendly, helpful, efficient. I felt welcome as soon as we arrived. We arrived after the evening service of meal or snacks. The staff went out of their way to find us something to eat. It was generous and delicious. We dined on the EX floor for bfast, many choices, including several cultures. We also visited it after our dinner for a nightcap of Bailey's and chocolate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul

Address: 120 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-907, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#10 Family Hotel in Seoul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#12 Business Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul is located in Gangnam, the heart of Seoul’s business, culture and fashion. It is close to Korea’s World Trade Center, the shopping district of Itaewon and several top department stores, and the cultural neighborhood of Cheongdam-dong, bringing guests unparalleled levels of satisfaction whatever the purpose of their visit. Its classical, antique-style design is inspired by that of the 18th century Palace of Versailles, while its unique exterior, which soars upward light a series of steps, following the contours of the land on which it is built, has become one of Gangnam’s local landmarks. A newly opened entrance, offering access directly from Sinnonhyeon Station, along Bongeunsa-ro, has added still further to the hotel’s convenience. The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul contains 375 guest rooms of 10 different types, including 47 Luxury Suites and 75 Club Rooms. Its guest rooms with balconies offer inspiring views of the city and great opportunities to sunbathe and hold a variety of parties. The Presidential Suite, a previously winner of the Best Suite prize at the Gold Key Awards for hotel design, is a favorite among VIPS visiting Korea and offers the very best in state-of-the-art facilities and unparalleled comfort. Decorated with works by international masters including Pablo Picasso and Roy Lichtenstein, the Presidential Suite offers a unique chance to enjoy some of the 20th century's finest art.The hotel contains six restaurants and bars: All Day Fine Dining restaurant The Garden, Chinese restaurant Cheehong, Japanese restaurant Hanazono, Oksan Buffet, The Ritz Bar, and Ritz Deli, offering a wide variety of fine dining experiences. The Garden, located on the hotel’s lobby floor, is particularly well-known for its outdoor garden, bringing a touch of nature to the heart of the city. From late spring to autumn, The Garden is popular for outdoor barbecues and a variety of other parties and wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Marriott and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Seoul Hotel Seoul
Ritz Carlton Seoul
Seoul Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.