We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not near anything” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grande Walkerhill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grande Walkerhill to your Saves list
Sheraton Grande Walkerhill
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   177 Walkerhill-ro, Seoul 143-708, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not near anything”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is fine, it is next to a casino but if you are going to Korea for business you do not want to stay here, as it is near nothing. Traffic in Seoul is horrible and colleagues will not want to trek this far to come meet you. Being isolated on a MOUNTAIN not a hill, your food choices are limitied to what the hotel has to offer including $14 coffee at the cafe.

If your credit card is not Korean you will be billed in US Dolalrs unless you tell them to bill you in KWN, this was a problem for my expense report.

I had a nice view out of my room of the wall next to the building so that was not too pleasant to look at

There was 1 nice lady at the front desk who was pleasant and tried to help as much as she could but just not a business hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    177
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
57
49
46
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Even though the hotel location is quite far from most attractions in Seoul, but its complimentary shuttle service seemed to make up for that. Also, the airport limousine also makes stop right at the hotel entrance door, so it's very convenient for guest coming from airport! My room has the best view of the Han river below especially at sun rise! However, room was quite small and nothing spectacular for a "luxury" hotel! Service at the hotel was only average, they could definitely be enhanced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is located on walker hill and features very nice views on the river and the city of Seoul. It is very modern and the rooms are very nice and well sized. The service everywhere is excellent. It has a sky bar which is very nicely designed with very nice views. It also has a Duty Free shopping centre and a Casino, both of which I didn't use. The main drawback, if you want to stay close to everything is, that you will need a Taxi to get anywhere. Due to Seoul traffic it can take forever to get anywhere. To avoid the expensive taxi ride from Incheon airport it's best to take the fast train to Seoul station and get a cab from there. The total travel time is roughly the same, but you'll save quite a lot of money that way. Gimpo airport is quite a bit closer. For business travel I would not stay at this hotel again merely because of the long distance to the city. If you don't need or want to stay in the centre this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Its difficult to be critical but also difficult to go lengths extolling its virtues. It's a very pleasant hotel, one criticism would be the high cost for everything, $41 for a buffet breakfast is just saying "you're a businessman and don't care about expenses".
I'll be shopping around next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The most amazing characteristic of this hotel is the view: you see the water that surrounds the city from the top of a hill! Rooms are nice, personnel is kind and smiling, a bit far from touristic area but still, you can easily reach everything by taxi (that has reasonable price). Food is also good. I must admit, I did not pay the room since I was there for business, so I do not know the quality/cost rate..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked a summer package here through the sales team. Included a room in Douglas House, River park Pass, Dinner Buffet and breakfast.

A great deal. Pool was lots of fun and great for children, the dinner buffet was one of the best I have had in Korea. Great selection.

The only thing I had an issue with was the bed. The mattress was due for a changing and after sleeping on king sized beds, moving to a queen was a bit tight, with my wife and our young son.

Despite this small problem, I would highly recommend this package to anyone wanting a break from the city heat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three nights while attending a workshop/seminar that was held its convention centre.

It was a nice stay overall, the service could not be faulted, the room was freshly refurbished, housekeeping was excellent, reception and concierge staff were very helpful and polite, morning buffet breakfast had a large variety and was of high quality. The hotel also had an outdoor jogging track which I enjoyed tremendously.

My main grouse was the location of the hotel. It was pretty far from city centre, and travel via taxi or hotel-shuttle-subway to city centre took an average of 45-60 minutes.

This hotel is good for business travellers with meetings/business on the hotel premises, but its location will deter me from staying there again when I visit Seoul on a social/leisure trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grande Walkerhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Walkerhill

Address: 177 Walkerhill-ro, Seoul 143-708, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grande Walkerhill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grande Walkerhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grande Walkerhill Hotel Seoul
Sheraton Grande Walker Hill Hotel
Sheraton Seoul
Seoul Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grande Walkerhill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.