We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one , fine for business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Chosun Seoul to your Saves list
The Westin Chosun Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good one , fine for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Probably this hotel is fine for business meeting, really a variety of choices here from conference room till my room.Its truly great for business meeting, Staffs with helpful mentality and so professionally managed. It was fine for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    435
    93
    28
    21
See reviews for
270
259
137
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I usually stay at Seoul Millenium Hotel, this time i stayed for the first time at the Westin Chosun Seoul and I was impressed. The rooms are of adequate size and very well maintained, despite the fact the building is already older. The rooms are of adequate size and I stayed in a Executive Guest Office room which comes with free internet as well as access to the Executive Club Lounge. Particularity of the Executive Guest Office is that it comes with an installed and full functionable Laptop on the desk. In this case a very fast 19 inch (!!!) Samsung Laptop with full HD cacpability which is wonderful for to look watch your own movies. The laptop is also very fast.... very very good... there is also free moile phone which you can use( of course calls are chargeable) during your stay.... if you dont have a necessary 3G phone with you....

The bathroom is of good size unfortunately without a separate shower which i normally like in particular. Plenty of Bathroom toiletry make this hotel also very good. The turndown service unfortunately is a bit spotty...

The Executive Lounge is wonderful - good breakfast, nice cocktail hour with plenty of food, and the lounge is a nice place to sit and very modern, it doesnt feel overcrowded at any time...

Overall a very very good hotel, which i consider better thatn Millenium Hilton Seoul. For the time being it will be my hotel in Seoul where I will stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

One of the most respectable addresses in town, the Westin Chosun is very well located for people visiting central Seoul. It has been regularly updated to keep pace with the competition, and its rooms and fitness club are very good indeed.

The public areas are not the largest, as is the building, but I appreciate the view over the little garden in the back of the hotel, an unexpected bonus in busy Seoul.

The standard rooms are not especially spacious, but very well equipped and decorated; do no count on free upgrades to larger rooms unless you are a Starwood Platinum member, as Starwood hotels tend to be stingy with everyone else. Some rooms are equipped with a desktop computer. The executive lounge is however nice and serves an excellent breakfast.

There is an underground shopping mall under the hotel, through which one can walk to the nearby Lotte shopping center. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is otherwise not very pedestrian-friendly, because of the wide streets and traffic.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Booked 3 nights, smooth check in. standard room. Very small bathroom. 12th floor overlooking the small temple. aisle where rooms are is quite sad. There was quite a noise at night, sounded like some strong a/c. Breakfast was ok, seen better. I waited for the omellet chef to turn around and face me for 1 minute, then a chef from another dept. told him a customer was waiting and he still took 5 seconds to turn around. I asked him if he could put salt and pepper and he told me: "at your table".

We used the concierge often, helpful, but did not tell us that normal cabs do not go up all the way up the hill to Seoul Tower (and it is one steep hill). I don´t think an elder person could make it. They did not tell us that to return to the hotel there are no cabs and that the only way is to take a bus (there a re 2 or 3 that drop people off in different points of the city... not what you expect from a 5* hotel concierge . There was no turnover service until we told them, and I am sorry to say it wasn´t as in other 5* hotels (i.e. they do not open up the bed). Apart from location, these are the small details you look for in a 5* hotel. The rest of personel in the hotel were nice, and the bed is very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Have stayed at Westin Chosun numerous times. Have also stayed in many other hotels in Seoul but the Westin is best for business trips unless most of the meetings are in Gangnam area.

As most of my meetings are in the Sokong-dong area, this is the best hotel.

Great service, excellent restaurants and good gym/pool.

Night life not the best but the party areas in Apgujeong-dong and Cheongdam-dong are only 20-30 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I will most likely stay in this Hotel on future trips to Seoul. The location is fantastic - right next to an interesting shopping district and with a 7-11 down the street for snacks. The room was average but the service was excellent. The mobile phones they have in the rooms, since my Blackberry didn't work in Korea, was extremely useful. The staff were very professional. I like this Hotel much better than the Hilton (fairly old and dated) and while not quite as nice as the Hyatt, I thought the location more than made up for the difference. The Hyatt feels like its in the middle of nowhere. The main street can be a bit noisy early in the morning as the motorcylces buzz by - but only a problem for those of us with jetlag!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This hotel ranks with the best of the Westin Hotels in other locations and is centrally located. The conference facilities which we used were flexible and easily accommodated a number of conferences on at once. Transfers to and from the hotel are cheap and comfortable, via the limo buses. I would not take a taxi.
Close by you can walk to a traditional palace, the underground and to the subway shopping.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Address: 87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#5 Family Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chosun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.